We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely resort but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived our suite was not ready and so we had to wait 1 hour 15 minutes for it, but still we had to change the next day as the suite allocated stunk of cigarette smoke in the living room and the main bedroom, with cigarette ash on the floor by the bed. This was very disappointing as these are non-smoking suite and we received only an apology from the bellboy who helped us move room, but no formal apology. The second suite was much nicer and had a better view. The Tommy Bahama amenities were lovely.
The beach was clean and the sea was warm and inviting. Beach staff were also friendly. The beach is lovely to go in the morning, as well as the pool.
The price of a tennis lesson was not clear, the $25 clinic is a certain times which was not clear and so one tennis lesson came to $80 instead so be sure to fully ask beforehand.
Overall a lovely resort and friendly staff and nice accommodation, would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear EmmaS
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the resort. I’m glad you loved the amenities, the beach, the pool. I really appreciate your mention of how friendly the beach staff was.
I am truly sorry that the first room had the prior guest smoke in it whereas the rooms are to be smoke free always. I also apologize that this issue was not fully resolved prior to your arrival as our procedures should have had it resolved. I’m glad the 2nd suite was perfect for you.
Tennis has different charges for lessons, clinics, etc. The pricelist may be found in the in-room Experience Magazine or with any of our tennis professionals.
We appreciate you being our guest and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    138
    78
    24
    14
See reviews for
202
186
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of the nicest hotels in the area. Have stayed here 3 times, all for special ocassions and celebration. Very professional front desk staff, very clean rooms, also very modern looking.
While walking to the rooms, not that impressive, but you're there for the rooms and of course the beach. Beach is beautiful, and clean. Private beach. Excellent views from the balconies, and one of the best sunsets you'll ever see.
Overall, great hotel, it's a bit pricey, but well worth the money considering the options around Sarasota. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear GP2727

Thank you for your very kind words about your experience at our resort. So glad that you come to our resort to celebrate your special occasions. Thank you also for the mention of the very clean beach, rooms and the professional front desk staff. I will share your review with our team and I know they will appreciate it. We are here to continue to take great care of you on your future visits with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Con's:There is no attention to detail here. Some renovations but with inexpensive products and the quality of the craftsmanship is lacking. Especially in the outdoor areas there needs to be nicer more updated products used. The front entrance looks like a 1990's old condo. Not what you would expect for their prices. The Pro's are the grounds have beautiful plant life and the beach when clean is pretty and private. The location is close to St Armand's circle. However even that area is looking due for renovations. If you are not picky you should like it but if you have stayed in upscale hotels you will be disappointed. Unless you are looking for something very casual.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Luvn2travl4:
Thanks for being with us and being our guest. Since you stay all of Barefoots and the Pool Furniture have been replaced. We are also adding sofas in the building lobbies by the elevators. The in-suite furnishings are all custom manufactured for us and we have received praise for their craftsmanship. I’m sorry it was not to your liking. Hope we will see you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Driving into the Longboat Key Club, one is certainly impressed by the huge expanse of the grounds, the manicured golf course, the well maintained tennis courts dotting the grounds.
THe check in was not bad either. Fast, smooth. You get the sense that these guys have been doing this for a long time.
The first and main disappointment sinks in when you approach your building. That's when you realize that these are luxury rooms. THe buildings and there are about 5 of them on the grounds look old. When you enter the rooms, you are not going to be impressed. they are basic rooms that I would rate as 3 stars.
Given the amount of money I paid per night, i was expecting much better rooms. The rooms are clean, the tennis courts are well maintained, the golf course is average, the food is ok.
I guess what I trying to say is this is not a bad place. It is just way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear TowelCarrier

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciate all of your positive comments about the golf, the tennis, the smooth checkin process, etc. I’m sorry you were not as happy with your room and wish we could have showed you other options while there. I believe you stayed in one of our 23 guest rooms are the hotel type accommodations which are very comfortable and available for those who are planning to use them primarily for sleeping. Many people enjoy these rooms. The remaining 198 units are expansive suites and very luxurious. From a 675 sq foot Junior Suite to a 1750 Sq foot Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite, our accommodations are very we equipped and decorated with high end custom furnishings. So hopefully, you will return to our property, but stay in one of our suites that are better suited to what you were looking for.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Considering the sheer beauty of this property, one might overlook possible disappoints in service, but we have never had to. Every time our family visits, we feel at home. The rooms are always impeccable, the beach is clean and inviting, the grounds are well maintained and the service is top notch. We all enjoy our personal space, so we are able to relax because of their spacious room layout and furnished kitchens. The property is not far from any other destinations including fine dining or shopping venues. We always look forward to our next trip "home".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Richard M

Thank you for taking to time to offer your feedback. It is very much appreciated that you recognize the “sheer beauty” of the resort and that you continue to visit us as a repeat customer. Thanks for mentioning the clean beach and the service you experience with us on your trips “home” to the resort.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the resort since 1998. I have never ever seen the beach so filthy every evening when our family goes out to watch the sunset. 20 - 30 empty cups, cans and napkins litter the beach right in front of the resort. It was so gross 4 of the nights we were there that we walked way down the beach just to get away from it. Someone has to be designated to pick up trash between 5pm and 6pm so that sunset can be enjoyed. The beach should be raked as well like it is a few blocks south. The beautiful beach has brought us back year after year, and we have brought friends from all over the country. The beach is there primary asset, and with prices going up and service going down, they best protect that asset with everything they have. Sanibel, Naples, St. Pete, Vero, etc. all have nice options. Clean the beach every single afternoon or we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Deepblue3:

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed in the concerns of the beach. I am meeting with our Beach Manager and the Food and Beverage Director to review the timing of our cleaning to improve the look during that time of day. We have been blessed with a very busy summer and unfortunately, many people do not pick up as they leave the beach (right around the time you mention). After the mass exit, the beach team collects all of the chairs and umbrellas and trash that is left behind. Evidence of this can be found by morning visits to the beach to find everything put away and we are ready for another eventful day.

I also hope you and other Tripadvisor users will read the several other reviews around this same time period that remark on the clean beach and wonderful service staff.
Some recent remarks are
“the beach is clean and inviting”
“Brad Blackwell is one of the staff members who goes above and beyond to make our stay amazing!”
“I also found the resort to be very clean”

Again, thanks for your review and we will look at timing. I trust you will be very pleased upon your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Came for just one night, got there right at check in time and had to wait 2.5 hours to get a room. Had room service for dinner and the food was poor to fair at best. At least our room was far enough down that we were not right over the pool but being on the second floor we had more of a palm tree view than beach.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher or building 1 or 4 are away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guggleplex:
Very sorry you had to wait for your room. Our goal is to have the suites ready by the start of check-in time and I apologize that we did not meet the mark in your case. Hope you will try us again and please contact me directly.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.