We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facilities, beach area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful facilities, beach area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of the nicest hotels in the area. Have stayed here 3 times, all for special ocassions and celebration. Very professional front desk staff, very clean rooms, also very modern looking.
While walking to the rooms, not that impressive, but you're there for the rooms and of course the beach. Beach is beautiful, and clean. Private beach. Excellent views from the balconies, and one of the best sunsets you'll ever see.
Overall, great hotel, it's a bit pricey, but well worth the money considering the options around Sarasota. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear GP2727

Thank you for your very kind words about your experience at our resort. So glad that you come to our resort to celebrate your special occasions. Thank you also for the mention of the very clean beach, rooms and the professional front desk staff. I will share your review with our team and I know they will appreciate it. We are here to continue to take great care of you on your future visits with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    164
    80
    26
    16
See reviews for
225
213
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Con's:There is no attention to detail here. Some renovations but with inexpensive products and the quality of the craftsmanship is lacking. Especially in the outdoor areas there needs to be nicer more updated products used. The front entrance looks like a 1990's old condo. Not what you would expect for their prices. The Pro's are the grounds have beautiful plant life and the beach when clean is pretty and private. The location is close to St Armand's circle. However even that area is looking due for renovations. If you are not picky you should like it but if you have stayed in upscale hotels you will be disappointed. Unless you are looking for something very casual.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Luvn2travl4:
Thanks for being with us and being our guest. Since you stay all of Barefoots and the Pool Furniture have been replaced. We are also adding sofas in the building lobbies by the elevators. The in-suite furnishings are all custom manufactured for us and we have received praise for their craftsmanship. I’m sorry it was not to your liking. Hope we will see you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Driving into the Longboat Key Club, one is certainly impressed by the huge expanse of the grounds, the manicured golf course, the well maintained tennis courts dotting the grounds.
THe check in was not bad either. Fast, smooth. You get the sense that these guys have been doing this for a long time.
The first and main disappointment sinks in when you approach your building. That's when you realize that these are luxury rooms. THe buildings and there are about 5 of them on the grounds look old. When you enter the rooms, you are not going to be impressed. they are basic rooms that I would rate as 3 stars.
Given the amount of money I paid per night, i was expecting much better rooms. The rooms are clean, the tennis courts are well maintained, the golf course is average, the food is ok.
I guess what I trying to say is this is not a bad place. It is just way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear TowelCarrier

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciate all of your positive comments about the golf, the tennis, the smooth checkin process, etc. I’m sorry you were not as happy with your room and wish we could have showed you other options while there. I believe you stayed in one of our 23 guest rooms are the hotel type accommodations which are very comfortable and available for those who are planning to use them primarily for sleeping. Many people enjoy these rooms. The remaining 198 units are expansive suites and very luxurious. From a 675 sq foot Junior Suite to a 1750 Sq foot Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite, our accommodations are very we equipped and decorated with high end custom furnishings. So hopefully, you will return to our property, but stay in one of our suites that are better suited to what you were looking for.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Considering the sheer beauty of this property, one might overlook possible disappoints in service, but we have never had to. Every time our family visits, we feel at home. The rooms are always impeccable, the beach is clean and inviting, the grounds are well maintained and the service is top notch. We all enjoy our personal space, so we are able to relax because of their spacious room layout and furnished kitchens. The property is not far from any other destinations including fine dining or shopping venues. We always look forward to our next trip "home".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Richard M

Thank you for taking to time to offer your feedback. It is very much appreciated that you recognize the “sheer beauty” of the resort and that you continue to visit us as a repeat customer. Thanks for mentioning the clean beach and the service you experience with us on your trips “home” to the resort.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Came for just one night, got there right at check in time and had to wait 2.5 hours to get a room. Had room service for dinner and the food was poor to fair at best. At least our room was far enough down that we were not right over the pool but being on the second floor we had more of a palm tree view than beach.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher or building 1 or 4 are away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guggleplex:
Very sorry you had to wait for your room. Our goal is to have the suites ready by the start of check-in time and I apologize that we did not meet the mark in your case. Hope you will try us again and please contact me directly.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked through virgin holidays the room was fantastic great beach view, well equiped with fridge, coffee machine, kitchen sink and crockery and cutlery, pool area was well looked after with easy beach access. Breakfast up to $50 per day was included and a fresh basket of fruit was delivered to our room. Easy distance to st armands circle and good restaurants nearby too. Will definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor sea view block 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear 49 Janette

Thank you for reviewing the resort and offering your feedback on the experience. Glad you were able to take advantage of the breakfast offer package which is one of many options we offer. Thanks for your mention of the pool/beach area as our team in that area work hard to keep it well maintained for you. Look forward to having you visit us again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed in the Junior king suite over this past weekend. Had a beautiful full view of the beach/ocean as advertised. Truly beautiful. I also found the resort to be very clean, though somewhat dated rooms, and the staff was quite friendly. Restaurants we visited were great, and the servers were professional and informative and welcoming of young children. What I didn't like: there is a resort fee added on to the cost of the room. This would be fine if there was value for that money. I presume the resort fee covers pool seating, beach chairs, etc; however, when the staff allows guests to hoard pool side chairs all day, preventing others from sitting by pool, it is quite frustrating. My family sat near the pool and had lunch and several drinks at the poolside restaurant. During the 2 1/2 hour period we sat there, we noted 10 seats in a row that were never occupied, but were "reserved" with magazines, towels and sunblock. After the 2 1/2 hours, I asked a nearby guest if anyone was using the chairs, and he stated "no one has been sitting there all day". I then asked an employee about the rules and he said that chairs unoccupied for an hour could be given to another guest. So, I removed towels from 2 chairs and used .. Just 2 of the 10 chairs, for my family of 5. Shortly thereafter, the guests who had "reserved" them without occupying them all day, returned from the beach and wanted "their" chairs back... Ridiculous! I payed the same resort fee and had to get into confrontations just to sit near the pool so I could closely monitor my young kids... Doesn't make for a relaxing vacation. I certainly would hate to see strict chair policing at a resort, but there does need to be some observation and enforcement of rules by the staff so that all guests may enjoy their vacation. This was not an isolated event, either. The three days we were on property, we observed the "reserved, yet unoccupied" chairs all day long.

Additionally, I had to pay a fee for a rollaway bed..$30/night. A bit steep when you say a room sleeps 5, but only provide a king bed in that type of suite. Again, not a great value... Perhaps the rollaway bed should be included in the resort fee.

Other than the above mentioned issues, it's a nice place and I would recommend. I would have given it a 4/5 if I hadn't had the above experiences at the resort.

Room Tip: Spring for the beach ocean view... It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear BayGirl95:

Thank you for your review and mentioning we are a nice place that you would recommend. I would be happy to address your two points you raised. First, we do have a chair policy of “chairs unoccupied for more than one hour may be given to other guests” What we ask is that you allow our pool/beach team assist in this process and then we will deal directly with the guests upon their return. This issue is typically only a challenge on very busy holiday weekends and we always have plenty of cabanas available on the beach. We are also getting ready to install new pool furnishings that will allow additional seating capacity.

Many properties charge fees per hour for cabanas and beach loungers. We do not as that is one of that many items the Resort Fee includes. I’m sorry you did not find value in this, but if you read many of our reviews, must of our guests appreciate the resort fee to include so much.

Ours includes:
Bicycles
Local and Toll free calls
On Property Transportation
Scheduled transportation to St Armand’s Circle and Grocery Store.
Use of One Double Cabana or Chair Loungers and Umbrella
Towels and Chair Covers
Key Card Charging Privileges
Access to Concierge and Bellman Services
Notary Services
Daily Newspaper
Access to Business Center
Library usage of Books and Media

Also, we do charge for the rollaway usage as they require set-up,etc. Unlike many competitors, we do not ever charge for extra persons in the suite (up to capacity) and also offer Pack-and-Plays complimentary.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.