We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Castle Resort to your Saves list
Beach Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is a lovely resort. Our family has been going to Beach Castle for Thanksgiving for over twenty years. Every now and then we steal away in February as well. The resort is set on both the gulf and the bay. If it gets too windy on the beach, it is usually calm on the bay side where you can enjoy the pool and hot tub. Our extended family has rented a variety of units and they are all well designed, spacious, comfortable and clean. Beach Castle is conveniently located within walking distance to some really great restaurants and shopping. Seashell hunting, bird watching and dolphin sitings are regular events. Sunset is a nightly ritual. If you are looking for a vacation where the action is reading a book on a beautiful beach and the only decisions you have to make are whether to walk north or south as far as you possibly can, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We hadn't been to the Beach Castle for several years - not since they were converted to condos - so we were a little leary. But we weren't disappointed at all. We were in unit 11 on the bayside and it was very clean and comfortable -not luxruious but very homey. The grounds of the Beach Castle are still well-maintained.and location on Longboat Key just can't be great - the beach is fabulous and Beach Castle always has plenty of beach chairs out for guests. It's a great place for peace and relaxation and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

This is a series of privately-owned, low-rise condos on either side of the main road.

We were looking specifically for a beachfront condo and this looked ideal, although somewhat expensive. We were allocated number 8 which unfortunately is at the rear of the beachfront block which consists of 8 condos: this meant that we were on the north side and had no natural light coming in. This may be fine at other times of the year, but in January we needed the lights and heating on most of the time.

The condo was a good size, comfortable and clean. The pool was good, as was the spa pool, but they are on the bay side.

It's a good drive to St Armands and Sarasota, but we found the local restaurants and those further up at Bradenton Beach very good.

It is bang on a lovely beach, but if you want a 'proper' beachfront condo it's got to be no 1,2,3 or 4.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed for the first time and the one bedroom condo was clean but very moldy. So moldy we could only sleep with all the windows open. There was even mold growing on the curtain in the bathroom. The bed was ok, but a bit lumpy. Overall fair, apart from the mold. No view, but good location and grounds.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mold
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRI_LBK, Marketing Manager at Beach Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
This issue has been addressed and corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

I have read many reviews regarding the properties on Longboat Key. What amazes me are the lack of reviews around a gem of a place called the Beach Castle. These are one and two bedroom condos with views of the Gulf of Mexico, the bay or gardens. The grounds are well kept and the condos are very very clean. We have stayed at this facility no less than 12 times and continue to return because of the consistency - we have never had a bad experience here. There is a great pool and jacuzzi, a boat dock on the bay, lounge chairs on the beach, laundry facilities, bar-b-q grills, etc... Most of the condos have been recently renovated and those that have not are still above average. They have a web-site, beachcastle.net, which will allow you to review the condos and grounds.
The office has numerous books and movies, free of charge, to residents. The rates blow the outdated Colony and other Longboat rentals right out of the water. The average one bedroom rate is around $120, two bedroom/two bath w/garden view, around $150.. Gulffront two bedroom/two bath around $300.
This resort is quiet, clean, family-friendly and just north of the Hilton. I can't think of anything I'd change about it and I recommend it highly.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beach Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Castle Resort

Address: 5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the azure blue of the Southwest Florida skies, and the turquoise Gulf of Mexico waters sits Beach Castle Resort on Longboat Key. A true beach-to-bay community, Beach Castle rests on one of the narrowest points of this prestigious island allowing the community to extend from the Gulf side to the bay side – a quality few have the privilege to carry. With various locations to choose from, including Gulf front, bay front, pool and garden views – this charming resort caters to even the most discerning traveler. Equipped with spacious one-, two-, and three-bedroom options, this 21-unit condominium resort offers a laid-back appeal. Beach Castle Resort is a classic choice with amenities that cater to an array of travelers providing the perfect vacation experience. Holding a reputation on the island as one of the top accommodation options, Beach Castle Resort exudes charm and perfection that wins the hearts of all who stay here. Many of our guests return year-after-year. Economically priced, combined with exceptional furnishings and unique amenities including private beach access and a bay front fishing or boating dock, Beach Castle offers vacationers a glimpse into reminiscent days of Old Florida charm and private getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Castle Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.