We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location - friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed May 9-11 and really enjoyed the service and that view! Originally we had some problems with our first room with the air-conditioner being frozen up - Building 1. The hotel quickly upgraded us to a large 2 bedroom suite with the most beautiful view - Room 2703. The hotel also sent their staff at 11:00 pm to help my husband transfer our things to the new room. They were very courteous and professional. Every employee, from the guys on the golf carts to housekeeping and front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. My children spent most of their time on the beach and at the pool. The rooms themselves were clean and the beds very comfortable. We did not use the golf course or tennis courts. I will definitely go again for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Room 2703 had panoramic view of ocean but the pool was still right below to see children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Cheryl J

Thank you for your review and for being our guest. I apologize that you experienced an A/c issue in your suite and I’m glad you enjoyed the upgrade to a two bedroom due to this situation. We greatly appreciate your business and really appreciate your mention of all of the personnel being friendly and helpful. Glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    151
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
214
192
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Longboat Key club on four occasions over the last few years but noted the rooms were getting more tired each visit and other facilities such as the pool area were not really up to the standard for such a large resort.
On the recommendation of one the Club representative's given on our last visit we decided since we were staying for a month in Sarasota to try one of the excellent condos available for rental in the immediate area .
We have rented a magnificent 3 bed condo for at least a third of the cost of the best deal the Club could offer. It has a beautiful pool and is on the same magnificent beach as the club .
During our first week we called into the Club one evening to buy some champagne and have a meal but were refused to be served as we were not Club members or guests .Fair enough although we were surprised they didn't want our custom and as it wasn't high season would have thought they would have been pleased to welcome back long established clientele.
However what really got to me was when I asked the customer relations manager if we could perhaps pay some charge so that if we wanted to call in we could do so , he with all apparent seriousness produced an application form and an offer to enrol us for 25,000 dollars.!!!!
Quite frankly I think the Club is in serious danger of disappearing up its own backside if this is the high handed way they want to treat their potential clients.

Never mind -we have found far better facilities at a fraction of their costs and hope a lot more people vote with their feet and try somewhere else the next time they go to Longboat Key.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Since you did not stay with us, you are probably not aware of all the continual upgrades being done around property. These include new pool and Barefoots furnishings, completely remodeled spa, new Mind and Motion fitness studio, remodeled golf locker and changing rooms, new (2 years ago) windows and doors in all guest buildings. Our Harborside golf course has had many re-nourishments done to it and now Islandside Golf course is under a complete renovation, including changing the way the course plays, new irrigation and new sod throughout.

Yes, you possibly can find a private condo to rent for less than renting at the Resort and Club. These will be decorated to the individual owner’s tastes. With a non-related rental, you do not get access to any of the resort or club amenities. This certainly should be factored in to your price/value of the rental.

I appreciate that you feel you should be given access even though you are not staying at our resort. However, our first and foremost priority is serving our guests and members. If we did not regulate who uses our private facilities, then the comfort of our current guests could be affected. We are here to be sure our guests receive 1st class services and uncrowded venues here at are our property. Again, I am very sorry that you feel slighted by not being able to take advantage of the wonderful amenities that our guests receive.

Whatever your decision on where to rent, we are just happy you are staying on Longboat Key in our community.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here. The staff was accommodating and very helpful.
We played tennis and went to the beach...all was top notch! The room overlooking the beach with a balcony was perfect. One morning we had breakfast...great service and speed of delivery. One evening we had cocktails on the balcony for sunset...magnificent! We saw dolphins playing in The surf, rays swimming in the shallows, colonies of sea birds on the shore...it was beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gulf and away from the pool! The rooms are quiet. I like to have the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear ShannonC:
Thank you for the rating of “5” in your recent review. Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary and we appreciate your decision to spend it with us. Great to hear your positive comments on our staff and that the beach and tennis were top notch. Sounds like you made the most of your time with us from breakfast in the suite to cocktails on the balcony.
I never get tired of the sights of nature here with the dolphins and other wildlife enjoying our island paradise.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our family has been visiting the Longboat Key Club annually for many years. The property is situated on a magnificent white sand beach on the beautiful waters of the Gulf Of Mexico. The resort has a relaxed feel which is perfect for family travel as well as adult getaways. There is also a range of excellent dinning options available to guests throughout the property. The concierge staff is most friendly and helpful. They go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome and to help them arrange activities and dinning opportunities both in and outside of the resort. However, it is important to note that the entire staff does its best to meet all the needs of their guests.Golf is short walk down the road from the main entrance and there is a shuttle service to take guests to the nearby tennis complex and St. Armand's Circle. Great Restaurant and shopping options in the area are numerous. There is also a Kids Club. I highly recommend unit 2001. The view from this unit is spectacular! The expansive balcony affords guests an amazing view of the beach and Golf. It is the perfect place to read a paper or book, take a meal, and/or enjoy a glass of wine in the most amazing setting.

Room Tip: Room 2001 has an amazing view from its balcony. The unit also has 2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear ftroopmom7:

Thank you for the “5” rating. We greatly appreciate your being our guest over the years and your recent review. Glad you find the resort relaxing and the views of the Gulf magnificent from unit 2001. I will pass along your comments to the entire team as well as the concierge and thank them for being friendly and helpful in working with you on activities and dining. I am glad you were able to enjoy Golf, tennis and Kids Club (now called Camp Loggerhead). Looking forward to your next visit where we will most certainly find you on your balcony enjoying the magical Longboat Key Sunsets!
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at the Resort at Longboat Key with my family during Easter week this past April.
Everyone from Rick, the Director of Operations to the attendents on the beach were very helpful and accommodating. They made the weeks' vacation stellar. We stayed in delux suite wIth a
Gulf view our accommodations were beautiful and well maintained and certainly deserving of their four star rating. We are looking forward to our next vacation.
The Adochio family from New Jersey

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear madochio:

Thank you for your rating of a “5”. We are glad you and your family were able to enjoy the resort in April. I appreciate your recognition for my part in making your stay a success and especially thank you for the mention of the beach attendants. Glad you found the accommodations beautiful and well maintained.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for three days overlooking the beautiful ocean. The room was fantastic. Very large great kitchen and big bathrooms with plenty of closet space. Eating on the balcony overlooking the ocean was a treat. I was not impressed with the hotel facilities at all. But the rooms and the beautiful beach made our stay memorable. I was very surprised to see how many snobs are in longboat key. Apparently it is a very snobby ritzy area. But forget about the snobs and enjoy the beautiful beach, I sure did.

Room Tip: spend the extra money for ocean front so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Seahorizon:
Thank you for staying with us and your review. Glad you were able to enjoy the suite and its spaciousness. The beach and view of the Gulf of Mexico is wonderful and I’m happy you were able to enjoy. I’d be happy to discuss your comment on the facilities to gain more insight on what specifically you are referring to. Our tennis facility was a 12 million dollar build-out just a few years ago. In addition, we completely remodeled the spa this year and upgraded fitness last year.
As far as the comment on snobby people on Longboat, I am sorry you got that impression. I find the people here (residents and tourists) to be very friendly and accommodating.
Thank you again and we hope you will visit again.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent location for beach lovers, golfers and anyone wishing to put the world on-hold for a little while.

We reserved a Junior Suite with a Beach View that was located in building 1. I cannot comment on the other buildings however building 1 was excellent. Close to the beach, pool and easy access for island exploring.

A short drive north on Gulf of Mexico Drive is a Publix where we bought small supplies for when we were too tired to explore the resort options.

Being explorers we also traveled north to Anna Maria Island multiple times for dinner and sunset views over the Gulf.

Mar-Vista, Beach house and Sandbar restaurants all have the same owners. Each is interesting and the food was generally good at each. Beach house and Sandbar offered excellent views of the Sunset with Sandbar being the best for a walk on the beach after dinner.

The neighborhood around Mar-Vista is known for wild peacocks which strut through the street. Worth the short side trip on the way to dinner.

South of the resort is St Armands circle which hosts a number of restaurants, shops and statues donated by the Ringling family to bring art and culture to the area. I think it worked.

We did a day trip to Siesta Key which is a short drive away. Siesta Key is pretty and worth the trip especially for the quartz sand which is soft and pure white yet remains cool to the touch even in the hot Florida sun.

During the day dolphins frequently played just a short distance off shore amusing the guests and causing most people to venture into the surf.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and plan to return. The staff were friendly and attentive during our entire stay and are certainly there to please the guests.

Room Tip: This place is all about the beach. In my opinion, an ocean front room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Shumno:
Thank you for the “5” rating. We greatly appreciate your stay with us and review of the property. Glad you loved your location in building 1 and its proximity to everything. Also, great to see you were able to explore and enjoy the surrounding area.

Watching the dolphin playing near shore never gets old and I love it when we see them. Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the staff and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.