We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Santo Domingo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Spend nights in late April. Amazing location, steps to the Gulf,with great swimming beaches. Staff was amazing they worked very hard to meet your every whim even though they seemed short staff. View from our room(229) was worth the price of admission alone. Breakfast buffet was good.. Lunch by the pool even better.

Physically the hotel could you some attention. While it was spotless, the exterior is showing signs of being a hotel on the beach...nothing some pressure washing, and painting could not fix.

The true test... Would we return?... Absolutely!

Room Tip: 229 or 329 great balcony views of the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    238
    95
    63
    50
See reviews for
211
290
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agua Dulce
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Florida is filled with beachfront resorts, but the Hilton on Longboat Key is enormously wonderful, per the location. Longboat Key is a special island off the coast of Sarasota on the Gulf of Mexico. White sugar sand, sunbeams, quiet with just enough rental items (jet ski, sunfish sailboat) to aid island living. We are not a family but the families certainly were enjoying themselves by visiting local activities and "hangin' at the beach". Dolphin sightings occur almost daily--always a plus!

The hotel is a "little worn" but we heard talk of rennovations soon plus an updated pool, hot tub, etc.

Hopefully, the chef is in the kitchen who makes the best French Fries!

Room Tip: --a room with a view, facing the water ,is always a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, U.K.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I last stayed at this hotel 16 years ago and it has hardly changed at all. It is in a really great position on the beach at Longboat Key and could be so very good.

Our stay started on a low point at check-in where Cassondra was very curt and off-hand and stopped halfway through the check-in procedure to take a lengthy phone call. This was just rude. We had chosen a poolview room (228) which was OK, although the balcony was hardly wide enough to turn around in and was really just to provide the exhaust vent from the air con unit, which seemed rather noisy. That night we hardly slept (despite earplugs) as the air con rattled and groaned all night and every time the compressor kicked in it was like being on the flight path of a jumbo jet! The following morning I complained about this to reception (who were already answering a phone call from another guest asking to be moved because of a noisy air con unit) and they agreed that an engineer would look at the unit.

As it was my wife's birthday the day after we arrived I had asked if reception could recommend a good restaurant and Christian was extremely helpful, booked the Charthouse for us and made arrangements for us to be treated very well that evening. This was probably the best thing about our total stay. I thanked him sincerely for his help.

We had the hotel buffet breakfast on our first morning and this was poor. The service was very off-hand, the tea was luke warm, pancakes, syrup and eggs were all cold and we vowed not to bother again with the hotel breakfast. Instead, we found the Blue Dolphin cafe at the Centre Shops, which had great friendly service and good hot food at a very reasonable price - everything lacking at the Hilton! We had breakfast there for the rest of our stay.

On our second night it was clear that the engineer had done absolutely nothing to the air con and we had yet another sleepless night. The following morning I again complained to reception and was told to wait in our room until the engineer came to us and we could then explain the problem. Although we had not come on vacation to wait around for an engineer, we decided to do so. A very pleasant engineer eventually came and agreed that the noise level was totally unacceptable. He wondered whether to replace the unit, but instead removed the front decor cover, exposing more controls, and turned the fan to 'low'. This did appear to reduce the noise level a little, but we were concerned as to whether this would provide enough cooling. Ten minutes later he returned with a voucher (to be used in the restaurant) for $50 for our inconvenience and later that day a bottle of wine appeared in our room with a short note from the duty manager (Denis) apologising for the problem. Unfortunately, as we had expected, with the air con fan on 'low' speed we had another very hot and restless, poor nights sleep.

The following morning I visited reception, complained yet again, and was told by the then sympathetic lady that they would try to move us to the next door room at 1.00 pm when it would be available. We would be called in our room. At 2.00 pm after having received no call, I returned to reception to be told that this room was still unavailable, but was escorted and shown a room on the 5th floor with an air con system as noisy as that in our own room. I declined to move there and we went out for the afternoon. We returned to the hotel at around 6.00 pm to find that our room was not yet serviced. We both went to reception to complain, were told curtly the hotel was full (which we doubted), but the next door room was now being prepared. We were eventually shown the room next door to ours (230) where the air con seemed to be better and we agreed to move rooms for the last night of our stay, although this was an inconvenient hassle for us after three nights.

That evening we used the voucher towards the cost of an outdoor meal in the hotel restaurant, which turned out to be surprisingly good, in part due to the excellent service and friendly attention we received from the waiter/barman, Noah.

That night we slept properly for the first tme during our stay. On several occasions I went to reception to try to speak to Denis to thank him for at least attempting to make our stay a little better with the voucher and wine, although this was little recompense for three night's loss of sleep during our vacation, but each time was told that he was not in.

It seemed to us that this rather old hotel really needed a total refurbishment. From the various rooms we saw the air con units are all quite dated and in desperate need of replacement. It was clear that we were not the only guests having problems with these systems. Despite the superb location, the hotel itself was very 'tired' and unfortunately several staff members gave us less than acceptable levels of customer service. We heard some staff saying that a new wing was to be added to the hotel in the near future, it is only to be hoped that the existing wing is at the same time substantially upgraded and that new more attentive staff (excluding those mentioned favourably in the above) are recruited.

I had paid for this stay with well over 400,000 hard-earned Hilton Hhonors points and feel that in general we were neither treated well, nor did we receive good value for the points redeemed.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room with a noisy air con unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband & I were headed North after spending 3 months in Marathon Shores, FL and decided to check out Longboat Key on our drive. We liked it there so much decided to call the Hilton we drove by to see if they had a room available for 2 nights. Christian made me feel welcome on the phone even on a last minute stay. We are Marriott rewards members(10 years) but after this excellent stay we are joining Hilton Rewards! The service was great! The room was a good value. A 2-room suite that was well equipped for a weekly stay. The only downfall was the bathroom. Very small and no exhaust fan...kind of turned into a steam bath and in need of repairs. Made it work as being outside and near the ocean was more important than a not so great bathroom. The beach is beautiful!! We were fine with beach chairs & towels. Didn't need to rent anything. The breakfast buffet was good. Lunch was good too. Had a delicious dinner at the Lazy Lobster the first night. The 2nd night we made the mistake of having dinner at the hotel (tired from shopping and wanted a quiet casual dinner on the deck overlooking the beach.) We were not expecting anything great but......Forget it!! Should have had a drink(ok) and an appetizer and called it a night. The service and food were horrible to say the least. We would stay here again for a short stay. Again the staff were always helpful & pleasant. Thank you Hilton for a very good overall experience. Marriott should send some of their staff to you for training!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool. We hardly heard anything. Christian told us the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Lovely lovely lovely. Unpretentious. Excellent Service. Decor a little tired but we had a fabulous suite, which, travelling with small kids, was wonderful. Restaurant is great. Wake up in the morning and fall onto the beach, where there are plenty of deckchairs to be had.

Room Tip: There is a room which is on the ground floor and opens directly on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

It would be hard not to enjoy a few days at this hotel given the fantastic location on the gulf. The beach is great and not crowded. The evening sunset is spectacular. Service is relaxed and friendly and while the rooms and facilities are not particularly special they tick all boxes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just stayed at this Hilton for 7 days, with my family, and we enjoyed the. We wouldn’t stay again due to one incident – but in fairness that should not put you off - lots of comments and tips below. Due to the incident I would normally have given a 2 or 3, but in fairness overall the Hilton is a 4 out of 5.

On arrival there is plenty of parking and all is free. The lobby area is quite small, but does all it needs to for a hotel of this size, nicely decorated. The reception staff were generally good - the younger ones seemed to go that extra bit to help. One or two were "efficient" if not quite as friendly. They all took care of problems and hotel bookings - Christian and Casondra were particularly helpful. Each day there are oranges or cookies in reception, plus morning coffee which is nice.

The rooms were pretty good, we stayed in a one bed suite, with a pool view and 2 small balconies. The views across the sea and pool were very nice. Beds were comfortable, pillows "ok". Plenty of space in the 1 bed for a family, plus fridge and microwave. A tea/coffee machine. The bathroom was very tight and small, but usable. Common areas ie halls and hotel generally were well decorated.

Some maids were good, one was not. Cleaned well but several times one said things like "oh what lovely children, I have 2 babies but can't afford for them to eat". She was begging for money. Not good. I know maids don't earn a lot and a tip for them is good, but this was too much and we avoided the room during maid times... But not enough of a problem for us to complain. I did complain after leaving due to another incident. I didn’t get a satisfactory outcome, but then I didn’t expect one!

The pool was nice, decent size. Not huge but great for kids and warm. They should probably add another 10 beds and 5 umbrellas, it's doable as there is room around the pool. People (each nationality) were putting towels on beds from 7am and not many left by 9am. The pool food and drinks were very good, so use these. There are towels, plenty so don't bring your own and a pool hut with ice creams etc and some kids toys for the pool.

The beach is very very nice and backs on to the pool, so you can use both. Same story re sun beds - buy 15 more!!! They too were running out by 9am at busy times. They are free, but umbrellas are $15 a day... We bought one at the CVS (3miles) for $20 as we use the beach every day. The sea is nice and reasonably shallow. We ran each day on it also. As I say a nice beach.

There is a gym (new and good, plus tv's etc) and restaurant. The breakfast was pretty good (plus they give free bottles of water) as was pool food. Typical prices, but similar to other restaurants in the area. There are shops within 5 miles ie cvs and smaller ones for drinks etc.

One problem, or not??, is there are no restaurants to walk to and overall not many within 5 miles. The hotel operates a shuttle, which was great but the wait can be long for returns. We got one to the lazy lobster a few times, which had great food, great. Highly recommended, see my review. But there are not dozens of restaurants locally so you need a cat generally. Mar vista was also pretty good.

Ok...Why I didn't give this a 5??

1. Bathroom too small for 4 or 6 people in a 2 bed room
2. A few areas of repair needed (I have a few photos)
3. Air con never really kept the room "very cool", but was ok. Keep it on all the time.
4. Not quite enough pool/beach beds
5. The maid

We won’t be back, because of the incident – but do recommend the hotel for a relaxing time. It was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort

Address: 4711 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Longboat Key is nestled among ancient Banyan trees on the picturesque island of Longboat Key, just off the coast of Bradenton and Sarasota. A 102-room boutique-size property, the Hilton Longboat Key is the kind of place that you come to for a relaxing vacation where you dig your toes in the powdery-white sand and sip on tropical drinks while you watch dolphins and manatees swim by. Just 8 miles South on Lido Key, the 100 shops and restaurants of St. Armands Circle will satisfy the shopaholic in you, as well as your cravings for fresh seafood, frozen drinks and upscale fare. The water rules here, and there is plenty to do to become one with our island lifestyle --- you can rent jet skis and sailboats right out on our beach, or take a kayak nature tour through the mangroves on Lido Key. Our team invites you to relax and enjoy all that the Longboat Key area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Longboat Key Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.