We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennis players BEWARE!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Cedars Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   645 Cedars Ct. Suite A, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tennis players BEWARE!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Whilst the resort facilities are adequate and on the whole good (although our accomodation was 'tired' as regards the decor)- we did feel very annoyed by the very deliberate policy of the tennis desk to 'bounce' us out of our court arrangements (on several occasions) in favour of the full time members and large group members. We were offered alternative times towards the middle of the day which were unsuitable because of the heat or it left us little time to go out sightseeing etc due to the early darkness at this time of year.

On one occasion we were informed as we arrived to play that our court had been cancelled because the opponents we were to play had cancelled us. On meeting up with the opponents later that day they told us that no such thing had happened.

They along with another couple who related similar experiences were very angry at this seemingly deliberate policy of 'bouncing' by the tennis desk and as with us will not be returning to your resort.

Considering that this resort is in direct competition with the Colony Tennis resort along the road (alas closed at the moment) the general feeling amongst couples we met was-'can't wait for the Colony to re-open!!!!

Also considering that the cost of our stay with you for the 11 days amounted to a healthy proportion of an annual tennis membership fee, I cannot understand why this policy should exist at all with regard to individual couples.


We have been and are frequent travellers to the States-several times each year playing tennis at resorts from the Carolina's to Nevada, Arizona, from California to Florida and this is the the first time in all those years that we have experienced this unpleasant and un-professional behaviour.

We come to the USA to play tennis and our tennis experience at Cedars was poor!!!!!!!!

I can see why this resort is not rated at all by 'Tennis Resorts Online'

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This was our first trip to Longboat with our 3 young children. We really enjoyed having a nice size townhome to spread out in. Our unit was nicely decorated and clean. Unfortunately, the other family that we traveled with, were not too happy with their unit. It was pretty outdated. This is one drawback of having no uniformity that you would in a hotel. That said, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The tennis pro was terrific. The courts were very well kept. It truly is a tennis resort. The pool was a huge plus! It was so well kept. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

If you love tennis, beaches, and Florida - cedars is a great find. Our town home was stylish, modern and well equipped it even came with beach towels, the place soon felt like home with all the little extras hotels are not able to offer. The beach was right across the street, totally uncrowded. Tennis was included in our package, the tennis pro and all the staff were very friendly. Only a few minuets walk away was the well known restaurant euphemiahaye - a must if you visit, great food but not at a discount.
This was our 2nd visit to Cedars in as many years, this time we did not use the onsite rental agency, and got a better deal by going to the owners direct via - florida vacations web site.
The only real negative was we wished we could have taken our Lab Ralph for a walk on the beach.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

The Town houses are fantastic, the pool is also very, very good, the kayaks in the bay are amazing, but as a resort it was average at the least, our stay was 10 days and after paying a cleaning fee of $150 we expected the towels and bedding to be changed at least once during our stay, but no, we did not have one visit in our entire stay. also the bar and restaurant that was supposed to be opening on the 1st June, did not open because the health and safety certifcate had not been issued???? but if you want a quiet vacation in nice surroundings and you enjoy kayaking go for it! The sad thing is this place really has the potential to be a fantastic all round vacation spot...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I was looking for a on week vacation of tennis, beach and activity. I had searched many areas in and around Sarasota and luckily I found Cedars. I travelled with my high school aged daughter and one of her friends. Our plan was to work hard on our tennis game to improve for the summer season. We were pleased with the tennis staff at Cedars, the tennis instructor is outstanding. He even jumped into a 4 some when one of the players had to cancel. ( I improved my game because of his instuction) He was able to arrange/recommend players and games for my tennis playing daughter, and he correctly matched players!
The condo was beautiful. Very clean inside and outside. The kitchen had everything that we needed and it was very clean. Having washer and dryer was quite helpful. Having my own garage made me feel safe when we arrived home after dark.
Being midwesterners, we often aren't exposed to international experiences. The teens and I enjoyed playing tennis and interacting with teens from other countries. Overall, I would love to return to Cedars every year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

After 9 years, our stay at Cedars Tennis Resort never fails to impress us. Walking into our condo holds no surprises and we are relaxed from day one. The spaciousness and feel of home is comforting to come back to after a day of tennis, fishing, exploring the gulf, kayaking and bike riding. With the perfect weather here, we can accomplish it all. The quiet beauty of Cedars and the comforts of home help to ease away any tension or stress of travel. The amenities along with the beautiful surroundings hold the key to a wonderful stay be it one week or several months. The staff is here to make your stay completely enjoyable and accommodate your every need. Renee and Bob, Northbrook, Illinois.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, U.K.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We are returning in October 2008 - this will be our 18th year! We love it. You can be as active or relaxed as you want to be. Plenty of excellent resturants and great shopping nearby. Always, always look forward to returning - if only it wasn.t such a long journey.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, relaxing atmosphere, convenience.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Tennis Resort

Address: 645 Cedars Ct. Suite A, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedars Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedars Tennis Resort, a luxury vacation rental on Longboat Key, offers world-class facilities, magnificent beaches and tropical sunsets that are picture-perfect. Guests enjoy an unforgettable Florida vacation in our spacious townhomes that are perfect for families or couples. There is something to suit every mood at Cedars Tennis Resort – a junior Olympic swimming pool with Tiki bar, a fitness center, fishing pier and bicycle availability are just some of the amenities you’ll enjoy while staying at this resort. For a casual dining experience, the newly renovated clubhouse features a restaurant with full bar, Cedars Café & Tiki Bar – the perfect spot to grab a bite to eat after a long day exploring Longboat Key. The HarTru tennis courts at Cedars Tennis Resort attract players from all over the world. Professionals and novices alike will enjoy USTA tournaments and tennis camps for children, as well as our well-equipped pro-shop. For those who like to venture out without a motor, bicycle and kayak rentals are available on-site. We invite you to explore our gorgeous landscaped grounds and beach pathways or paddle through Sarasota Bay and engage in the wildlife that passes by. Our fishing pier offers anglers the opportunity to drop a line in Sarasota Bay or simply relax on one of the benches and take in the sights and sounds that engulf your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cedars Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Tennis Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.