We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Parrish
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best resort in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Longboat Key Club is wonderful. The suites are clean, spacious and comfortable. The full kitchen is perfectly equipped.

The bed is so comfortable you won't want to get up but you will because you don't want to miss the beautiful pool area and beach area.

The staff are friendly, professional and very personable. Always helpful and greet you with a smile and by name. They are willing to help in any way.

The beach area is great. They set up your chairs and umbrella where you want it.

I cannot say enough about this resort. I look forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    152
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
215
193
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this resort in July for a wedding. We stayed in a 2 bedroom room and it was very nice. Decor was modern and updated and it was nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit. We had a large balcony that extended the entire length of the unit, with access from both bedrooms and the living room area. There was also a small balcony that came off of one of the bathrooms in the front.
The grounds of the resort were very well kept and the beach was beautiful, although there was a lot of sea weed that week. However, everyone in our party made comments on how dissappointed they were with the pool area. For a resort of this size, I would expect a MUCH larger pool area. It is just one large, square pool. For the money you are spending to stay here, I would have expected more of a resort style pool.
We did not eat anywhere on property, but those that did said it was quite expensive. There is no where to go within walking distance, but St Armands Circle is about a 5 minute drive away.
I have to say that the rooms at this resort were some of the best I have ever stayed in, however we tend to spend the majority of our time at the pool when on vacation. Because the pool here is so small and crowded, I would look to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The have an awesome pool , a restaurant and of course the beach. The Beach is beautiful. The rooms are great (the suit is the BEST) They have the driving range there , Tennis , and a relaxing hot tub. I don't think it's possible to get bored at this hotel. The last time I stayed was around September 2010. I just selected 2012 because it wouldn't go back to 2010.

Room Tip: The suits are the most spacious. All the rooms are pretty quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 7 nights here with a 16 year old in tow for a bit of relaxation after Disney! Great position as a very short drive (5 mins or so) into St Armands Circle and a pretty quick drive into Sarasota proper - I would suggest that a car is a must for getting around. The hotel is OK but is nothing exceptional, it's a bit jaded - the pool area is tatty, new furniture, parasols and a new bar itself wouldn't go amiss although the pool is fine! The hotel restaurant was exceptionally quiet so we decided to give it a miss but breakfast and lunches were very good (top tip - share a maincourse at lunchtime as the portions are huge!) We had a huge 'room', better described as an 'apartment' - huge balcony overlooking the sea with furniture, nice and quiet, very comfortable bed, good furnishings, well appointed bathroom and a fully fitted kitchen. My only gripe was the air-con which was incredibly old and so noisy it was unbelievable - literally woke us up every time it clicked on / off - our son who was sleeping on a sofa bed in the sitting room had real problems with his sleep quality! The best part for us was the beach, and in particular the 'beach boys' who gave us great service finding loungers / putting up parasols etc! The sea and beach were gorgeous! After chatting with guests (mostly Americans) it was clear that a lot of guests were 'old timers' who visited year after year, perhaps you don't notice the cracks after a while? The golf was excellent, two quite different courses, and extremely enjoyable! (Second top tip, take your clubs!) We ate out in St Armands Circle every evening and had superb food at a different place every evening - enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I were searching for a weekend FL beach location since we live in the Midwest. This hotel fit the bill. We loved our room, pool and beach. The rooms were very clean and stylish. The beach has wait staff which will bring you food and drinks which allowed us to really relax. We also spent a lot of time paying golf and tennis. The Longboat Key Tennis Gardens was so accommodating. The tennis concierge matched me up as a single while my husband played golf, with a group of ladies for doubles. They have a beautiful facility with hard and clay courts. My only caution is the hotel does not endorse restaurants were they do not have a partnership, so the concierge staff will push certain restaurants and not others. Just use Tripadvisor to find a place to eat. All in all a great getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here in August for 4 nights, the hotel is in a nice location, and the beach is gorgeous but for the money and it being a five star we won't go again.
Good: view from the room was beautiful looking out over the Gulf.
Upgraded us to a suite after our night of hell with the aircon unit.
Felt very safe with our daughter who is six.

The bad bits
Needs modernising from the outside, 4 grey blocks of concrete looking from the beach.
Huge air conditioning unit sits inside the room in a vented cupboard, didn't notice it when we popped in and out during the first day, but at night!!!! Imagine yourself just drifting off in your bed to sleep and someone starts a jet engine up as the air on fan kicks in to cool the room down every 20 minutes or so, my wife jumped through the roof every time it kicked in, switched it to re circulate which was a little less intrusive, then to top off the nights events at 7:30 am someone decided that they were going to do some major roof work which sounded like they were drilling thru the ceiling of our room, a swift complaint to reception who said they would investigate and phone back ended in a phone call back to say they were in aware of any work going on, but if we liked she would move us to a club suite and would send a bell hop up straight away with the new cards.
Air con in the room is by the door and as the suite's are significantly bigger you don't notice it, either that or the aircon unit in our previous rm was goosed, happy bunnies but not for us again
I'm sure it's a great hotel and have lots of people who love the place but unfortunately this one we won't be back.

Room Tip: Book a suite to avoid air con issues rm 2303 large balcony and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 5th stay and the resort never disappoints. Consistently great service from all staff, impeccably clean accommodations, and delicious food make Longboat Key Club one of our most favorite places to stay. You can't beat the location, directly on the beach. Our favorite are the "club suites" with lots of extra space - huge patios, full sized kitchen table, washer/dryer, and a gigantic bathroom. Although we enjoy the gulf view (beachfront) accommodations, we prefer the bay view rooms. The bay is full of manatees and jumping fish, it's fun to watch! Oh, and plenty of covered parking at this resort, at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a club suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Kris:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Longboat Key Club and Resort and for returning to be with us for your 5th visit. We are an easy drive from Orlando and I’m glad you continue to find your way to our paradise.

Our visiting Manatees are a beautiful sight to see from the Lagoon (Bay) View buildings. Even they love the turquoise waters of Longboat Key. We hope to see you again soon.

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.