We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the beautiful sunsets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Save
You added Casa del Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list
4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love the beautiful sunsets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We checked out today from a week visit (unit 2D). We got the two for one special during the month of August since we live in Florida. It was a great place for the 5 kids we had between 2 families (aged 6 years down to 6 months).
The positives: beautiful location, short walk through tropical flower walkway on the grounds to the beach and pool. We got a first floor unit off the beachfront due to having small kids with us. We loved the clean pool and lovely setting. There were brand new gas grills to cook our own dinners from grocery store Publix (a short drive). We took the kids to Mote Marine, Sarasota Bayfront Park and St Armand's Circle, all short drives south.
The negatives: our unit was in need of minor maintenance repairs (broken toaster, toilet seats in need of repair, squeaking door hinges (normally I wouldn't complain, but it woke the baby up constantly). Upon checkout I did complete a survey and listed them. The on site manager was glad we listed so they could make the minor repairs.
My son rented unit 6F and his unit was in better condition. Each unit is different (furnishings, appliance quality, etc).
The room layouts were the same, two bedroom,two bathroom, large living area. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because of the small issues with room maintenance.

All in all, I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends! Longboat Key is so beautiful!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    27
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
82
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Casa del mar was a perfect get-away. The accomodations were roomy, immaculate, and convenient. Long boat key is quiet but has so much to offer within a 10 minute drive. I would highly recommend this spot especially for families.

Room Tip: We stayed in B19 which was lovely. If you want an ocean view it is a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our first stay at Casa Del Mar and first visit to Longboat Key. The unit we chose online after reviewing all of the available units was A13. The unit was updated and very clean and was equiped with everything imaginable. One minor item we noticed is that there was a small amount of mold on the ceiling in the bathroom in the master bedroom. Everything else was perfect. Loved the location and the direct gulf view. Sunsets were amazing. Nothing beat waking up in the morning and making coffee looking out over the Gulf...the best view. The white sand beach was wonderful. The only complaint we had was the construction going on in the unit below us. It was constant banging and noise during the last two days of our stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Gulf front rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This our second stay and we hope to return this next year again, great staff, clean condos, beautiful grounds, and the Gulf await you, a very peaceful place to be, no typical tourist stuff, if you want to go do something there is plenty to experience. Back at causa del Mar you get quite, the Gulf a pool, white sand beach, birds, dolphins, and amazing sun sets.
A home by the sea.

Room Tip: Anything facing the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

One would think if injuries were received from a glass shower door that shattered on someone as they were in the shower causing lacerations to a guest during their stay in a rented condo, that a courtesy phone call would have been placed by management to follow up. Well I can tell you....a phone call has not been received. This event dampered a lovely week. I am just thankful that my 11 year old niece, 13 year old son or my mother were not in the shower at the time. So, I leave my vacation with a bunch of nicks and scrapes and two lacerations to know fault of my own. How could this have happened? I have purposefully not commented on my experience as I wanted to see if a call would be placed. I was asked to complete an incident report and told to have a nice day on the day of departure. Really....not an I'm sorry that this happened to you. Please know that in some cases an apology goes a long way. I am curious if they have made mention of this incident to the owner of the unit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Casa in June. Before we moved to FL from the north 8 yrs ago we vacationed at Casa every March for 20+ yrs. we didn't realize how much we had missed it until we returned for our second honeymoon! Casa has been very well maintained. Lots of new pavers replacing sidewalks. Lots of chairs ( free) down at the beach and you can rent an umbrella which you will find in place each day when you go to the beach. The grounds are beautiful and very tropical feeling. This is a very safe area. The pool is outstanding and clean. It is quiet and relaxing. If you need anything the staff will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. We had a golf front unit and it was as represented in the pictures. We plan to go back again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booneville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Best resort I ever stayed at. We stayed in condo C-14 and everything was clean and neat, the staff were great, friendly and courteous, family oriented, great ocean view, and you feel safe with their security. I would definitely rate this resort a FIVE STAR.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience at our resort and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Address: 4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.