We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hilton Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Someset, KY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hilton Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You should know that I am a Hilton Honors member (and Marriott Rewards too). So there's my disclaimer up front.

This is a nice property. We took advantage of a 'family special' which included internet service and a breakfast each morning. If you need internet and you eat breakfast, snag that deal. The hotel staff were excellent. Very courteous, helpful and friendly.

The property is going to closed in July of this year and totally renovated. We were a bit worried by that wondering what we would find. Now that we've been here a few days, we were impressed and very pleased with our selection.

It is, of course, beachfront. The ocean is beautiful and the sun warm (early-mid March). We normally rent beachfront condos, but there were none available for this impulse trip of our's. So, we stayed here and am glad that we did. We would stay here again which is the ultimate compliment for any facility.

Price of the room was $439 plus tax, but again, that included the family package. We found out the breakfast alone was $15 a person had we not purchased the package. I'm guessing the internet is another $10 a day. The extra for the package was $20 a night so it more than paid for itself.

The room we had was a bedroom with queen size bed; desk; flat screen tv; and a little sleeper sofa. In a completely separate room was another queen size sleeper sofa, flat screen tv; and a little refrigerator, microwave and bar sink. The bathroom was in the bedroom side of the suite. If you have teens, they can be on one side while mom and dad are in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Book early! This was an impulse trip for us, and although you could see the ocean from our room, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    234
    93
    63
    50
See reviews for
210
288
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent location. Nice, but dated facilities. Very clean and well maintained, considering planned renovation later this year. Nice pool/spa and beach. Enjoyed smaller resort environment - hope this is maintained after renovation. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms on floors 4-5 are best (above Palm trees)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have been visiting this hotel for a few years. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach on Longboat Key. The hotel staff is well trained, and very helpful. You feel like this is home away from home. They are planning a major upgrade in the next few months which is merited but hope it does not change the easy going, homey feel the place has. Nice buffet breakfast, and terrific views on the beach. Rooms are clean and comfortable. This is NOT an elegant business hotel with a grand lobby, noisy bar,but rather a nice clean small comfortable hotel with a cozy local feel.

I will miss the place while they are closed and surely will revisit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were expecting a lovely Hilton hotel only to find a very dated & tired hotel that was not value for money! The location is great - right on the beach and the receptionists and maids were all really friendly, but the restaurant service was extremely slow, albeit the food was very good. The room was clean but really tired and the bathroom was tiny (we are a family of 4). The beds were advertised as 'queens' but were only doubles. The air conditioning unit was really old and noisy. The pool is a good size and heated, but it doesn't have a shallow end for young children (the shallowist bit was still 4ft) and it was dirty on the edges. Overall, we were expecting a luxury stay for a couple of nights at the end of a hectic week in Orlando, but were disappointed. We would not recommend this hotel! I would give it a 2 star rating in UK terms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel decor and service levels. Your feedback has helped us improve in these important areas and we will continue to look be very vigilant in our service processes. It's so nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of our delicious entrees. We'll be sure to share your compliments with the chef. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to show you our true hospitality and share our breathtaking beach views once our renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As noted on previous reviews this is an older facility and is scheduled for a 2013 renovation. The hotel was clean and quiet and Housekeeping seems to be staying on top of everthing. The staff was very friendly - everyone went out of their way to say hello and they were always pleasant. We used the shuttle to take us to St Armand circle and this is a very nice amenity. We had a room on the first floor, overlooking the pool. We were nervous at first - thinking it would be noisy. However the pool closes at dusk, and even during the day it was not loud. One of the reasons for this is actually one of the Cons with the room - the heavy glass doors to the small patio. These doors were extremely heavy - I understand they were probably hurricane proof glass. But...we were trying to open the door, not go through it! I was with a girl friend and it literally took both of us to push this slider door open and closed. I can't image how someone alone, or with less physical strength, would be able to handle it.
While the outside noise was muted, not so coming in from the hallways. People talking or laughing while in the halls comes right through the walls and door. The good thing here is that after 10 or so at night the place is overall very quite so our sleep was not disrupted. The only other disappointment was with breakfast room service. The carafe of coffee was actually barely tepid - and no sweeteners were supplied. The toast was actually cold - and no butter provided. Not a huge deal, but something this simple should be a no brainer on the outgoing room service trays.
One of the best things about this resort is the location - gorgeous beach that is quiet, uncrowded and pristine. No litter, jet ski or boat noise, or loud crowds. It is very relaxing.
They are scheduled to close during the summer of 2013 for a 12 to 14 month renovation. I would actually recommend this place now as an affordable hotel on a great beach so I can just imagine how it will be next year when it reopens. I will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We're so excited that we'll be getting a new look and we're happy to hear that you are too. However, that's no excuse for inconsistent service. We're reviewing your comments with our team to ensure we're doing all we can to provide tasty dishes well stocked condiments and utensils. We're also looking at better ways to deploy our staff in high traffic areas so we can neutralize noise and minimize discomfort to our guests. We can't wait to see you again once our renovations are complete. Please reach out to us if we can be of further assistance to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was amazing. Friendly, accommodating and helpful. The condition of the hotel is poor at best. We read that they are closing for renovations in July. Hopefully it will be a full makeover as this tired hotel could be a sparkling gem considering its great location. The minuscule fitness center was disgusting and smelled horribly. The furniture in the rooms was faded and worn and the rugs were torn. In our suite we could hear our neighbors as if they were in the room with us. Come on Hilton, you can do better than this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. This is the perfect time to offer suggestions for amenity updates since we will be undergoing intense renovations. I apologize for the inconvenience and any discomfort you experienced and we're sharing your comments with our staff. Even with cosmetic updates, our personal hospitality should never waiver. Thank you again and for your comments. We hope that you will be one of our first guests once the upgrades are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great hotel with access to beach. Problem with birds during meals on deck. Only one computer in lobby area designated as "business center." Best breakfast sandwich we've ever had! Will be interested to see results of forthcoming expansion, and we hope expansion does not destroy character of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.