We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful. Great place to relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rolling Waves Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolling Waves Cottages
Save
You added Rolling Waves Cottages to your Saves list
6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wolcott, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very peaceful. Great place to relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My son and daughter n law and myself stayed over mothers day weekend. We each had a cottage facing each other and right on beach. Cottage 7 and 8. They are lovely and quaint. The kids brought their dogs, which was great. Beds supurb and ac works great. No manager on site, but just a phone call away. She is fantastic. Beach is so pretty. Nice little getaway. We brought groceries and ate breakfast and lunch there every day. Drank wine before we went out for dinner. No restaurants within walking distance. But only a few minutes to drive. We like the anna maria area. Lots to choose from. Beach house, sand bar, just google top ten places you won't be disappointed. We will go back again. The only gripe would be its a bit over priced for what you get. There are a few other cottage type places that are a bit newer and alittle cheaper in the area. But never the less it fit our bill with my sons dogs. Again, the manager is extremely accommodating. So its worth a few extra bucks. Afterall, it is a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Rolling Waves is a great location on Longboat Key. Cottages are within walking distance of a beautiful and fairly secluded beach. If you're looking for luxury, Rolling Waves isn't for you. The cottages are quaint with old wooden floors. The couch was really uncomfortable. We were interested in seclusion, so it fit the bill perfectly. My husband loves to fish, and caught a flounder right off the beach. We enjoyed playing cards and backgammon in the evenings on our outdoor table. Kimberly, the manager is very personable and helpful. The WiFi went down, but she had it up and running the next day. The full kitchen allows you to cook some fresh seafood that you can purchase at a great seafood market not too far away called the Star Fish Seafood Company in Cortez. They also serve a great grouper sandwich on the restaurant side. Be prepared to wait in line for awhile, it's that popular.

Room Tip: Cottage #8 (from the outside) looks to be the best bet. It's closest to the beach and has a sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Location is beautiful and the beach is immaculate. However, the cottage inside when we arrived was dirty and the towels were worn down with holes and bleach stains. The rollout bed we felt uncomfortable having our child sleep their. We left the next day . When I check under the bed, saw a mound of dust. I should have known when the grout in the bathroom shower was black. Best skip this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I had to take off for the weekend, since our house was being fumigated, so we took a drive down the beach (we live in Tampa, FL) and happen upon the adorable cottages. It was a Sunday and while the office was close, once we called the number, the owner was happy to direct us to one of the open cabin for viewing... we fell in love with the rustic, old florida beach cottage charm. And the privacy - there are only 7 cottages, of the whole place.

We booked it 2 days later. The owner was accommodating of our situation, we have two dogs and they accepted them with no issues, specially since one of the is a bull-mastiff and over 160 pounds! She was open to our very early checking on Friday and very late check out on Sunday night. The cottage was clean, has FREE high speed wireless internet, cable TV and the kitchen had all the necessary stuff you will need to cook simple meals. Each cottage has an outdoor grill, which we used plenty during our short stay.

The beach is RIGHT there, as in walking distance, which was super convenient, and very private, unlike crowded beaches, there was only an handfull of people during our 3 beach days, on Friday we had it all to ourselves!

It was a perfect stay! We are planning on coming back again and again.

Room Tip: Simply ask they are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

. Rolling waves cottages were built in the 40s . One of the cottages was built for John Ringling's ( the circus guy) mistress. Since they are from the 40s, they are simple but clean--if you are there you see the cleaning crew every morning. The manager is a lovely woman who is there every day and available by phone all the time . If anything is needed she will fix it immediately. She even wanted to invite us to her home for a cook out on an evening when we could not make it.
The last time we were there we did not have wifi--now there is. They did have a bit of trouble with it one morning but had someone out to fix it that day. The manager said she is planning to change to a more reliable provider but I did not have problems except for about an hour in the two weeks we were there.
If you have a dog ( we don't) you may bring him , but Longboat key does not allow animals on the beach. The manager has posted a list of all dog friendly beaches .
The beach is long and white and mostly populated with seagulls and the little peeps that fish the surf. This end of Longboat has fewer people though if you take an hours walk down the beach you will find more. But we never were bothered by the crowds that you see at other beaches.
The sunsets are grand,, the place is peaceful, the heron still visits and begs for lunchmeat and this is one of out favorite places on earth

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I usually don't write reviews but my fiance and I had such a wonderful time that I couldn't resist. If you are looking for a quiet place to get away from it all and relax....this is it! We live in Orlando and wanted to get away for the weekend. A friend had recommended the cottages and we decided to give them a try. When we arrived, we immediately noticed how quiet it was. Our cottage had a deck area with a table where we could sit outside to enjoy our meals or a drink or two. We even had our own grill and the kitchen was stocked with all kinds of utensils. They even have a pit where you can light a fire. The best part for us is that they are pet friendly. It is rare to find a place so accommodating to people with furbabies. :) We are definitely coming back......maybe even for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown, ny
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

This is the first lodging review I have ever written, but I felt compelled to do so because of our experience. We rented a cottage here because of its beach location and quaint old-style Florida cottage appearance. While the location and beach were great and the caretakers pleasant, the cottage was very poorly maintained inside. Upon opening the door for the first time the smell was that of old mold and mildew. .The decor, linens, furniture and utensils were old and definitely from a thrift shop. The walls, stove, and window frames were dirty. Paint was peeling from the living room ceiling. The can opener didn't work, and the stove didn't light without matches. There were minimal cooking utensils. There was black mold around the cracked tile of the shower stall and black mold around the refrigerator seal. The wi-fi did not work. The outdoor furniture was rusting. I would definitely not rent here again nor would would I recommend these cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RollingWavesGroup, Owner Group at Rolling Waves Cottages, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
All the amenities at Rolling Waves are checked and replaced regularly. While the cottages are not new (they were built in 1948), they are thoroughly cleaned after each departure and maintained on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rolling Waves Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Cottages

Address: 6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Waves is a quaint Longboat Key getaway, where cozy cottages give way to the white sands of one of Florida's most picturesque private beaches. Each cottage has a full kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, AC unit, and outdoor seating area with BBQ. The beach and ocean are only steps away from your front door. We also have a large beachside fire pit, lounge chairs and laundry. Enjoy your next vacation in your own private cottage at the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolling Waves Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.