We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a few "misses" among many hits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Only a few "misses" among many hits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for just two nights in March while catching some Spring Training baseball at nearby Ed Smith Stadium (Go Orioles!). The resort grew on us as we stayed. The somewhat aloof desk clerk was not overly welcoming, but a bell guy standing nearby heard us ask (unsuccessfully) to adjust our reservation so that we could have two rooms in the same building rather than on separate ends of the property, and took it upon himself to seek out the manager and made it happen. Props to Steve -- good stuff.

We had something they called Club Suites, which had king beds, a pull out sofa bed and sitting area (but in the same room as the bed), a full but narrow galley kitchen with an seating bar and large bathroom/dressing area. There are three "views" available for rooms -- one beach, which would be fabulous but we economized, one lagoon and one golf course. We saw both the lagoon and golf course views and found them both lovely -- the property is nicely landscaped with glimpses of water no matter where the rooms. Parking is easy by each building, and they've made what could be an ugly mass of parking lots more attractive with trellises and lots of flowering vines. Each room has balconies, and rooms on the first floors have step-down patios that are spacious. Again -- if money is no object, ask for beach views because the setting is spectacular, but you won't feel like a second-class citizen in something else.

The property is large and sprawling, although each hotel building is within a few minutes walk of another. Elevators are slow, but not agonizingly so. The sprawl would be more noticeable for those taking advantage of tennis and the spa, which are more of a committed walk from the rooms,

The beach really is spectacular. Uncrowded, with plenty of cabanas and lounge chairs and umbrellas for the asking. The beach staff is great and they do offer chair service for drinks and light meals. They don't charge for chairs and cabanas, which is nice, although I'm sure it figures into the resort fee. And prices are reasonable for rentals of stand-up paddle boards, boogie boards and other water sports. There is a volleyball net and several groups enjoyed short pick-up games. Access is via two boardwalks on each end of the property (watch out for splinters!) with showers at each. There's a small hut that sells beach toys, sunscreen, flip flops and the like. Also, there are about a dozen bikes available to sign out, even though there were a few times during our stay that they all were spoken for. No need to get up early and "reserve" space as the beach is extremely large and spacious.

Can't say the same for the pool, which was a huge opportunity lost. Two small, too crowded, too loud, too few chairs, too small bar (total of 12 barstools, tops) and it just felt uncomfortably dense with people and noise. For families with kids, a plus: Lots of "noodles" for pool use and other toys around made it easy to entertain little ones. This, by the way, when the hotel was at 100 percent capacity, so it could be more tolerable when the hotel is less crowded. We stuck to the beach.

There are several restaurants on property, but we only patronized the main restaurant off the lobby at breakfast (buffet @ $22) which was unspectacular but quite good. The basics: omelet bar, baked goods, cereals, bacon & sausage, fresh fruit. You also can order off the menu. The room is lovely with indoor and outdoor seating, and helpful, pleasant staff. Also off the lobby: a nice "library" with a work table and a selection of books and magazines, and a pleasant business center. There is free wi-fi throughout, including at the pool and on the beach (nice), but none in our building which was only a couple minute walk from the lobby building.

On to the rooms. Ours was very well appointed. Great glassware, china, etc, in the kitchen, including a fridge, dishwasher, blender, toaster, decent knives, scissors, paper towels, dish soap, etc. We also had a washer-dryer. In other words, one could stay comfortably for a long time, assuming one could afford it. The lines, towels and bathrobe are high quality, as are the furnishings -- marble or granite countertops, nice fixtures, lots of closets and drawers, extra pillows and blankets, low-key but classic decorations. Very comfortable beds and great "black out" curtains that make the rooms trip-over-your-shoes dark. Overall mood was serene, attractive and well thought-out. Each balcony had a chaise longue and table/chairs.

So, in terms of the misses, they were few and perhaps just situational given high capacity. The front desk staff was occasionally abrupt or seemed overwhelmed, although we had a couple of good experiences. It is disappointing to not have wi-fi in all rooms of a luxury resort in an era so many folks have a competing need to get online. Remember, you can't plug your iPad into an ethernet cord, and that was the only option to get online in our room. But to its credit, the LBKC did not nickel and dime us for every little thing -- getting online was free. One other downside was a very hard sell for the Chart House restaurant (part of a chain we've always found overpriced and underwhelming) when we asked where to go for dinner. As it turns out the restaurant has some sort of agreement with the resort and likely provides some sort of commission for referrals. We ate the Dry Dock Grill right down the street -- decent food and a fun waterside setting.

Longboat Key can suffer from traffic and annoyances getting from point to point -- particularly in high tourist season -- but is otherwise very low key and appealing. And downtown Sarasota is a lovely city to look at -- attractive skyline, beautiful water vistas, not too much by way of crowds or tackiness as is more common on the east coast of Florida. The bird watching is also awesome, even for people not usually impressed by birds.

Overall, a very nice resort in an area with somewhat limited lodging offerings. Quite expensive, but worth it. We left happy.

Room Tip: Stay in building 3 or 4 if you want to stay by the pool, another building if you don't. Pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    154
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
220
199
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights in a lagoon-view club suite. This was a perfect spot for us. Building is separate from the main hotel, but just a few steps away. Beautiful, sandy beach and small pool are on the property as well. We appreciated the quiet location with views of dolphins/manatees from our balcony. Dining within the resort is exceptional. Staff is attentive and friendly. Our room had everything we needed for the week and more. Having the kitchen and washer/dryer was a plus. Bed was very comfortable. Only recommendation would be an adult pool, but then you have a HUGE beach area and the Gulf! We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I attended a meeting at this Resort and while I'm not usually one to stay at resorts, found this one a delight. Room size was ample [we were in a suite], view of the ocean and a roomy balcony added to its character. A huge bathroom and closets as well; there was also a kitchen and good sized flat screen TV and very comfortable bed. The resort has a large open bar area and hot tub and pool, then you can walk right out to the sands and the sea. The Resort provides towels and covered cabana-type of lounge chairs which makes spending an afternoon in the sun possible. Staff at the Resort were friendly and helpful. The one caution I would have is that it's far down Longboat Key and closer to Sarasota and its airport than Tampa, where we came in. But easy to get to [tho had the usual one lane island traffic delays]. Be sure to stop on the mainland and pick up food, munchies, wine/beer or whatever to stock your room, as there are few such stores on the island close by.

Room Tip: I took what we were given but if you can, ask for Building 3 which is right over the pool area and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Came for a visit with family back in February. We have been visiting Florida destinations for years. Sanibel, Captiva, Marco Island, Naples and Ft. Myers. We enjoyed this area and resort more than any we ever stayed at in Florida. We stayed in tower #3 in the10th floor. The views were AMAZING and the room was perfect. We stayed in a unit with a kitchen and laundry. The staff at this resort were also amazing. Looking for opportunities help make our stay more enjoyable. There is a man named Alex who works by the pool who blew us away with his high level customer service. One of the hardest working, nicest guys we have ever met! We will be back!

Room Tip: Tower 3-right by pool and beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were able to get a room her at the last minute for our children's winter break. The place is very nice and well maintained. The pool and beach were not crowded and we were able to get lounge chairs at both fairly easily.

We are tennis players and chose it because it is ranked as one of the better tennis resorts. The tennis facilities are beautiful, but they are not at the resort, about three miles away -- something that they don't tell you. Also, the tennis facilities are open to anyone who joins the Club and pays membership fees and dues. Therefore, while they have many courts, a lot of them are booked for members' pre-set weekly games. Sue does do a good job of arranging games for you if you ask, but they really have only one one-hour generic clinic a day. The pro who runs the clinic, Dell, was very good, but you play with whoever signs up. I suggest that you call Sue before you go and set up games. We called when we got there and weren't able to play that day (we arrived too late) or the next day (everything had been set up already).

My chief gripe with the place was that I felt that they catered towards members and not guests. They have a beautiful color brochure in the room of the resort, but almost no details about different things that the resort offers, such as where to go, when things take place and the price. I felt that I had to pull teeth to find out about activities around the Club. I saw an exercise group on the beach and a group in the pool, but there were no sheets or lists detailing the Club's activity offerings. I asked the concierge, Gloria, if there was a list of activities and she said, "no not really". I asked about the health club and she said that we can use it. I asked, "is there a list of classes?" She said, "oh yeah" and pulled one out. I asked about other things that were going on and she pulled out a brochure and said, "these are for members only". I said, "but we are not members", and she said, "but as a guest you can participate". Only after coming home and re-reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor did I find out that the long row of idle bicycles were free to guests. I would have loved to have gone for a bike ride.

I would probably go back again, however, I would be much more pro-active now that I know the scoop. I hope this helps future visitors.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a gulf view. Some gulf view rooms over look the pool, while some are in quiet bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel is either a fractional or timeshare property with fantastic location on Longboat Key located only a short distance from St. Armand's Circle with its mixture of high-end and affordable shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The resort is good for large family groups with children and is somewhat family-orientated. We do not have children though so if you are seeking privacy and a high-end luxury experience, this is not suitable despite the price of a Club Room King Gulf Suite being $459.00 per evening without tax, and also not including the $20.00 plus daily resort fee. If you go without children and want privacy away from the kids and the noise, buildings 1 & 4 are ideal as they do NOT overlook the pool area. We stayed in a Club Gulf King suite in building 4 which is private with fantastic views of the Gulf and beach. This room needed another paint job as the first thing you noticed when entering the room is black scuff marks on the wall probably from luggage. The suites though smallish do have kitchenettes with dishwasher, small washer & dryer in them which come in very handy. Balcony with table & chairs is terrific for not only its glorious views but for dinner al fresco. The beach is marvelous, white sand, clean, wide and endless. The main lobby houses the daily restaurant for breakfast and dinner though there are several others on the property over at the Golf House. Breakfast food was good. Lunch food average. The resort only has 1 pool, smallish by resort standards with a Jacuzzi/hot tub alongside which are very noisy areas with a very small pool bar. This is not a 5-star hotel by any means with customary, superb pool & beach service. Although there is one or two waiters that must try to keep up with demand taking food and drink orders, it is much easier and faster to go to the pool bar and order yourself. Equally the same if you plan on eating or drinking at the beach, as the waitress though very friendly and well meaning, just could not possibly handle all the people at the beach. Pool is taken over completely by children running, screaming and jumping into the pool and if I were a Hotel Manager, I would have had a nervous breakdown worrying about liability. The Jacuzzi Hot Tub is also filled with kids as young as toddlers despite the hotel policy that children younger than, I believe, 15 were not allowed in the Hot Tub. As the hotel choices are very limited in the entire area, it really is the only choice to stay since the Ritz Carlton is just over the bridge on Sarasota Harbor but has no beach. Longboat Key Club Resort PROS--the beach is terrific, the views absolutely lovely, GREAT location, comfortable rooms. CONS--VERY noisy with children, parents yelling across the pool area, pool and beach service staffed by what appeared to be twenty year olds (friendly though) who have no idea what 4-Star Service (plaques on wall at check-in desk indicate it is a 4 star) entails as they are too busy hanging out talking to one another on end, resort common areas require updating and upgrading in their amenities such as another newer, larger pool for adults only, upgrade bar area and pool chairs adding cabanas if they want to make the resort appeal to higher-end travelers. As is, I would rate the resort overall at a high end 3-star but with a 4-star location and beach.

Room Tip: If you are childless and want privacy--Gulf view (more expensive) Buildings 1 or 4 are quiet even du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I along with our 2-year old last August. We were blown away!!! From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and relaxed. The suite, the view, the pool, the beach - all exceeded our expectations! Because we went in August, the beach and resort were virtually deserted and we felt like we had the run of the place. I suppose many people believe Florida is too hot at that time of the year, but we found it to be ideal. Between dipping in the pool and laying out on the beach, then cooling off in the gulf water and playing in the sand, we just had a wonderful time. Each day in the afternoon it stormed a bit, but that made it a perfect transition time with our little one to come back inside and nap for a bit before heading out for the evening.

The only thing that went wrong may seem major to some...at about 8pm one night, the AC in our room just stopped working. Because our 2 year old had already gone to bed, we weren't really in a position to move rooms, which of course the great front desk staff offered right away. But when we said that wasn't possible, the very friendly maintenance staff came up and worked in earnest to get it going, but when he wasn't able, we just asked for standing fans (they brought a bunch) and we made do that night. Much to our satisfaction, that night's stay was comped and the next day we happily moved next door into another clubview beach suite.

That one problem aside, we had a blast. And even that was rectified to our satisfaction with no hassle or attitude.

You will love the Longboat Key Club and Resort!!!

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room, beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.