We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girl friend and son stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in Bldg. 3 for 4 nights. I've traveled a lot for vacations and I can say that many times resorts do not meet expectations (and we are a little picky). This is the exception. The room was spectacular as was the view. The staff was most helpful, especially Kathy who worked at Barefoot's bar and Grille by the main pool, and helped with several food allergies our son has. Do yourself a favor and stay here. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to accentuate the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear foster45236

Wow – thanks for the great review. We took your review to F&B pre-shift meeting and gave it to Kathy to read to the group. It was nice to see the other associates applaud her for a job well done. Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback on your experience here at the Resort. Also, thank you for the “5” rating!

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    126
    72
    20
    12
See reviews for
186
166
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went with my 2 kids (5 and 3.5) my mom, my sister and her 2 kids (7 and 9 months). We stayed in building 3 in a double room suite. The view and the room was simply amazing. The water was unbelievable - warm and calm, perfect for the kids. Everyone at the resort was so kind and polite and couldn't be more helpful - the bellman, bartenders, waiters and more! Especially the wait staff at the Portofino restaurant at the marina - which was simply divine! I can't stop talking about the stay - i loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear clarybergs
Sounds like the whole family had a great time out here on Longboat Key. We really appreciate your review and look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future. Thank you for your favorable mention of the wait staff at Portofino as well as the bellman, bartenders, waiters and more! Thanks also for the “5” rating!

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a tennis destination. The tennis gardens are worth the trip. Tennis concierge Zoe will keep you playing as much as you want with good match ups. Court 21 Food bar makes a wicked smoothie and healthy breakfast. Junior suite has washer/dryer in unit which is handy to wash tennis clothes. Beach is nice. Staff is very friendly and not afraid to recommend some local cuisine hole in the wall gems!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear SedonaSid:

We appreciate you being our guest and also the “5” rating. Glad Zoe helped make your Tennis play exciting with proper match-ups. Now that we are your Tennis Destination, please come back and visit again soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here many times when visiting this part of Florida.

Our suite overlooking the lagoon was lovely although could have done with a thorough clean as there was lots of dust settling into the corners of the walls around the skirting boards.

We only stayed 2 nights and therefore didn't use the restaurants. We had breakfast at First Watch in Sarasota usually opt to go to The Dry Dock Grill for supper but it was closed.We did have one lunch round the pool and this was a little expensive with the set service charge added on.

I never understand the purpose of a daily resort fee or what it means exactly other than to increase the amount of your bill at the end of the stay. Surely once you have paid the room rate and taxes that really is enough.

Yes, this is a super place to stay but we felt it has got rather expensive and would probably not return which is a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Kayparton:
Thanks for your review and for staying with us. Our resort fee includes an amazing amount of items through the resort and club including Beach Cabanas, chairs, umbrellas, bikes, etc. Many of our guests appreciate this approach instead of charging for each item.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfadt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The room, location and amenities are excellent, though the restaurants were a bit expensive and we tended to eat in St Armand Circle or the Salty Dog and Lazy Lobster.
A big disappointment was the disinterested way in which the management handled our mistake in leaving a bag with new clothes purchases in the room on departure. This suggests a superficial approach to client care and is an area that needs to be improved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Bob F:
Thanks for your review of the resort and I'm happy you felt the room, the amenities and the location were excellent. I'm sorry you don't feel your forgotten item was handled as well as it could have been. This was reviewed with our department manager to use for training and to ensure our guests are always treated the best.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I didn't really know what to expect but was very pleased!
My company just paid for 240 of its leaders to stay for a long weekend at the resort.
Our room over looked the lagoon and was spacious an super nice. Best part was the balcony overlooking the lagoon. We sat out there and had room service breakfast (great) and watched the fish, woodpeckers and manatee! It was amazing.
Pools, bar and food was great.
Staff was perfect.
Gardens at night...bring big spray and there seem to be tons of cats everywhere!!
I'll go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Alicia Waters:

Thank you for the "5" rating. It is most appreciated. We are a great hotel for small and medium sized groups to come to and it pleases me that it was a wonderful experience for your group.

I also love the Lagoon View building and seeing the manatee come into the lagoon is a special treat.

Thank you again for being our guest.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Longboat Key Club earlier this summer and was very happy with our choice. The view from our suite at sunset was truly perfect, as was their private beach. We ate once at Sands Pointe, the restaurant in their main building. Food and service were both great, but not the best value. A lot of dining options within a 5 minute drive to St. Armand's Circle as well, which the resort could be more cognizant of perhaps.

I decided to take a golf lesson and play a little. They have 2 locations, but their Harbourside Course, which is the one off property with the marina, was the only course open. We were told they alternate during the summer months. The lesson was with their pro Joel and it was first class. His ability to communicate and use the right words got through to me and worked wonders. I went out on the course after and really enjoyed their "Blue 9". It was a little worn in spots, but overall good with great scenery and the greens were quick. I would suggest leaving your clubs at home, as they have new Callaway rentals and an all inclusive afternoon special.

Some real bright spots for us were Amanda in the golf shop. Beyond just cheery, she bent over backwards to take care of us. Same goes for Linda at the front desk and a bellman named Rob.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean side suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear CR8922
Thank you for the “5” rating! I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us and the view was truly perfect.
Thank you for mentioning Joel’s lesson, as well as the spectacular service by Amanda, Lynda and Rob. I’m proud that they left an impression with you.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club Hotel
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.