We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by after care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Belfadt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Let down by after care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The room, location and amenities are excellent, though the restaurants were a bit expensive and we tended to eat in St Armand Circle or the Salty Dog and Lazy Lobster.
A big disappointment was the disinterested way in which the management handled our mistake in leaving a bag with new clothes purchases in the room on departure. This suggests a superficial approach to client care and is an area that needs to be improved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Bob F:
Thanks for your review of the resort and I'm happy you felt the room, the amenities and the location were excellent. I'm sorry you don't feel your forgotten item was handled as well as it could have been. This was reviewed with our department manager to use for training and to ensure our guests are always treated the best.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    144
    79
    25
    14
See reviews for
207
189
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maiden, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I didn't really know what to expect but was very pleased!
My company just paid for 240 of its leaders to stay for a long weekend at the resort.
Our room over looked the lagoon and was spacious an super nice. Best part was the balcony overlooking the lagoon. We sat out there and had room service breakfast (great) and watched the fish, woodpeckers and manatee! It was amazing.
Pools, bar and food was great.
Staff was perfect.
Gardens at night...bring big spray and there seem to be tons of cats everywhere!!
I'll go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Alicia Waters:

Thank you for the "5" rating. It is most appreciated. We are a great hotel for small and medium sized groups to come to and it pleases me that it was a wonderful experience for your group.

I also love the Lagoon View building and seeing the manatee come into the lagoon is a special treat.

Thank you again for being our guest.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Longboat Key Club earlier this summer and was very happy with our choice. The view from our suite at sunset was truly perfect, as was their private beach. We ate once at Sands Pointe, the restaurant in their main building. Food and service were both great, but not the best value. A lot of dining options within a 5 minute drive to St. Armand's Circle as well, which the resort could be more cognizant of perhaps.

I decided to take a golf lesson and play a little. They have 2 locations, but their Harbourside Course, which is the one off property with the marina, was the only course open. We were told they alternate during the summer months. The lesson was with their pro Joel and it was first class. His ability to communicate and use the right words got through to me and worked wonders. I went out on the course after and really enjoyed their "Blue 9". It was a little worn in spots, but overall good with great scenery and the greens were quick. I would suggest leaving your clubs at home, as they have new Callaway rentals and an all inclusive afternoon special.

Some real bright spots for us were Amanda in the golf shop. Beyond just cheery, she bent over backwards to take care of us. Same goes for Linda at the front desk and a bellman named Rob.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean side suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear CR8922
Thank you for the “5” rating! I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us and the view was truly perfect.
Thank you for mentioning Joel’s lesson, as well as the spectacular service by Amanda, Lynda and Rob. I’m proud that they left an impression with you.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Customer service is hard to find and this resort definitely goes above and beyond! From the time we arrived, we were greeted with friendly staff. My husband mentioned on the phone while making reservations that it was my and my daughter's birthday. They surprised us with "birthday goodies" in our room including popcorn, candy and sodas for our daughter and a bottle of wine for me and my hubby! They also upgraded us from a 1 bedroom suite to a 2 bedroom suite and gave us an early check-in. The property is beautifully maintained and conveniently laid out, with any amenities that you could want. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have spacious balconies. We will definitely visit this property again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Lithiatravelgirl:

Thank you for the “5” rating! We greatly appreciate it. We appreciate your comments about the customer service being above and beyond and we look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
707 helpful votes 707 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fantastic service, best location on the Island, excellent updated rooms, there is no better platinum standard then the Longboat Key Club. From the first time you are greeted until you check out, you will be well taken care of. It's one place you will want to come back too in a hurry and hate to leave every time.

Room Tip: Must get a gulf front view, nothing better than the view and to hear the waves washing ashore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Livetotravel:
Thank you for the “5” rating. Your review says it all and I am very happy you found the service to be Fantastic. We look forward to seeing you again.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We loved everything about this property and were very content for our week long stay here! First, our junior suite was fabulous! The decor was beautiful and very soothing & serene! I wanted to bring all of the beachy furniture home! The suite was very roomy with plenty of storage...two large closets, lots of drawers, etc. The bathroom was laid out well with a separate toilet/shower area with sink and another vanity area with sink. Plenty of mirrors and yummy Tommy Bahama bathroom amenities. This suite comes with a full kitchen that was well stocked with whatever you might need to make a meal. Nice not to have to eat out 3 meals/day. Roomy and comfortable sitting area, dining table, & large patio. We had 3 straight days of down pouring rain, so spent lots of time in our room and were right at home!

Service was friendly and top notch. We had great service from doormen, front desk, restaurant staff, housekeeping. Beautiful property with a nice pool area, a nice stretch of private beach area with cabanas, well maintained grounds, tennis courts, and fitness center. Loved the colors of this resort...turquoise, aqua, & greens. Loved that this property is "green" and has recycling bins all over the grounds and in rooms. They also practice lots of 3R's around the property.

My only complaints: they need to invest in new pillows. Every one in our room was lumpy. Called housekeeping to try a down/feather one and it was super old and limp as a noodle. Expected nice pillows from a hotel of this caliber. Also, they charge a $24/day resort fee. Not sure what this covers other than wireless service in rooms and free business center. They have a great fitness schedule with yoga and all kinds of classes, but I was offended at the $15/day charge for guests. What am I paying a resort fee for? Even though it said to hang towels if you didn't want them changed, housekeeping always took them and left fresh ones.

Room Tip: There are several buildings and the property is quite spread out. If you have certain needs, see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Hotelsnobb:

Thank you for your wonderful review of the property. Greatly appreciate your kind words about the suites and how roomy and well laid out everything is. Our goal in remodels was to make our guests feel very “at home” and it sounds from your review that this target was met.

Also, we appreciate the positive comments concerning our associates. We share all reviews with our team and departments celebrate when they get such a nice mention.

I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper and we will do a thorough review of the pillows to be sure they are all up to proper condition. We are constantly making replacements when needed and will be sure we hold our standard there.

Sorry about the 3 days of rain. As I’m sure you know, we are the sunshine state and it is very unusual for us to have that much rain.

As far as the Resort Fee, it covers many things around the property. These include:
Bicycles
Local and Toll free calls
On Property Transportation
Scheduled transportation to St Armand’s Circle
Use of One Double Cabana or Chair Loungers and Umbrella
Towels and Chair Covers
Key Card Charging Privileges
Access to Concierge and Bellman Services
Notary Services
Daily Newspaper
Access to Business Center
Library usage of Books and Media
In addition, included in your room rate are items such as parking and high speed wi-fi that many properties charge for.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. I am available at any time to discuss your stay in further detail and appreciate your business.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Longboat key is a gem! Resort is lovely, clean and the staff is very attentive. Close to st. Armand's circle. Plenty of restaurants on the property. The food was very good by the pool. We went to portofino a restaurant affiliated with them and the food was wonderful. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Building 7 by the lagoon is so quiet & peaceful, nice to watch the boats & wildlife. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Mimipapa0922
Thank you for your very concise and positive review. Happy Anniversary! We look forward to having you visit us again in the near future

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.