We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit-still one of our favorite resorts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Westlake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Second visit-still one of our favorite resorts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I just completed our second visit to the Longboat Key Club & Resort...we love staying there! Unfortunately, Mother Nature didn't cooperate, as the temps were in the 50's-60's during our four day stay (still warmer than the weather we left back in cold, snowy Ohio). We had reserved a one bedroom suite with a beach view, but learned at check-in that level of room wasn't available. So we were upgraded to a two bedroom beach view suite in building two, overlooking the pool.

We love the layout of the suites...there is an abundance of living space. The bedroom is large with lots of closet and dresser space. The second sink/dressing area adjacent to the bathroom works out well for two people getting ready to start the day at the same time. The washer/dryer unit is convenient. The kitchenette is a nice size, and very functional with nice appliances...although I wish LBKC would consider a switch from their drip coffee makers to Keurig units. The dining table is large, and the kitchenette island with bar stools makes it easy to enjoy a quick meal or snack.

The living area is functional, roomy, and tastefully decorated (although our particular suite was starting to look a little 'tired'...walls, carpeting and furniture showing some slight signs of wear), The wired Internet connection was functional, but it would be nice to move to a wireless setup so that multiple guests could be connected at the same time.

But it's the balcony that we enjoy so much! It's large and accessible from the living room and bedroom. We love having our morning coffee/breakfast at the patio table and enjoying the sunsets with a glass of wine in the evening. The views of the beach and Gulf are spectacular!

The cold weather interferred with some of our planned activities (golf), but didn't stop us from enjoying our morning run/walk on the beautiful sandy beach. We also enjoyed some R&R time at the beach and pool when the sun was out...which is what we came for!

We enjoyed our meal at LBKC's newest restaurant, The Tavern and Whiskey Bar. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was quite inviting and relaxing. We also enjoyed St. Armand's Circle for its shopping and dining...it's only 5 minutes away. Upon returning to our suite at LBKC, we feel like we're 500 miles away from that 'hustle & bustle'.

We just love the setting and amenities of the LBKC! It's a wonderful place to relax, unwind and forget about everything for a few days. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Beach View...you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    160
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
225
206
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I just returned from spending 4 nights during my son's Spring Break vacation at The Resort at Longboat Key Club. We stayed in the Deluxe 2 Bedroom suite (#2907) it was beautifully decorated, clean and well maintained. This size unit is more like a condo as it has a large living area, full kitchen, dining area, washer and dryer, 2 bedrooms and 2 large baths. The kitchen has granite countertops, dishwasher, microwave, and side by side refrigerator. There were snacks and beverages in the suite available for purchase. The pool and beach area were very nice. Towels and beach chairs are provided at no charge which was a big surprise to us since we are accustomed to paying $25/day for a beach set up. The only problem we had was with the poolside food service. We waited for two hours for our lunch (apparently the kitchen mixed up some orders) after talking to the manager, our food was not charged to us. Although this was a big inconvenience, I felt they handled it properly and were very courteous when doing so. We had room service one morning and the food was good, oth than that and the very late lunch we did not eat on property. Overall it was a great place to stay with lots of ammenities.
We plan to return in July with extended family!

Room Tip: The pillows are quite big, so if you are like me and like a flat pillow, take your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Yes, it's pricey. But so is everything else in this area. It's very well kept up. The furnishings are beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom tub area is dated, but not horrible.

And it's ALL better than a place down the road which is similarly priced.

It's not a highly active place. More of a relaxing place. So families with high energy and high noise might not like it. We have a beach front room and it's nicely situated and enjoyable.

We're happy to be here, even at the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear in2details:

Thank you for reviewing our resort and for the comments about the beautiful/comfortable furnishings. The "5" rating is greatly appreciated. Now that you have found us, we hope we will see you again on your next Florida Vacation.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom suite. The room was nice, and our view was great. The pool and beach are very nice, and the food at the hotel is very good. The one downside was the Kids Club. It was a huge disappointment. The front desk could never give me information on the kids program and they were totally disinterested. My child went 1 day, and they did very few activities outside. Strange, since it was a beautiful day. Also....the hotel internet service is terrible....almost impossible to check emails or do anything else on the computer. That being said, I would stay here again. I have been going to Longboat Key for many years, and it really is a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last week we held our medical conference at LBKC for the 3rd time. The resort is a great site for a small to medium sized group. We had a total of 80 attendees and vendors. The facilities, meeting rooms, reception areas and guest rooms are exceptional. The service is on point and the food is fabulous. The event staff are very accommodating. We are already planning our 4th meeting for next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear ERFJennifer:

We appreciate your review of your meeting experience at the Resort at Longboat Key Club. We greatly appreciate that you are planning for your 4th visit for next year. Thanks for pointing out that we are a "Great Site for a Professional Meeting".

We recently remodeled our "Ringling Room" directly off the hotel lobby and it makes a great venue for meetings as functions. We also have several other meeting/function options all through the Resort and Club including beachside, poolside, marina, tennis, etc.
Thank you again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just got back from our long getaway weekend at Longboat Key Club & Resort. Our stressful lives needed a must deserved long weekend. I can't say enough about our stay! From the moment we arrived until our checkout, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The views were breathtaking, the room service and food were outstanding. A special shout out to our new friend Bernard who couldnt do enough for us!! We cannot wait to go back! It's the PERFECT getaway destination!

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher floor to enjoy the breathtaking water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my second trip to Longboat Key Club and Resort and I simply love staying there. The rooms are wonderful with the small kitchenettes and sitting areas. The balconies are large enough that you can actually enjoy your time out on them. The pool area and beach area are wonderful as well as the staff. Highly recommend staying here - the location is perfect - close to St. Armand's Circle and Sarasota, but far enough away that you can enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Carolyn:
We are glad you returned for another stay at the Resort at Longboat Key Club. I have shared your comments with our associates and we truly appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback. I agree in your title of "Beach Heaven". It was our pleasure to host you again and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Yours in Hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.