We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De La Creme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Save
You added Casa del Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list
4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“De La Creme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

There is nothing more important like a nice clean lit up functioning inviting marquis. You know it carries over to the folks who stand behind it and live that mentality to the fullest in caring for you in making your stay an unforgetible experience. If you see the powerful smile of DM Williams it self, which effects the whole staff, you are happy and already forgot the problems of the world. The exotic smell of plants that are cared for with pride hits you thru the slight breeze and captures your eyes as if snorkling in the most amazing reefes. The appartements are spotless and each have their own touch everytime we have visited. The peacefullnes yet the options of activities are a phenomenal asset. Tennis, swimming pool or beach golfing, biking jogging, shopping....
i could really go on and on but only have one last thing left to say: where does it ever happen that on the day when you have to leave, the Manager greets you outside the office to thank you personaly, wish you a safe journey and welcomes you back to his house...thats hospitality,
to achive the impossible, please everybody
no need say more Thank you DM

Room Tip: a room with pool and oceanfront for the amazing sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    27
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
82
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Casa Del Mar staff is very professional and eager to please. The grounds were very well taken of. Our unit was just a little well loved and used, but very comfortable. The only thing it didn't have that we needed was a hairdryer. We slept in the twin bedroom and they could invest in a couple of new matresses, but for a week we were fine. You can rent a beach umbrella for $10 a day and well worth it. They set them up for you everyday and you don't have to fuss with them. There were plenty of lounge chairs to go around. They have a grilling station with plenty of gas grills. They have an attendant to keep them sprayed and cleaned. He even passed out foil when you were ready to pull your meat off the grill. I would highly recommend Casa Del Mar.

Room Tip: We stayed in E14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It was my 3rd annual stay in Casa del mar. Old manager retired and new managment does not care. Security is now closed from 3 am to 8 am. I had my backpack locked in my room on checkout and had to leave at 5 am to catch a plane home in Tampa. Hotel refused to mail me the pack pack unless it was CID. itried to tell them that they should have security person there all the time as advertise but nobody cared

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and stayed at Casa Del Mar for 1 week in February, 2012. This was my 3rd trip to Longboat Key and my wife's first.

Condo:
We stayed in a small but adequate condo facing a courtyard about 100 ft from the pool and 200 ft from the beach. The condo was about 600 -700 sq ft with 2 bedrooms and 1.75 baths crammed in there. Decor was dated but everything worked and was sparking clean upon our arrival.

Grounds:
The grounds are very well maintained and there are numerous flowering plants and interesting shrubs. Two tennis courts are available almost all the time. Parking is free and easy.

Their are 8 gas grills available for use and maintained by the night staff.

Beach:
The beach is clean and quiet with dedicated beach chairs/umbrellas provided by the resort readily available.

Pool:
The pool is a large rectangle probably about 60' by 25' and is heated comfortably.

Other Guests:
The majority of the guests were snowbird retiree couples from the Midwest and Canada.

Synopsis:

This is an excellent resort for a quiet beach vacation with no headaches. I would recommend this for couples of all ages looking to relax and for families with small children.

Not recommended for families with teenage children nor for 2 couples to share 1 condo primarily due to the cramped feeling of the units.

Small complaints/Suggestions:
The bed was old and lumpy and had hospital sheets which made for poor sleep. The vent fan in the bathroom did next to nothing.

Instead of spending money on more gardens I think a hot tub and converting a unit to a fitness center would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Longboat Key, but the first time we have stayed at Casa Del Mar. We usually stay at The Sand Cay. When I tried to book there the unit we like to stay in was already booked so we decided to try somewhere else. We read reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to try Casa Del Mar. We are glad we did. Our condo is a beach front, near the pool and very quiet. It was also $300/week less than Sand Cay for the same type of room and nearly identical quality. We are very pleased with our decision to stay here will probably return next year, especially if we can stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our first trip to Casa del Mar was over July 4, 1973. Our daughters were 2 & 5. Some things are just too memorable to forget, and that first visit we stayed in condo 3C. That location was perfect for our young family with two very young swimmers. That "blind date" was the beginning of a long love affair between our family & Casa del Mar. After a few years we saw a new manager (DM Williams) come & things just kept getting better & better. The grounds are gorgeous & perfectly cared for & the staff bends over backwards to care for their guests. Over the next 38 years very few things have made us miss our time there. Both our daughters were married on the beach at Longboat Key and then our granddaughters started arriving. Somewhere along the way our extended family & friends started joining us, and now we fill 6-10 condos the week or two before Memorial Day every year. On top of that most years my husband & I go back for another week or two in the fall. We travel a lot (which is fun but can be exhausting) and we tell anyone who will listen that our time at Casa del Mar & Longboat Key is our true vacation. Casa del Mar will NOT disappoint you! It is perfect for everyone as far as I can tell! But don't come Memorial weekend!

Room Tip: There are no specific "kids activities" but your kids will never know that. Building sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My family has been vacationing at Casa del Mar for over 30 years and absolutely love it! Everything from the units, the beach, tennis courts, gardens, staff, grills etc. are all excellent. Can't wait to be there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Address: 4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.