We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5841 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a lovely property directly on the beautiful white beaches of Longboat Key. The grounds were perfectly manicured, pool was crystal, the staff was outstanding! Our room was very nicely decorated, there was a mini fridge, coffee pot, blender, toaster, microwave...very convenient. The only thing was that the bed was incredibly hard and squeaked so loudly with every small movement..I was afraid I would wake my husband if I fluffed my pillow! That being said, I would stay there again and again! We had friends in a suite there which had a balcony on the beach, living room & full size kitchen..it too was a beautiful room...they had no complaints at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We were disappointing to hear this guests complaint with the accommodations. Their constructive comments have been provided to the appropriate departments for consideration and a member of our Management Team has reached out to them personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were treated very well at the office at check-in. We had arrived in town a few hours early, and fortunately our room was indeed ready, so we were able to get our things out of the car. We hit a local spot for a nice lunch and then went for a walk on the beach. Nice and private beach area away from the crowds - excellent! Chairs are provided for the beach. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, had a fairly good sized kitchen area w/table, fridge and microwave, plus a stove/oven! We were only there for the weekend, so we didn't use the kitchen for much, but would have if we were there longer. Even though some coffee was supplied with the coffee maker, we stopped to pick up our favorite brand at the local grocery. And, one of my favorite amenities - wifi was available at no charge! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent a week. Nice pool, nice room. No ice machine. The room we rented had a very old basic TV. I know, "your at the beach" but one cannot stay out all day in the sun and at night it is nice to settle in and have some down time. For the price of the room, a flat screen would have been nice. The staff was great and hard working. this place was clean ! Beach close by. Might be priced a little high ,but I think that's Longboat key.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We've forwarded them to the appropriate party; and were happy to hear your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently held our large family vacation at Silver Sands. Approximately 30 of us attended. As always, we enjoyed our stay. This is the fifth year we have stayed at this location. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly, hard-working, and polite. We enjoyed the pool, the tropical gardens, and the beautiful beachfront location.

We will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My little brother booked this hotel for one night a few weeks ago. I was a little nervous about this place because it was my husband and I, and him and his girlfriend. We booked a room and got an email that the room was one king bed and two single beds. Kind of a bummer.

After arriving at the hotel around 12 we were told that check in was not until 4. Not a big deal plenty to do in Sarasota/ Lido Key. They also offered that we could use all the amenities of the hotel while we waited. We were told we would get a call when we could come back and get into our room. Got a call around 330, was told the office closed at 5 and needed to check in. A little nuisance seeing we were enjoying Happy Hour at Tommy Bahama- but not a big deal.

We were moved from the room we originally were emailed. Apparently you needed to check a box requesting not to switch rooms. We were moved to a lower floor condo, that was essentially a suite attached to a single room. It was great because there was a queen bed and a king bed, not great because the only way to get in the living room/ kitchen area from the queen room was the king room. The rooms appeared very clean. We had a garden view originally and was moved to an ocean/ pool view. Awesome.

The beach and pool area was amazing. Very private as opposed to Lido Key. Hotel provides chairs and lounges. Pool has a BBQ area.

Everything was essentially great- however right before bed we found the world's biggest dead cockroach. Yuck. I would typically complain about this but the office was closed, didnt want to call the night crew for "after hours issues."

We had to leave early before office opened. There was a note to remove all bedding before we leave and take out all trash. I really never stayed in a hotel where you cleaned up after yourself- which was a surprise for me.

Finally I'm into nature- but a huge black snake was sunning itself on the walkway as we were leaving. Also a little gross/ scary. This is certainly not the hotel's fault but that was really the last thing we saw leaving.

Overall the location was great- everything seemed clean and nice other then a few hangups. If you are looking for a decent place to stay on the beach, this would be a good bet, however I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We traveled - the four of us as a family + a friend - to Silver Sands and had a very good time there. Beaches are obviously gorgeous, and the place was nice. We thought that the service could hve been a bit better - they were pretty stressed out with everyone, but it eventfully did not harm the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Silver Sands is a nice resort located on the beach. The pool is nice and the beach, well, it's Longboat Key! The people aspect of the trip could have been better. After a sleepless first night due to getting in late and having a room close to the main road, I asked to be moved for my remaining two nights. It was clear to me that I was greatly troubling the office person with my request. She proceeded to let me know she had been out for two days and had dozens of emails to deal with.

I was always taught customers in front of you should get highest priority. As stated, she did not seem interested that I did not care for the room and wanted to be moved. She even went as far as telling the management company on the phone that, "He wants to be moved because of noise, yada, yada, yada." I was three feet way from her during this conversation. Other than that and the fact I had to pay an additional $25 insurance fee, I had a relaxing visit in the nicely decorated, comfortable room.

I am glad I did not expect much from the facility management, because I would have been truly disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 217 is VERY close to the main road down the Key = noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
RVA and our affiliated properties pride ourselves on our customer service and putting our customers and their needs first, so to hear that this guest was not satisfied with that portion of their stay was disappointing. A member of our Management Team has reached out to offer this guest the appropriate apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 5841 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your senses be your guide at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort on Longboat Key. From the moment you arrive at this Gulf front condominium complex, you will be in sensory overload. The aroma of tropical flora and warm salty air surround you on Longboat Key - this bouquet of scents will have you returning to this beautiful destination again and again. Are you in need of some relaxation? Why not take a walk along our private beach and take a dip in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We have the most beautiful sunsets to offer here on Florida's Southwest coast - we invite you to relax in a complimentary lounge chair at the beach as the sun sets in her many array of colors.Our on-site amenities are plentiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, putting green and shuffleboard courts, private beach access, BBQ area, and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units with an assortment of views to choose from including garden, pool/Gulf front and Gulf front views. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service. We invite you to book your Silver Sands vacation and create memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.