We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrok hard, play hard too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Trinidad, West Indies
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wrok hard, play hard too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a business trip for me but the hotel location and amenities made me wish that I was on vacation. good value, a little on the expensive side, staff always willing to assist. plenty to do nearby. Fly into sarasota airport if you can, tampa is further away and cost more to get there.

Room Tip: beach view near to reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    144
    79
    25
    15
See reviews for
207
190
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is huge - but feels like you are part of a village. We had a two bedroom suite that was very well equipped and roomy. It had a dining area and decent kitchen with washing machine so we didn't need to pack loads of clothes. Every window had a view of the sea as we were on a corner and it was peaceful and picturesque. The hotel itself was very good - nice pool and bar area, plus you can hire bikes for free which we did every day (its very flat there!). The pool guys were excellent and very helpful. The food in the hotel varied - their Tavern restaurant was the best and the Portofino the worst (wouldn't recomment eating there!). The amenities were excellent - tennis and golf were are superb. Gloria who was on the concierge desk was brilliant - she sorted out cabs, restaurants and a boat trip for us. My only negative was the cleaning of the room was very varied. Our first few days it was excellent and then another older lady started and she was impatient if we were in the room and asked her to come back and her cleaning was minimal. However, I think we got the previous cleaner back as it improved again towards the end of the stay. The resort was sold whilst we were staying there, but all the locals say the new owners have a fantastic reputation so I'm sure it will remain excellent. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the shorter buildings (we were in building one) and a corner rooms is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Catherine:
Thank you for your review of our resort. I’m glad you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you again in the near future. I have passed along your comments to our “excellent” pool guys, “brilliant” Gloria and Tennis and Golf teams , who all appreciate your recognition.
The Tavern is our new Farm-to-Table concept and I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m sorry to hear your Portofino experience was not up to our standard. We just made a Portofino management change this month and I’m certain you will find it on par with the Tavern on a future stay. We also have reviewed your housekeeping comments with the team. I agree that consistency is extremely important.
We are excited about our new ownership that you mention. They are quickly doing many upgrades to the property and I know our returning guests this season will be very happy with the results.

Thank you again for the review and your patronage to the Longboat Key Club and Resort.

Yours in Hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were at LBK for a weddiing. While I have to say this is a rather expensive resort .........eveything was done very well. The room was very spacious and clean, with very nice toiletries that were larger size than the usual. Loved have the washer/dryer in the room.The pool is a little on the small side but very nicely maintained. The beach was awesome. The only downside was bug bites ..........almost everyone had them .........some much worse than others.People got them outdoors and were told they were 'no see ums' and we didn"t. Apparently you need bug spray,as well as sunscreen. That being said it was a wonderful trip.........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great shallow beach with very powdery soft white sands.
Excellent views...
Room 3504 beachfront on building 3 very well kept, modern
Parking is a very accesssible, no need for valet
Wi-fi, beach lounges included in resort fee..
Service fees [tip] should not be an automatic 20%... I would recommend 15% if automatic and the customer can add more depending on satisfaction.
Pool too small for resort and very bland... otherwise pool area is acceptably nice.
I would have given a 5 if it was not for the pool. 4.5 is my final grade.

Room Tip: building 3,beachfront, high floor. Otherwise beachfront in building 1 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed only 3 nights during our 2 week Florida vacation (Orlando, Sarasota, then St Pete's Beach). This hotel and beach were so good it basically ruined our St Pete's stay. If you have a choice, pick Longboat Key!!

The whole area of Sarasota, St Armands Circle, and Longboat was really nice. It was quiet, clean, and classy throughout. The resort itself was really large, split over two locations 3 miles apart.. be aware of this when booking your room. We booked a Beach View Suite which was superb. Really spacious, great views, nice balcony, and large fridge freezer meaning we drank frozen cocktails watching sunset.

Bedbugs. Previous reviewers hinted at bedbugs. This worried us due to previous experiences. We didn't experience any bed bugs (and we checked thoroughly), but we did get bitten on the beach quite a lot on the first night by sand bugs. This caused spotting very similar to that described by the previous reviewer, and was easily solved by insect repellent. I'd say this was probably his beef, and NOT bed bugs. The rooms were really clean, and the beds were amazingly comfortable.

The pool was brilliant - large enough, warm and deep with a nice hot tub just beside it. A short walk to the private beach, and you'll be smiling ear to ear. So quiet! Great for walking along, or just lounging on the cabanas all day. The Gulf was warm, and a really good depth for paddling. The hotel did offer bike hire, but the bikes were a bit old and shoddy - use at your own risk!

The fitness centre has great facilities, but is a short jog / walk from resort centre. There is a CVS 3 miles north of the resort for food/drink... but before you buy frozen pizza's, check for an oven!!!

Mote Aquarium is a 10 minute walk up the road, and St Armands circle beyond that for food, drinks, ice creams, or Pepper Palace (hot sauce shop)!

Overall, this was a really relaxing part of our trip due to the superb views, room, pool, beach and location. I'd highly recommend this resort to anyone, and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Just splash out and get the Beach View Suite. You won't be disappointed. Be wary that Lagoon Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, KY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Deluxe 2 bdrm units have gorgeous views. Beach service is wonderful. Chairs and umbrellas were included with the resort fee. Servers were attentive and quickly brought food and drinks. I would recommend LB Key Club. The resort is 30 years old and they have done a wonderful job maintaining the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Longboat Key Club is wonderful. The suites are clean, spacious and comfortable. The full kitchen is perfectly equipped.

The bed is so comfortable you won't want to get up but you will because you don't want to miss the beautiful pool area and beach area.

The staff are friendly, professional and very personable. Always helpful and greet you with a smile and by name. They are willing to help in any way.

The beach area is great. They set up your chairs and umbrella where you want it.

I cannot say enough about this resort. I look forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.