We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, We Expected a Bit More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Salida
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Great Location, We Expected a Bit More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Wanted to spend a couple days being pampered. The front desk staff at check in and check out were superb. The bellstaff and breakfast staff were wonderful. The housekeeping staff was friendly, thorough and cleanliness was excellent. The room was very comfortable, beautiful view of the golf and the pool courtyard. We road our bikes all along the key and enjoyed it. We wee disappointed that at the time of the year we visited there was not really any place to relax, read or socialize on property. During our three nights the lounge was closed very and we had to leave property for a simple glass of wine. As for recommending I would want to make sure the facilities are available and open. I understand the off season but a think that we all have high expectations of Hilton Service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your review, and for the nice things you commented about our staff. We will be sure to pass along the praise! I'm sorry that our bar closed early while you were here, and we have since revisited the hours that we are open. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    238
    95
    63
    50
See reviews for
211
290
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Had a wonderful and relaxing time at this hotel. Staff was amazing and the view is beautiful. The suites are large and very clean. I love coming to Longboat and staying here year after year...

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we appreciate your loyalty! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I've stayed here many times.
You must first understand that this hotel is well out of the way. You'll spend some time in the car before you getting to any restaurant or attraction. The closest area to find restaurants & shops in St. Armands circle, which is approximately a 25 minute drive away. Longboat Key is pretty solidly filled with retirees, so everything closes early and you'll be lucky to drive the speed limit. If you're in your 20's, you may find the area unbearably boring. That said, the location on the beach is quite beautiful. Many of the rooms have balconies or patios with views of the gulf. That alone is strong draw.
This hotel has very adequate business facilities for groups up to 100.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your review and for being a loyal guest! We love our quiet location here on Longboat Key and are glad that you enjoy it too. It's nice to be away from the hustle and bustle, but still close enough when you want to go shopping on St. Armands or hang out on Anna Maria Island. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding in late Sept. Room faced the Gulf and had a nice view. However, the two cocker spaniels that occupied the room above us were always barking as they were always on the balcony . The bathroom drains were clogged and drained very slowly. Also the bathroom fan did not work at all. This was reported to the front desk the morning of our second day and we were told it would be checked , never heard anything again. Room and furniture were dated. Beds and linens were nice.Forget finding descent coffee before 7am. Italian coffee in room was terrible.Board walkways and pool was nice.Hotel e-mailed a request for review after stay, never received reply back.Staff were pleasant and lady in restaurant got coffee prior to being opened as the person who made coffee for the lobby was late and hadn't shown up yet. Very disappointed with our experience, however we had just left the Best Western at Ft. Myers Beach which was 3 times the hotel for 1/3 of the price... And no, we our not associated with Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us in September. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, and am suprised to hear that we did not come and fix your bathroom fan after you reported it out of order. I assure you that this is not a normal occurence at our property, and we do our best to respond to maintenance issues the same day they are reported. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

For the price, this hotel lacked any luster... It's old, the rooms are small, minimal amenities, and quite expensive ($259.00 night w/tax). The Best Western we last stayed at had a nicer room and normal today’s amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the towel rack (in the shower) was about to fall off the wall. The bathtub was clogged and slowly drained. The TV, although a flat screen and HD, had a grainy picture on all channels. The buffet breakfast was nothing to write home about and cost $15.99 per person. I will say they keep the place very clean, the employees where very friendly, the beds where very comfortable, and the beach was in the back of the hotel. They close the pool at dusk and hot tub at 7 pm, which is very early for a beach resort. All in all this hotel does not meet the Hilton standard of excellence one expects when staying in a beach resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am very sorry to hear that our property did not live up to your expectations, but am happy to hear that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the rooms. We understand that the quality of the tv signal is not up to par, and are actually changing over to a new satellite company in 2011 that will have a crystal clear signal. We hope you give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Hilton on Long Boat Key is about half way up the key and is located right on the beach, which is what we wanted for our children. The hotel is quite small and there is an intimate feeling about it, a little like a club. We have three children under 11 and there was no problem having a pull out bed for the third child. The room was fine since we hardly spent any time in it. The hotel has a nice size pool with a wide lip so beginner swimmers can hold onto the side. There are plenty of loungers around the pool so you have an easy time watching the children. We particulalrly liked that the hotel staff constantly replenished the beach towels so the kids always had a dry towel ready. There is also a hot tub and the kids ran back and forth from the pool to the hot tub within yards of each other. Please note that the hotel does not provide a life guard for the pool so you are on your own.
The beach is only steps away from the hotel and it was so easy to walk out onto the sand. The hotel supplies lots of beach loungers and umbrellas (the umbrellas are rented for a charge so you may want to bring your own). The beach was spotless and perfect for children with hardly any waves. There is quite a shallow area for the children to play and swim and loads of shells to collect.
The hotel restaurant has a large outdoor patio area which is shaded and ideal for families to have lunch or dinner. There is a kids choice menu but I will say that the meals were expensive (approx $70 for lunch for 2 adults and 3 children.) However, it was so convenient to eat lunch and dinner in swim suits and hop back in the pool.
We had difficulty finding inexpensive places to eat anywhere near the hotel. We ended up buying cereal, milk and a cooler with ice at the local Publix and having breakfast in our room. We would definately research a little more on local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Many thanks for your detailed review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to experience all of our amenities. There are many great restaurants in the area that are inexpensive and within a few miles of the hotel, and next time you visit us please contact us beforehand and we can send you suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Its a small hotel. Right smack bang on a fantastic white beach on the gulf coast. Around 2.5 hours from Orlando and 3.5 hours from Miami.
You can watch pelicans diving for fish in the evenings and amazing sunsets. There are free beach loungers, a great jacuzzi and a pool. The restaurant isnt cheap but the food is very good and you can have breakfast with huge herons wandering up to the table all the time.
Great staff. Very clean and good aircon.

Its not ultra modern but it is special. Longboat key House prices start at around £500,000 for a 2 bed apartment and seafront houses begin at 2 or 3 million. Get the idea..... This is a great place and about as far removed from Orlando and all Disney performance as its possible to get.
Miles and miles of beaches (literally 50 miles that we drove) and lovely area.

As I said, it isnt cheap and dont expect to find Macdonalds and Denney nearby, but we did this for a week at the end of 2 weeks in Orlando and we will come back here no doubt...

Another world and all the better for it....

Oh and no other Brits, all US guests, seems a bit of an undiscovered gem if your not from the US

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our "undiscovered gem." We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.