We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, old Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rolling Waves Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rolling Waves Cottages to your Saves list
Rolling Waves Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy, old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to rolling waves for my birthday. We stayed overnight in cottage number 6. It was built in the 1940's- and there are only 5 or 6 cottages on this property. It is quaint, quiet, a great location. The beach was spectacular. The cottage was clean and had everything we could need-- including beach chairs and umbrella. The staff (jen) was super friendly and made our stay even better. Try the lazy lobster down the street, the food was so good. Also, check out St Armand for shopping. We had such a romantic and resful trip. Thank you rolling waves, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here! It has a quaint feel of a bungalow seaside retreat. I love that you can park right beside your cottage, no lugging bags up stairs! Laundry facility and chairs available very convenient! Love that the ocean is close to the cottages too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a week vacation at Rolling Waves Cottage and we could not have been happier. We stayed in cottage #8 beach front. Our cottage was clean,bright and airy with a great view. We enjoyed the fully equipped kitchenette and the outdoor grill. The beach was very clean and at times we felt like it was our own private beach!

Shelley the Inn keeper was very nice and friendly and we felt very welcomed. When we arrived she let us select the ocean front cottage we wanted by showing us both even though I had booked #7 for weeks prior. She was very accommodating.

We highly recommend this wonderful place and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Cottage 7 and 8 are beach front..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to longboat key for at least 5 yrs for our anniversary and have always seen the Rolling Waves cottages and finally decided to try staying for our 16th anniversary. Since I'm self employed we always stay in very economical places miles from the beach and spend most of our time away from the hotel and on the beach. This anniversary I wanted to stay on the beach. I was not disappointed!! The first thing that started our wonderful experience was Shelley the office manager. She welcomed us with a friendly smile and showed us to our cottage. The first thing I noticed was how clean the cottage was. My experience with clean rooms is usually the opposite. I always have to take a few minutes wherever we stay and clean the room myself. Not here-I felt very comfortable right away.
Normally I want to leave the room as soon as possible but not this time. I wanted to spend time in the cottage as much as I wanted to be on the beach. When Shelley found out it was our anniversary she gave my husband & I a bottle of champagne-above and beyond what I expected! This is now our anniversary place to stay!!
Our many thanks to Shelley again for everything!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a treasure! This cluster of beachfront cottages exudes Old Florida and Charm. The cottages are adorable, have everything you would need, and feel spacious even for a group.
From my first conversation with Shelley on the phone, to her warm welcome upon our arrival, to sitting and chatting with her at the firepit, she really made this girls' getaway perfect for our group. We will be back.

Room Tip: We'll probably rent cottages number one (2br) and three (1br) which are side-by-side to accomoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were in Bradenton Beach in a Hotel we didn't like and were therefore phisically looking for something else nearby. Shelley welcomed us in a most friendly way, even late at night. So we moved to her place the next day and it was definitely worth it!! A wonderful spot, nice cottages, friendly people, calm area, close to the ocean, sandy beach - a dream :-)
It's not cheap, but off season you might get a discount.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I found this gem last year when looking for a self catering cottage on the beach near Sarasota.
I had no idea I would fall in love with these quaint, perfectly located beach cottages! We just returned from our second year at Rolling Waves- we were there the first week of April; this time we brought our best friends with us... and got married!

Location: these cottages are steps from the beach! We have private access to our area and there are few people on the beach than the fellow cottagers and those from other houses/cottages along the beach as well. Really a gorgeous, clean, noncrowded, perfect almost private beach! This is not a party area, more of a cookout/entertain/ bonfire/ beach sunset/cocktails with friends location. There are some awesome restaurants nearby, some you can ride a bicycle too.

People: our second year and we have met fantastic people each time! Some couples looking for romantic and quiet, some families looking for laid back and relaxed. The families with kids have been fantastic too! It seems to draw cool/laid back fams with great kids (I say this as a childless couple)! Shelly (manager/caretaker) lives in one of the cottages and is superb! She is there whenever you need her and always solving ANY problem you may have! (Thanks for the sewing kit, Shelly!)

To Do: we rent bicycles a mile down the road, there is a convenience store same area. Restaurants all along the island (ask Shelly for recommendations). Walk the beach for great shells and water watching! Dolphins make their rounds usually twice daily. People fish from shore or a mini water wall down the beach a little ways. Great bike and running/walking paths. Kyaking tours locally, sunset excursions. Shoppping further down island, some bars towards Bradenton Beach (although we always hung at the cottage or the firepit at night with fellow cottagers!)

Weather: we went last week of March last year and first week of April this year: perfect! Water is cool, but swimmable once you get used to it- swim to just past the first sand bar and snorkel for sand dollars in abundance! Warm days and slightly cool nights, no need for air conditioning! (although the cotages have window units!)

Amenities: these are self catering cottages, so have really beach/cottage appropriiate linens. Kitchens are outfitted with all supplies- we have a gourmet group and drove down to bring special knives/blenders/processors etc. but not necessary for normal cooking. If you ever need extra "anything" look in the laundry "hut" between cottages 1-3 (I think). TP/paper towels/soap/dishsoap etc all provided! New addition: awesom Krups coffee makers!

And, if you have any issue- talk to Shelly- she will fix immediately! We had some ants one morning, and before we were up and on our way for the day, she had an exterminator there.

Great experience, wonderful time. This has been booked as an annual event with friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.3 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waves Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Cottages

Address: 6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolling Waves Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Waves is a quaint Longboat Key getaway, where cozy cottages give way to the white sands of one of Florida's most picturesque private beaches. Each cottage has a full kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, AC unit, and outdoor seating area with BBQ. The beach and ocean are only steps away from your front door. We also have a large beachside fire pit, lounge chairs and laundry. Enjoy your next vacation in your own private cottage at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rolling Waves Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolling Waves Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.