We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In defense” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list
4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
End of Summer Special!
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“In defense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have just taken the time to read some of the bad reviews for Casa Del Mar. We have been coming to the resort for 6 years introduced to us by a couple who have been coming for 30+years. I have written two reviews before. This is a rebuttal to the negative ones. The complex is serene and well maintained. The pool is beautiful and spotless. The staff beyond accommodating and they are not all over 60. The bugs are not roaches. They are palmettos. Not a big difference I agree but yes this is a sub tropical area and there are bugs. A part of life. The units are individually owned so a lot depends on the owners. I agree that the management should lean heavily on owners to maintain each unit to its best advantage since the fees are equal to each other but....there should be some control over condition.
I for one wish that the carpeting throughout our unit would be replaced but I insist that it at least be shampooed before we arrive. Children do seem to be in abundance. I for one would like them to be SILENT but reality check here they are childten. If you want the high life go somewhere that can rock and roll. If you want to relax and enjoy the ocean and some beautiful surroundings this is it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for kind words and support. We look forward to having you stay with us year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    28
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been going to Casa del Mar since I was 7 years old. Every time I go back, the memories come flooding back. Great times when I was a kid. Even better times now, with my own family.
We just returned from a week stay. The room was great, as well as the staff.
Everything was perfect. Excellent area for restaurants and shopping. A fantastic place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are looking forward to when you return to your home by the sea. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

When I close my eyes, my spirit goes to Casa Del Mar, my home by the sea. It is beautiful and pristine. It is everything that a beach paradise should be. The staff is the best and the rooms are fantastic. When I leave, I start counting the seconds until I can return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been staying here for several years. We love Long Boat Key and have stayed at a few places on the island. But once we found this resort we stopped looking for other places to stay. We love it here. We are always sad to leave, but we know we will be back. It really is our home by the sea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We enjoy having you as our guest every year and we are sad to see you go when you leave! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Resort was quiet, grounds are well-kept and you can't beat the view. This is our first time to Longboat Key and first to Casa del Mar, and we will definitely be returning. Casa del Mar is one of the few resorts that sits closest to the beach, is in the middle of the island, and a great deal for the money.

Room Tip: I would recommend 3E or 4E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoy being your "best family vacation spot" and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed her in December 2013 over the holidays. It was a wonderful place for our one year old daughter. The beach was steps from condo. Our unit was clean and just the right size for us (D3 I believe). I would recommend this resort to families looking for a great get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are glad that you and your family enjoy staying with us year after year. Our resort is a great place to create lifetime family memories, Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Friends invited us to join them in what they called paradise. They were SO right! The location had a real homey and residential feel, loads of great restaurants and shopping close by, the condo was clean and well maintained and the beach...ahhhhh the beach. Miles of sand and crystal clear water. The staff were just great too, so friendly!! The only drawback was having to leave!! Thanks Casa del Mar for an absolutely fabulous vacation! We'll be back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed being "Your Home away from Home" in Paradise! We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Address: 4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.