We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Lunch and the Gulf View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Tampa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Lunch and the Gulf View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were not staying in the hotel but we came here twice in the same day to enjoy drinks and appetizers on the deck with a wonderful view of the Gulf of Mexico - wow what a sunset!!

Staff was top drawer all around, servers, bartenders and beachers.

Hotel is closed for the next 18 months for renovations to "meet Hilton standards" which I thought quite silly as we found the facilities very good and a walk down a hallway showed what appeared to be quite nice rooms.

Unfortunately renovations usually correlates to higher prices - will have to wait and see.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review we look forward to your visit when the hotel reopens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    236
    95
    63
    50
See reviews for
210
290
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Despite the faded décor, this resort is in a primo location right on Longboat Key, a lovely quiet beach on the Gulf Coast. It will be closed, torn down, and rebuilt starting this Summer. Our stay was a good one. Staff was very accommodating and the beds were comfortable, although price was a bit high for the quality received. Here's hoping that they can keep the lovely trees and vegetation surrounding the resort pool!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you your 4 Star Review and for mentioning the great service provided by the staff, we look forward to serving you after our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location. More than adequate rooms. Nice view from outdoor eating area. Okay food. Great rates considering the primo location. When we were there they were contemplating a major renovation. It will be interesting to see how that plays out.

Room Tip: If possible, try for a pool, garden or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your critique of the Longboat Key Hilton, look forward to your return visit when our renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

beautiful beach but restaurant and accommodations leave a lot to be desired. I would have liked to know the hotel was being torn down in a month. I would have reconsidered my stay. But I will gladly go back when the hotel re opens!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the beach and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dated musty smelling room. Pool closed very early, and property was just "ok." If you want to be on a secluded beach and dont care about the room quality, it might be ok for you. Wasn't enjoyable for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Longboat Key, but would welcome another opportunity to serve you once the hotel has been fully renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Brookville, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I did not book this trip and it was my bad for not checking TRIP ADVISOR until it was too late only to find that this hotel was basically closing for a major renovation the second the door hits me in the butt...arrived at 9:30pm...No restaurant, no bar no anything at that hour...already preparing my exit as soon as I could book another hotel! The morning sun on Long Boat Key can change your perspective very quickly. I decided to give it a day...I am still here ....this review will not benefit anyone in the short term as you will not be in this hotel for at least a year and a half...but I hope that a year and a half from now I am the first review people see and learn a few things about this special part of Florida. I have to put aside the hotel (because it WANTS to be renovated!) but the staff here is kind and helpful and almost feel bad for you AND the hotel and will do everything in their power to make you happy. Imagine how great they will be when this place gets all polished up!

Since I can't disparage a hotel you will never experience I will let you know that if you want quiet, unaffected, peaceful and beautiful warm turquoise water then this is the place. But I must stress that for some it may be TOO quiet...in season the bar and restaurant close at 10 and you are not near anything. However, very handy that the Hilton has a free shuttle to St. Armand's Circle ( and apparently any requested restaurant /bar within a ten minute drive). I cannot stress how important and helpful this is (but please tip your driver! My man Dan does everything!) For those not in the know, St. Armand's Circle is THE spot with shopping and restaurants galore and you will really appreciate this shuttle! Once you start to experience this area you will definitely return....

As for the beach....don't even get me started! The pool is small (don't know what it will be like in a year and a half) but a temperature challenged New York wimp like myself could not be bothered with a pool....God has provided a bathtub in the form of the Gulf Of Mexico so the pool is really just a waste of time. This beach is beyond....

So ...one star for the beach, one star for the staff, no stars for the hotel....come back when it is pretty...I know I will!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Longboat Key Hilton and for providing feedback regarding the level of service you received. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

It will be sad to see this hotel close for 18 months, it is the best place to stay on Longboat Key. We have been coming here for over 30 years. Truly magnificent. My 4 children have come to make this hotel the first place to take friends and family for stays at this hotel. My one son got married here , and I have taken so many people here that have come to visit us from England and the U S. I can not wait for it to be rebuilt and stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you once our renovations have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.