We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Castle Resort to your Saves list
Beach Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had unit #22 over the Memorial Day weekend and had an excellent stay. The split floor plan with the bedrooms on opposite sides was nice and this unit must have been redone in the past year or so.

The feel of the unit was light and tropical. There is a slight view of the bay from the screened porch. This unit was across the street from the beach, but even with it being a holiday weekend, crossing the street with young children was not a problem.

For the money, this was an excellent choice.

Word of warning to anyone staying on Longboat in 2012 - the Publix grocery store has been torn down and they are building a new one that is scheduled to open in 2013. The CVS has a few more groceries than a normal one to help with this, but you will still need to shop off island for most of your food needs.

Room Tip: talk to the reservation person about what you expect in a room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is an exceptionally clean and peaceful resort in a beautiful location. We stayed in unit 24 and found it very comfortable. The only thing they need to work on is the pool and they are apparently going to address it it the near future. Other than that, no complaints and we would go back there in a heartbeat. It is about a half a block from the Lazy Lobster (excellent) and the Blue Dolphin (very good) restaurants. If your looking for crazy nightlight, forget it, but if your looking to de-stress and enjoy a beautiful beach and serene surroundings, then this is the place for you.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at Beach Castle Resort (unit 15) this past December. We were intown for a friends wedding for afew nights and wanted a nice, clean resort that was close to the beach. Beach Castle Resort offers all three of these! The private white sand beach is steps away. Beach chairs and beach towels are available for resort guests to use at no additional cost. Most units are updated and have a modern flare to them. Unit 15 is more on the basic side in decor. We however did not mind this. One recommendation I have for anyone looking to book in the Longboat Key area is to rent a car. It is much easier to get around by car then by bus or trolley.

I have to say that the staff at Beach Castle specifically Shannon and Linda go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Both ladies helped booking our shuttle service to the airport by calling all the shuttle service companies they knew. They were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, resturants, St. Armands Cirlce, bus/trolley system etc. Excellent costumer service!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Beach Castle #15 for 4 nights during a soccer tournament. What a lovely place! Quiet and serene. The units are basic but clean and well stocked. You have the beach on one side and the bay on the other. The pool is very nice as well. We met a couple owners and they were just delightful. Shannon, who oversees the property, is very helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Beach Castle Resort offers a carribean vacation without taking the international flight! The condos are updated, spacious and nicely furnished. The water was a blue/green, just like the carribean! The beaches were not crowded at all during our stay because the summer is their "off season". My 2 boys (age 4 & 7) had a blast playing in the ocean, the beach and the pool. My husband and I enjoyed the beach & pool as well, but I have to say the sunsets were my very favorite - they were breathtaking! The restaurants in the area were wonderful! We also had fun cooking out on the grills that are provided at Beach Castle Resort. The staff was so helpful in every aspect of our planning our trip and while we were there! I would highly recommend the Beach Castle Resort in Longboat Key, FL!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in Unit 22 and it was clean, comfortable and well-decorated with nice tile all over. The room colors aren't nearly as garish as they appear on the website and are actually much subtler and classy in person. Beach Castle was overall pretty nice with just a few inconveniences. The laundry area was in the next building so there was a little walk to clean your clothes. I'm used to a washer/dryer in unit, so for this reason alone will likely not rent here again. I thought it wouldn't be that big a deal but our family uses a lot of clothes, so I had to make that trek several times during our stay. We called the hot tub a cool tub, since it was always cooler than the pool. On our last day, it was fixed though so it became a non-issue later but still inconvenient during most of our stay. The clock radios were extremely cheap and the master's had only one volume with difficulty finding radio stations. The pool was not cool during the day, but slightly warm. Not what you want when it's burning up outside. The parking was pretty tight and on a gravel driveway. Given that we have a big truck, it was even more difficult for us. You can't have extended family since there's only room for one car in the parking lot when the resort is full. I can't say enough about Longboat Key and the beach here. We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and though more crowded than on other days, still not overly crowded compared to Panama City Beach standards. If only there were a washer/dryer in the unit, I would stay here again. All in all, a nice place with just a few inconveniences. On the upside, they had comfortable beds and nice amenities such as beach umbrellas, beach toys, beach cooler and 6 beach towels in the unit. Nice touches indeed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Clean, nice-sized rooms, responsive office. Not luxurious but, for the price, very good accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beach Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Castle Resort

Address: 5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the azure blue of the Southwest Florida skies, and the turquoise Gulf of Mexico waters sits Beach Castle Resort on Longboat Key. A true beach-to-bay community, Beach Castle rests on one of the narrowest points of this prestigious island allowing the community to extend from the Gulf side to the bay side – a quality few have the privilege to carry. With various locations to choose from, including Gulf front, bay front, pool and garden views – this charming resort caters to even the most discerning traveler. Equipped with spacious one-, two-, and three-bedroom options, this 21-unit condominium resort offers a laid-back appeal. Beach Castle Resort is a classic choice with amenities that cater to an array of travelers providing the perfect vacation experience. Holding a reputation on the island as one of the top accommodation options, Beach Castle Resort exudes charm and perfection that wins the hearts of all who stay here. Many of our guests return year-after-year. Economically priced, combined with exceptional furnishings and unique amenities including private beach access and a bay front fishing or boating dock, Beach Castle offers vacationers a glimpse into reminiscent days of Old Florida charm and private getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Beach Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Castle Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.