We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rolling Waves Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rolling Waves Cottages to your Saves list
Rolling Waves Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I don't write reviews. But...

I wound up at Rolling Waves because "I needed to get away!"

And what an awesome getaway it was. Brought back memories of great cottage life in Canada. Firepit conversation with other guests, beach right there and no one on it, watching storms in the distance and best of all, peaceful. Time to reflect and enjoy nature's splendor. Close to activity if I chose but, ultimately, I stayed right were I was, at Rolling Waves with my very old puppy.

The cottages are historical, clean and well equipped, very quaint. Apparently, Mr. Ringling was deceased before the cottages were built so I found out that story was incorrect. However, from the grandson's mouth, there was a "mistress" story but will not go into that now ... It's a great firepit conversation.

If you don't want the crowded beaches and rowdy venues, then this is definitely the place to stay. Clean, on the Gulf, empty beach, beautiful sunsets every night, dolphins visible, lovely walks along the water, great cycling, short trip to dancing and good food, Who could ask for anything more?

New on-site manager very helpful and seemed truly interested in my opinions on improvement. Was constantly "on the job".

Will definitely return. I come from a large family and this would be a great place for a reunion. or, if "HE" ever asks, a great place for an intimate wedding... In my dreams!

Love it and have highly recommend Rolling Waves to my family and friends, all of which are addiicted travellers. A "bucket list" spot... purely my opinion. I'll be back...

Room Tip: Two cottages face the sunset, which is probably nice but I was always on the beach for that.. Staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

How to transport yourself back to Old Florida? Stay at any of these cottages!! Built in 1948, the property retains much of the charm of a by-gone era in Florida. We stayed at cabin #3 this past weekend and absolutely loved it. The cabins are rustic and comfortable. They are not fancy, but beach cottages should not be, right? The decor is simple, but you'll find everything you need while away from home. The property is very quiet, and very secluded... the beach, equally so. The property manager, Debby, is very friendly... Oh, and if you're looking for amazing shopping, St. Armand's Circle in Lido Beach is only a 15-minute drive away from this quiet side of Longboat... We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My son and daughter n law and myself stayed over mothers day weekend. We each had a cottage facing each other and right on beach. Cottage 7 and 8. They are lovely and quaint. The kids brought their dogs, which was great. Beds supurb and ac works great. No manager on site, but just a phone call away. She is fantastic. Beach is so pretty. Nice little getaway. We brought groceries and ate breakfast and lunch there every day. Drank wine before we went out for dinner. No restaurants within walking distance. But only a few minutes to drive. We like the anna maria area. Lots to choose from. Beach house, sand bar, just google top ten places you won't be disappointed. We will go back again. The only gripe would be its a bit over priced for what you get. There are a few other cottage type places that are a bit newer and alittle cheaper in the area. But never the less it fit our bill with my sons dogs. Again, the manager is extremely accommodating. So its worth a few extra bucks. Afterall, it is a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Rolling Waves is a great location on Longboat Key. Cottages are within walking distance of a beautiful and fairly secluded beach. If you're looking for luxury, Rolling Waves isn't for you. The cottages are quaint with old wooden floors. The couch was really uncomfortable. We were interested in seclusion, so it fit the bill perfectly. My husband loves to fish, and caught a flounder right off the beach. We enjoyed playing cards and backgammon in the evenings on our outdoor table. Kimberly, the manager is very personable and helpful. The WiFi went down, but she had it up and running the next day. The full kitchen allows you to cook some fresh seafood that you can purchase at a great seafood market not too far away called the Star Fish Seafood Company in Cortez. They also serve a great grouper sandwich on the restaurant side. Be prepared to wait in line for awhile, it's that popular.

Room Tip: Cottage #8 (from the outside) looks to be the best bet. It's closest to the beach and has a sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Location is beautiful and the beach is immaculate. However, the cottage inside when we arrived was dirty and the towels were worn down with holes and bleach stains. The rollout bed we felt uncomfortable having our child sleep their. We left the next day . When I check under the bed, saw a mound of dust. I should have known when the grout in the bathroom shower was black. Best skip this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I had to take off for the weekend, since our house was being fumigated, so we took a drive down the beach (we live in Tampa, FL) and happen upon the adorable cottages. It was a Sunday and while the office was close, once we called the number, the owner was happy to direct us to one of the open cabin for viewing... we fell in love with the rustic, old florida beach cottage charm. And the privacy - there are only 7 cottages, of the whole place.

We booked it 2 days later. The owner was accommodating of our situation, we have two dogs and they accepted them with no issues, specially since one of the is a bull-mastiff and over 160 pounds! She was open to our very early checking on Friday and very late check out on Sunday night. The cottage was clean, has FREE high speed wireless internet, cable TV and the kitchen had all the necessary stuff you will need to cook simple meals. Each cottage has an outdoor grill, which we used plenty during our short stay.

The beach is RIGHT there, as in walking distance, which was super convenient, and very private, unlike crowded beaches, there was only an handfull of people during our 3 beach days, on Friday we had it all to ourselves!

It was a perfect stay! We are planning on coming back again and again.

Room Tip: Simply ask they are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

. Rolling waves cottages were built in the 40s . One of the cottages was built for John Ringling's ( the circus guy) mistress. Since they are from the 40s, they are simple but clean--if you are there you see the cleaning crew every morning. The manager is a lovely woman who is there every day and available by phone all the time . If anything is needed she will fix it immediately. She even wanted to invite us to her home for a cook out on an evening when we could not make it.
The last time we were there we did not have wifi--now there is. They did have a bit of trouble with it one morning but had someone out to fix it that day. The manager said she is planning to change to a more reliable provider but I did not have problems except for about an hour in the two weeks we were there.
If you have a dog ( we don't) you may bring him , but Longboat key does not allow animals on the beach. The manager has posted a list of all dog friendly beaches .
The beach is long and white and mostly populated with seagulls and the little peeps that fish the surf. This end of Longboat has fewer people though if you take an hours walk down the beach you will find more. But we never were bothered by the crowds that you see at other beaches.
The sunsets are grand,, the place is peaceful, the heron still visits and begs for lunchmeat and this is one of out favorite places on earth

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.3 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
3.1 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waves Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Cottages

Address: 6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolling Waves Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Waves is a quaint Longboat Key getaway, where cozy cottages give way to the white sands of one of Florida's most picturesque private beaches. Each cottage has a full kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, AC unit, and outdoor seating area with BBQ. The beach and ocean are only steps away from your front door. We also have a large beachside fire pit, lounge chairs and laundry. Enjoy your next vacation in your own private cottage at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rolling Waves Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolling Waves Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.