We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longboat Key Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
carmel, United States
1 review
“Longboat Key Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Best hotel staff service I have seen at any Hilton, waiter, waitress, and bartender were there to please. Location is fantastic, beach very clean and great views. Hotel structure a little outdated, but they are doing a complete renovation soon. I plan on making this trip on an annual basis. Had entire family and we all greatly enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    236
    94
    63
    50
See reviews for
210
288
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time and experience! Loved our room location and view! Staff was so nice and helpful. Had a great time on the beach. We look forward to staying at Hilton Longboat Key again! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is in a sad state of disrepair and the management doesn't really seem too concerned. Everyone's excuse was "it's due to be remodeled", but that doesn't excuse the prices they charge for a hotel that is quite literally falling apart. On arrival to the room, we quickly noticed that there was a large area of carpeting in front of the sliding glass door that was thoroughly soaked. It had rained a lot lately so we chalked it up to the rain getting through the door jamb somehow. We also noticed a portable fan that was tucked next to the dresser, so the guess was that this was probably on ongoing issue with this room, and the staff used the fan to help dry the carpet. We told by front desk staff who seemed surprised. They apologized and told us they would take care of it. We were also given a $50 voucher to the restaurant, which at the time seemed a pretty good deal; until we went to the restaurant and had some of the poorest service that we have ever had at a Hilton Hotel. The bartender, whom we were told had been there like 20 years was extremely rude and very slow to serve even though there were more staff than patrons.

So, we return to the room, and attempts had been made to dry the carpet, however it was still pretty wet. My 2 year granddaughter was playing in the room and happened to pull back the draperies that were in the corner of the room, next to the sliding door. I heard her say "eww....yuck", i pulled back the drapes, and to my horror, I found that the entire corner section of the wall was peeling away from the metal frame. There were numerous exposed sharp screws as well as mold and mildew everywhere. I also noticed water leaking down from the roof, down the corner area, and right to the area of carpeting that was wet. So, it wasn't the door at all that was soaking the carpet - It was this very dangerous corner that cold have easily harmed my granddaughter if she were to have gotten caught on one of the exposed screws. At at time I also noticed that the wood dresser in the room was up on plastic coasters, I'm sure because this was on ongoing problem in the room and they did not want to ruin the furniture. Certainly there was no regard to guests who were renting the room.

We told the front desk,who again acted surprised, but weren't really interested in seeing the photos we had taken. There was not another room to relocate to, so we were offered another restraint voucher which we turned down as we had no desire to return there.

We spoke to the manager on checkout, who again really had no interest in looking at our photos. He did comp the least expensive night of our stay. But, what I was really after though was an apology that my granddaughter was put in harms way. And just more concern shown. I really expected that he drop what he was doing and go up there and look at it. But none of that happened.

I feel certain that staff and management knew about this problem but chose to cover it up and overlook rather than take the room out of service and lose out on $275 a night in revenue. Not at all what I expect from a Hilton Hotel. I even wrote Hilton, but surprise surprise, not a word back.

You can't beat the location, but there are plenty of other choices on the island. Do not expect because it has the Hilton name, that it lives up to the same standards. From what one of the staff told me, it was one of the few Hilton's that was a privately owned franchise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience during your recent stay and apologize for any inconveniences this caused. The safety and health of our guests is a top priority and we regret your family was in this situation. I reviewed your folio and we did refund $199.00 plus tax on the day of departure for your inconvenience. Our Facility is scheduled for renovations in the very near future, we hope you will visit us again once the renovations have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fla (USA)
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful place to relax. Great rooms, pool area right next to the beach, very good on site
restaurant for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Excellent service. The whole place made us feel as if we were on European beach . We have been back twice. Hope that the expansion planned does not ruin its truly Florida/tropical flair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you want to enjoy a beachside pool don't stay at this Hilton. To say it was as warm as a bath would be an understatement. This is Florida and when you go in a pool it should be refreshing and cool. We didn't spend any time at the pool because of this. The fan to the air conditioning in the room sputtered all night keeping us awake. I expected far more from a Hilton, and could have done just as well for the money somewhere else on Longboat Key.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Met our needs but Wifi was too weak near the main door to the room but stronger enough near the back pool / patio door. Facility is scheduled for a much needed upgrade and refurbishment. Great beach and our first floor room made a good 2 night beach house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's one of the older Hilton hotels but the location is fantastic. Longboat Key, FL is more laid back and the beaches are perfect. Loved the location, which is right on the beach. Loved the staff which were friendly, courteous, and always helpful and loved the location which for my wife and I was perfect. It was one of the nicest, most relaxing vacations I have every had! I highly recommend this hotel and as far as which room type to rent, don't sweat it. This is a smaller hotel and the beach is right out the back door so all rooms are good rooms. Save a view bucks, don't worry about the "parking lot" view and just book a room and love the beach. The restaurants in the area are first rate. The are: Lazy Lobster (dinner), Dry Dock (dinner), Blue Dolphin (breakfast and lunch), Mar Vista (lunch and dinner). With the exception of the Blue Dolphin all serve seafood and all are great! And there's a Publix supermarket just a few miles away so you can get subs and sandwiches and all kinds of food and drink. Our room had a small fridge which I recommend getting, so we stocked up on drinks and subs, and little breakfast snack foods. One issue though was our bed was too hard for our taste. The staff added an additional mattress topper which did help but it was still a bit hard for us. My wife and I tend to like really cushy so that's more of a taste issue than a hotel issue. Still we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.