We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 Daily Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love going to the Longboat Key Club Resort! The property is wonderful, the rooms and furnishings are beautiful and the staff is very accommodating! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a beach getaway!

Room Tip: Go for an oceanview :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    184
    86
    28
    18
See reviews for
237
239
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a joke! This hotel was a Major let down. We stayed on the Lagoon side. Heat had to be fixed twice, toilet was dirty, microwave was dirty. The staff is basically miserable, wait staff, pool staff etc.No one helps you when you get there. Nothing to do in there lobby. Tried to get a fishing excursion and the concierge couldn't help us. We ended up finding one on our own and had a blast. The gym was ok but they were doing an upgrade to the facility, so they had no classes for spin or anything else. The mens locker room was probably redone in the 60's..it was gross. The boys played golf and enjoyed it, the course looks nice. This is basically a place for grandparents and there grandkids under the age of 14. We had 20 year olds and they were bored to death!
So were we. DON'T GO THERE, IT SUCKS, Unless you're ready to retire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for winter holiday, after it was recommended by a number of people, the whole complex is only accessible through security gates, and then you head off to the resort, upon our arrival we had been allocated building 4.
Our suite was overlooking the Gulf which was a very nice view, when we arrived in the room we found it to be a nice size with large bed and a corridor which led to the bathroom, the bathroom was quite disappointing as it was dated and very small, the bath was particularly useless as nothing more than a shower, the toilet was squeezed into a narrow space, I do not expect to fight with towels and toilet roll holders when I pay this amount of money.
We settled down for the night as it had been a long journey, then we noticed the aircon which was very noisy and the fridge which just added to the noise, a first night’s sleep was just about impossible, we eventually over our stay figured out how to stop the ice machine and stop the aircon and fridge from being so noisy.
We then discovered that wireless internet was not available in the room only wired, this was fixed by a large router which did not work all that well, we were told that they are sorting this for the future, not much use for us right now then.
The pool area is OK, if a little over shadowed by buildings, but there is access to the beach, which is very nice and the place to be, or you have a cacophony of noisy children playing around the pool area, so not the relaxing time we had hoped for.
The majority of staff we met were nice and friendly, the odd one made us feel that it was a privilege for us to stay there and therefore not very accommodating.
We tried the Portofino restaurant which was very expansive and not that brilliant, you do have to watch for prices in the whole resort, as a 20% service charge is added and then they also want a gratuity, a bit of a rip off.
Also when you get the price for the resort, you need to add a Resort fee and Tax, so booking with brokers such as Booking.com or Hotels.com are quite misleading.
Overall I would say that this resort is just OK , it is very expensive old and needs some TLC, some of the staff need to be less aloof, this place was probably once the place to be but now other resorts have caught up and surpassed it, and are less money so we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a really beautiful property, with a gorgeous stretch of beach and all the beach amenities needed. All the rooms look out over the Gulf of Mexico, with spectacular views of the sunsets. The upgrade to the one-bedroom apartments ("suites") is really worth it. These enclaves are beautifully furnished, with fully-equipped kitchens and excellent in-room coffee. Everyone is friendly, professional, and helpful, and the property does a lot to maintain a green footprint on this stunning part of the world. It's very convenient to St. Armand's Circle, and then into the rest of Sarasota. The place is kept immaculate and up-to-date. If your travels take you to this area, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

An excellent place to stay if you are not on a budget. Rooms are well appointed with mini refrig coffee maker and microwave. Ours faced the ocean which gave us perfect sunsets. We stay for the tennis which is off site but worth the 5 min drive. Outstanding courts with the friendliest club director we have met (Sue). If you love tennis this is worth every dime. Bring extra money for the pro shop. Beautiful tennis outfits for men and women. We come back every year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jennifer:

Thank you for the wonderful review. Your room-type was our guest room with the mini-fridge and I’m happy to hear you found it well appointed. All of our other suites offer a full size refrigerator and kitchens. Sue in tennis is amazing and we will be sure to recognize her for your thoughtful comments. Our guests truly enjoy what our Tennis center has to offer. You mention the tennis center being offsite, but it is within the Longboat Key Club and Resort in our Harborside location. Longboat Key Club and Resort has been named the #1 Tennis Resort on the Gulf Coast of Florida - and one of the Top Ten Tennis Resorts in America - by Tennis Magazine in 2012.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Yours in Hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a business trip for me but the hotel location and amenities made me wish that I was on vacation. good value, a little on the expensive side, staff always willing to assist. plenty to do nearby. Fly into sarasota airport if you can, tampa is further away and cost more to get there.

Room Tip: beach view near to reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is huge - but feels like you are part of a village. We had a two bedroom suite that was very well equipped and roomy. It had a dining area and decent kitchen with washing machine so we didn't need to pack loads of clothes. Every window had a view of the sea as we were on a corner and it was peaceful and picturesque. The hotel itself was very good - nice pool and bar area, plus you can hire bikes for free which we did every day (its very flat there!). The pool guys were excellent and very helpful. The food in the hotel varied - their Tavern restaurant was the best and the Portofino the worst (wouldn't recomment eating there!). The amenities were excellent - tennis and golf were are superb. Gloria who was on the concierge desk was brilliant - she sorted out cabs, restaurants and a boat trip for us. My only negative was the cleaning of the room was very varied. Our first few days it was excellent and then another older lady started and she was impatient if we were in the room and asked her to come back and her cleaning was minimal. However, I think we got the previous cleaner back as it improved again towards the end of the stay. The resort was sold whilst we were staying there, but all the locals say the new owners have a fantastic reputation so I'm sure it will remain excellent. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the shorter buildings (we were in building one) and a corner rooms is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Catherine:
Thank you for your review of our resort. I’m glad you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you again in the near future. I have passed along your comments to our “excellent” pool guys, “brilliant” Gloria and Tennis and Golf teams , who all appreciate your recognition.
The Tavern is our new Farm-to-Table concept and I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m sorry to hear your Portofino experience was not up to our standard. We just made a Portofino management change this month and I’m certain you will find it on par with the Tavern on a future stay. We also have reviewed your housekeeping comments with the team. I agree that consistency is extremely important.
We are excited about our new ownership that you mention. They are quickly doing many upgrades to the property and I know our returning guests this season will be very happy with the results.

Thank you again for the review and your patronage to the Longboat Key Club and Resort.

Yours in Hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.