We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Laid Back Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rolling Waves Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolling Waves Cottages
Save Saved
You added Rolling Waves Cottages to your Saves list
6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect, Laid Back Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We wanted to have a laid back beach wedding and this was the place for it! The owner helped us with any questions we had. We had to rent all of the cottages out for 4 days, which was great because all of our friends stayed there with us. It was the best, most beautiful beach wedding/party ever. I wouldn't attempt this unless you are very laid back about your wedding plans. It's too hard to coordinate every last detail when you have this much involvement by Mother Nature! There is also an ordinance to protect the sea turtles in which you can't have lights visible from the beach at certain times of the year. Check into that first. Also, this is not a place for a loud or late night reception. Longboat Key is a very peaceful, quiet community.

We have also stayed at the cottages just for a short getaway. They are great, very well appointed, and have kitchens and grills for easy cooking. The beach is absolutely gorgeous! This is the place to go with your family or significant other to relax, have a glass of wine, eat dinner, and enjoy each other's company. There is not much to do on Longboat Key so the beach and cottage atmosphere is the main attraction. To the south, there is St. Armand's Cirlce with lots of little shops. My favorite, Mote Aquarium, is also to the south. It is a great place to check out sea creatures and the organization contributes so much to conservation and animal rescue. It is definitely worth your support. Other than that, we found a few restaraunts (Sandbar) and dive bars (Drift Inn) to the north but we enjoyed hanging out at the cottages the most.

The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is the price. We would visit much more often if it were a little more affordable.

Tip: Depending on the time of year that you visit, bring lots of bug repellent and sunscreeen. And as always, please be kind to nature.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Simply the best possible way to spend a vacation. My first time there won't be the last!!! :p

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago 'burbs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a cottage on the beach. Since I had vacationed on Longboat Keys 45 years ago, we booked a cottage at Rolling Waves. If you are looking for a place to unwind, this is the place. Simple, clean and comfortable. We stay in cottage #7. From our cottage we had to walk 60 yards to be on the beach. Great place for families or couples who need to get away, are self-sufficient but, do not need the fuss of a resort or condo. Very laid-back. Kim, the manager, was lovely. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Mattress a little hard.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

This is our second time staying at Rolling Waves--and our second review. Rolling Waves is for a particular type of person who loves the privacy of a cottage on the beach as opposed to a condo. It is very simple and old fashioned. There are new owners since we last were there and they have done a lot of upkeep--our cottage had a new door, new kitchen cabinets, new ceiling fans, new TV etc. The Caretaker, a charmingly friendly and scattered lady is still there. We loved our cottage again and appreciate being on this quiet and beautiful beach. As we were packing to go, a couple drove up to see if there were any vacancies so we let them llook at our cottage --though we knew it was rented. They loved it. Right after they left ,another lady came up and asked about the place. She loved it too. If we had been owners, we could have rented it twice! Only for those who appreciate " Old Florida"--but if you do--it's perfect!

  • Liked — It's a much less crowded beach than many in Florida
Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyrusc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

I have been going to Rolling waves from 26 years
and have only had great times, as far as the new
owners they have never been anything but nice.

Cheers, Cyrus

  • Liked — Beach,Fishing,sunsets
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Our prospective stay Rolling Waves Cottages in mid-April nearly turned into a catastrophe. Twice before we arrived, I called to confirm our reservation and which cabin we were going to be in. Repeatedly, I was told cabin #6, which is the second closest to the Gulf. This was going to be fine with us, as what we wanted during our trip was a nice, quiet atmosphere with a short walk to the beach.

However, when we arrived the morning of our check-in, we were told that we were going to have to have cabin #2, because the people in #6 “decided to stay an extra night”. The owners were very rude and told us this was our problem, not theirs. Cabin #2 was definitely not ok with us as it is located right on Gulf Drive, and therefore subject to traffic noise….which is just what we wanted to get out of town to avoid! Classic bait-and switch situation.

To make things worse, after we suggested to the woman that the people in #6 should be the ones to move to cabin 2, she started huffing and puffing and rolling her eyes at us. When we rebuffed that sort of behavior to us as CUSTOMERS! she wagged her finger in our face and screamed that we “have to take #2, it’s not your decision anymore!!” Hmm, my bad, I thought the customer was always right and is supposed to be treated with respect. Apparently not here.

Anyway, I eventually convinced her slightly more reasonable husband to refund our deposit. We went on to find an amazing place nearby to stay for our 3 days in Florida and had a wonderful time! Ironically, we ended up paying $50 less per night and were directly on the beach! Paid less, better view, and NICE management. It doesn’t get any better.

Just make sure you avoid Rolling Waves!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RollingWavesGroup, Owner Group at Rolling Waves Cottages, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Since this review was written the ownership and management of Rolling Waves has changed. The concerns and criticisms outlined in the review have been addressed and rectified. Many improvements have been made to the site and cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rolling Waves Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Cottages

Address: 6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Waves is a quaint Longboat Key getaway, where cozy cottages give way to the white sands of one of Florida's most picturesque private beaches. Each cottage has a full kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, AC unit, and outdoor seating area with BBQ. The beach and ocean are only steps away from your front door. We also have a large beachside fire pit, lounge chairs and laundry. Enjoy your next vacation in your own private cottage at the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolling Waves Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.