We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but renovations can't come soon enough!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Sweet Home Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location but renovations can't come soon enough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Longboat Key for a night over the holidays. The location is wonderful on the beach and close enough to St. Armand's Circle to enjoy but away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. The pool was heated and warm enough to swim in even when the breeze was a bit chilly outside. The staff was very pleasant and courteous. Our room had a great view from the top floor, but it was obvious the room had experienced repeated water leaks in the ceiling and around the sliding glass door. The patch jobs were obvious but some areas hadn't even had patches attempted. We understand this resort is scheduled for renovations in 2013, but this room was not up to what I consider Hilton standards and requires immediate attention.

Room Tip: View from top floor was great but be aware of maintenance issues if staying prior to renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    236
    94
    63
    50
See reviews for
210
288
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the heart of america
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is so-so. I was there for a September conference that was held at the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful but the facilities are due for a much needed renovation. Rooms are adequate. Great beachfront location. Food at the conference was average. This hotel left me wanting more. I was pretty suprised it was a Hilton property

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBKGM, General Manager at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We always welcome feedback that can help us improve and we appreciate your honesty. We'll keep your comments in mind as we continue to look into cosmetic changes and upgrades. We will be upgrading our facility in 2013. We hope you will visit us again once our renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior min
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Relaxing at the white sand beach at the oceanfront hotel, was a ideal getway. The pool was heated, clean and well kept. The hotel itself has the charm of old Florida, warm cookies oranges in the lobby. The staff goes out of their way to accomadate their guest. They will drive you to restaurants nearby. Although, really no need to go anywhere the restaurant was great, with impeccable service and attention to detail.
Thank-you, so much for the beautiful ocean view!!! It was too short of a stay with my granddaughter. I will be back, it was a excellent and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hilton at Longboat Key is a charming hotel with all the Hilton qualities. BUT you better go soon because it is scheduled to be closed & gutted May of 2013. Currently it is arranged wonderfully with a large open area for the pool & boardwalks to the lobby & the restaurant/bar from the room area. Few rooms actually face the gulf, but if you get a pool view on the 4th or 5th floor you will be able to see the gulf. The beach is great with a lot of shells & room for long walks (more than a mile in each direction). The hotel furnishes lounges on the beach & an umbrella can be rented for $15/day. The double rooms are roomy with a nice size fridge (no microwave, though). The staff is extremely friendly & helpful. There is a free shuttle to St. Armand's Circle. You don't want to try to park there, so take the shuttle on your schedule.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the pool or the gulf actually face the parking lot & the resort next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have been here many times at this time of year for the peace and tranquility by the side of the wonderful blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico with pure white beach. Sadly the last time here, as this hotel is scheduled for major reconstruction in 2013 ... If the planning protests allow! This will be a completely different place with a major increase in rooms etc. Get here soon (with a discount if possible) and put aside the uneven board walks between buildings and the dodgy Internet connections ( standing by the window helps ). You can see the rooms are desperate for a make over. It's like an old ship slowly being let sink . The staff are putting a brave face on it but they are visibly saddened by what is happening. Not sure whether I will return .... We'll see.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort and I appreciate your honesty. I’m excited about our renovations, which include the complete refurbishment of our existing 102 rooms to current Hilton Standards, new lobby, new pool, hot tub, restaurant, meeting space, kitchen and a pool side tiki bar. Our renovations also include the addition of 85 new rooms with 16 of those directly overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. We will make every effort and take every opportunity to ensure guest comfort during our renovations. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was excited to stay there and have a nice beach weekend right before Thanksgiving. However, it was very disappointing. Upon arrival, my room wasn't ready which isn't a problem (we were early), however when you are staying with a group of friends who checked in before you and were offered free drinks while they waited and an upgrade it's a little unfair. Maybe I'm being a bit childish but I didn't get quite the warm welcome. When we did get to our room, I noticed immediately the bathroom wallpaper peeling due to mildew. That night when we were going to sleep we were greeted by a small bug crawling across our sheets. Not sure what kind it was but regardless, not the type of thing you want to find in bed. I get that it's Florida and bugs seem to be everywhere but when you are staying at a Hilton I wouldn't expect to find one in bed. Other friends were greeted to large cockroaches throughout their stay. In addition, the doors to the rooms when closed slam very hard and loudly. We were also near an exit which was very disruptive.Would not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonLBK, Director of Sales at Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We always want our guests to have a great experience with us and I’m sorry we couldn’t provide you with the top notch service we strive for. The health and safety of our guests is always very important to us and I can assure you the pest issue has been addressed with our local pest control company. I’m also working with our security team to address the noise concerns you have and will seek out additional strategies for neutralizing these issues. We value your business and your suggestions and we hope that you will reconsider staying with us for a more superior level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I really like this hotel. It is dated, but in a good way. I like the Caribbean feel of the boardwalk in the courtyard with older boards and mature trees. It seems that new hotel are just so sterile and have no character. Our room was fine and the breakfast was delicious. The uncrowded beach in front of the hotel is great and with the pool and hot-tub, it is easy to relax. Have to thank the staff and cleaning folks for getting everything right and making my vacation enjoyable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.