We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent location for beach lovers, golfers and anyone wishing to put the world on-hold for a little while.

We reserved a Junior Suite with a Beach View that was located in building 1. I cannot comment on the other buildings however building 1 was excellent. Close to the beach, pool and easy access for island exploring.

A short drive north on Gulf of Mexico Drive is a Publix where we bought small supplies for when we were too tired to explore the resort options.

Being explorers we also traveled north to Anna Maria Island multiple times for dinner and sunset views over the Gulf.

Mar-Vista, Beach house and Sandbar restaurants all have the same owners. Each is interesting and the food was generally good at each. Beach house and Sandbar offered excellent views of the Sunset with Sandbar being the best for a walk on the beach after dinner.

The neighborhood around Mar-Vista is known for wild peacocks which strut through the street. Worth the short side trip on the way to dinner.

South of the resort is St Armands circle which hosts a number of restaurants, shops and statues donated by the Ringling family to bring art and culture to the area. I think it worked.

We did a day trip to Siesta Key which is a short drive away. Siesta Key is pretty and worth the trip especially for the quartz sand which is soft and pure white yet remains cool to the touch even in the hot Florida sun.

During the day dolphins frequently played just a short distance off shore amusing the guests and causing most people to venture into the surf.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and plan to return. The staff were friendly and attentive during our entire stay and are certainly there to please the guests.

Room Tip: This place is all about the beach. In my opinion, an ocean front room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Shumno:
Thank you for the “5” rating. We greatly appreciate your stay with us and review of the property. Glad you loved your location in building 1 and its proximity to everything. Also, great to see you were able to explore and enjoy the surrounding area.

Watching the dolphin playing near shore never gets old and I love it when we see them. Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the staff and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    157
    78
    26
    17
See reviews for
223
205
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I put off doing a review so that when we returned we could see that things were as they were in times past! We stayed with 4 friends for 4 nights, for a birthday, retirement and anniversary treat. My husband and I have been coming to the resort for 15 years, sometimes twice a year. Sadly, our friends weren't impressed and neither were we at tines, especially with one of the bar-tenders and breakfast waiter, same person, who was openly rude and didn't really care about the guests. We chose to have breakfast outside every morning and we were appalled at his attitude. On the last morning we were served by an elderly gent and the order was wrong and so was the check! Easily sorted! Our room was good but our friends had problems. The general ambience had changed in the resort. Kathy, Gloria, Sherman and Linda are exceptional employees and we would like to thank them for their kind and professional attention over the years. We remember the late Barbara fondly. We miss this resort, but it is now out of our price range.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Patricia C:
Thank you for your review of your stay in November of last year. I would like to speak to you if possible so I may determine who waited on you so we may follow up if they are still working here. What you describe is unacceptable. We celebrate the excellent services provided by Kathy, Gloria, Sherman and Lynda. They will receive recognition for your accolades. I am sorry you feel the resort is out of your price range and I hope you will reconsider and return to us again.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights last month; we got a double room with king size bed and, unfortunately, golf course instead of sea view; nevertheless the room was spacious enough and very clean, had balcony and, being at the first floor, had access to a small shared patio; breakfast was à la carte, with good dishes, and we also enjoyed great service by a Romanian waiter named Marius; beach service is also of high class with free chairs, umbrellas and even working wi-fi; gourmet food and fine drinks are also served here too; parking is also free. Overall - high quality services on a beautiful white sand beach; of course, this doesn't come cheap; another minus - the arhitecture of the resort and the surrounding buidings is very dull;

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Bogdan D
Thank you for being our guest and for the review. Yes, we offer three different views for you to choose from when making your booking. Thanks for mentioning Marius and the great service he offered. I agree he is a shining star. Glad you enjoyed the quality of the food as well as the chairs, umbrellas and wifi at the beach, Sorry you did not care for the architecture of the buildings.

Glad you enjoyed the high quality services and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our mornings sitting at the beach, our chairs were set up nicely by staff. The water was nice enough for a swim with plenty of activities to choose from. The restaurants at the resort were nothing special. We walked into the restaurant and the host walked by us 3 times and stopped to talk to the bartender before we could get her attention. We finally sat down and waited another 10 minutes for someone to take our order. The food was okay. Breakfast the next day (Sunday) was much better - we were sat right away and our server, Cheryl, was great. The room was good. My only complaint about the room... The tub didn't drain while I showered (I had no sand on me) and when cleaning ladies came to the room, our bed was made - but that was it. They didn't touch the bathroom. Nothing was refilled or folded. I would still come back. I would just choose other restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear andreaorobmac:
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your mornings on the beach in the chairs and umbrellas we provide. I apologize that you did not receive the quick welcome and service in the restaurant the first time as is our standard. This has been reviewed with the team.
Thank you for your kind mention of Cheryl on the second trip to the restaurant. I am pleased she provided excellent service for you and you enjoyed the experience.
I apologize the tub was slow to drain. We should have recognized this as we prepared the suite for your stay. Also, any low items need to be replaced daily and we have reviewed with our team the expectation of finding and resolving any deficiencies. Thank you again for reviewing us and we look forward to seeing you again next trip.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

we had an awesome stay - the room was amazing overlooking the ocean and dunes....spacious junior suite with plenty of amenities and stocked with stuff to do light cooking/toasting/microwaving - we sat on the balcony each morning and had bkfast and enjoyed the views - beach was great with drink service on the beach - folks were all pleasant and accommodating....grounds are amazing and great places to walk/ride/golf/etc...did not eat there or go to spa..
would def go back and had a great time there

Room Tip: get on higher floor than ground- may be hard to see over the dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear dedon4:
Thank you for the “5” review. It pleases me that you had an awesome stay. Glad you enjoyed your Junior Suite and the beach and Gulf view it provided. Starting the day with breakfast on the balcony is a delight and I’m glad you found all the amenities in place in order to do so. Thanks for your kind mention of the pleasant and accommodating staff on the beach. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip here.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location on one of the best beaches in Florida. Too bad that The Resort at Longboat Key Club Resort does not feel compelled to either upgrade their rooms or adjust their pricing to accurately reflect the age of the resort or quality of food services.
We paid $995 per night for a okay but dated room-- not worth more than $300 per night AT BEST. There was mold around the base of the toilets and tub, very loud A/C awoke our entire family throughout the night when the compressor turned on & off, a constant electrical humming noise indicative of very old wiring, and if you enjoy a nice breakfast forget The Longboat Key Club!
The Sunday Brunch is $22 per person which would be what you would expect at a nice Florida Beach Resort of 4-Stars plus (LBK Club is 2-3 Stars AT BEST).... The breakfast buffet and service where terrible- cold eggs, under cooked bacon & sausage, the absolute worst potato cakes EVER (too bad this was the only choice), and to make matters worse when we asked if we could order off a menu due to items discussed above with Manager on Duty we were told ("Unfortunately Sunday is very busy so we cannot guarantee the kitchen will prepare anything off the
menu"). So your choices are eat the stuff which we had attempted to politely address as being unacceptable or go hungry (as this the only choice for breakfast at the resort). We asked for a compromise--we asked the manager if some of the buffet items could be refreshed with properly cooked items? This took 40 mins and was still a terrible experience.
If you want to go to a resort that requires you to drive to St Armand's circle to attain a good meal and if the price were less than $300 p/night I would not complain, but for a property to try and pass itself off as 4-Stars and price itself as a 5-Star is FALSE Advertising. Our family loves LBK and has been coming to the area for 15+ years (as it is only 2 hours away from our home), but we will NOT come back to The Longboat Key Club until management addresses some significant short comings.
Terribly disappointed!
To bad after asking a manager to contact us that neither my wife or I have received a single communication.... We recommend staying at another property to enjoy this lovely part of Florida but save your hard earned money for another proper that will appreciate your business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Chad7373:
Thank you for being our guest. Glad you enjoyed the wonderful beach we offer here. I agree that it is one of the best in Florida. You should not have seen any mildew by the tub/toilet as that is part of our extensive pre-inspection program. I apologize if this was missed.
I apologize you did not enjoy the buffet. I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Director. The buffet must always be stocked with fresh and properly cooked items for our guests. Along with the buffet, we do have a cook to order station for omelets and eggs.
We do feel that we are a 4 diamond resort and offer the services and accommodations to meet of exceed this category. I’m sorry your experience did not find that to be the case. I would be more than happy to speak to you about your stay with us and have also sent you a note directly in order to try and do so. Thank you.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Room very overpriced (over $500 per nght) for the quality (2-star furnishings, old, run down). Signed up for ocean-view, got a First floor room overlooking noisy, crowded pool area - a slight glimmer of sand through the trees. Would not return, ever --

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Room very overpriced (over $500 per nght) for the quality (2-star furnishings, old, run down). Signed up for ocean-view, got a First floor room overlooking noisy, crowded pool area - a slight glimmer of sand through the trees. Would not return, ever –

Dear Katherine e:
Thank you for recently being our guest. I am sorry that you felt the suite was overpriced. Our prices vary throughout the year and you stayed with us during the peak period. Our furnishings are all modern custom furnishings, but I apologize they were not to your preference. The suite was in view of the Gulf and many of our guests like to convenience of the location you were in, but if you have specific request, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.