We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, well maintained facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Cedars Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   645 Cedars Ct. Suite A, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Southern Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very clean, well maintained facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We rented unit 804 for one week in June, finding it available on short notice. The unit itself was clean, updated in the past few years, with cold A/C. Could use some new TVs, but it was really a fine place for the week. Only other comment was that the master bed was very soft, and could use replacing with a temperpedic!

Cedars East does have a very nice large pool and a nice exercise facility with some decent machines, which we were happy about. It is our impression that the facility is well managed, and they are doing all they can to keep things looking sharp, which is quite a positive these days. However- in Longboat Key there are so many rental alternatives that are either on the beachside, or that are 6-8 story condos, or that have nicer landscaped grounds- that Cedars East doesn't in the end fare well versus other areas. Granted- these other areas are very likely more (much more in some cases) expensive. So- in conclusion- if you are seeking a lower priced alternative that is clean (from the facility standpoint- because each unit is individually owned, and the maintenance will surely vary from place to place), Cedars East, unit 804 will work fine for you. 804 doesn't have a view of the bay, and in fact very few of the condos have any water view at all.

If you have a larger budget- you might search for a place up the scale a bit further.

We do prefer Longboat Key over most everywhere else in Florida- the beach is great, you can go out into the water a long way without the water getting deep- the sand is smooth well out into the water. The restaurants in Longboat are great, way better than Siesta Key for example.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just back from our tenth consecutive stay at the Cedars. This is the place to stay if you love physical activity. In fact, there is so much to do on-site that you never have to leave. There are 10 gorgeous har-true tennis courts, a huge (junior olympic size) pool, a fitness facility (with over a dozen machines, weights, benches, etc.) and bikes. If you rent one of the townhouse units, all these facilitities (including the bikes) are complimentary. There are also three complimentary organized tennis activities--a mixed doubles round-robin on Sunday afternoons, a men's clinic on Monday (?) mornings and a women's clinic on Weds. at 10am. The tennis activities are supervised by the two resident pros and are a great way to meet people and work your way into games. The fully staffed pro office will also attempt to put you into games at your level, but be aware that the popular 10am timeslot is usually booked by long-time 3 mos. renters. The Cedars also has an on-site restaurant managed by Harry's (well known caterer) which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never ate there (you have to leave the property sometime!) but heard that the food was good and well-priced for the quantity. The restaurant manages the poolside tiki bar which opens at 3pm for drinks/snacks.

The beach is a five minute walk from the resort. Since the Cedars does not have an easement, they recommend entering the beach from a public access located 1 mile away.
However, it is an open secret that you can walk just a short distance and access the beach from one of the many "private--only for resident" pathways across from busy Gulf of Mexico Drive. Once there, you will be rewarded with views of light blue ocean but be aware that the beach has
course sand mixed with broken shells and is not great for walking unless you wear sneakers or some type of water shoe or don't mind watching where you walk. Although I walked (barefoot) daily, I prefered to sunbathe and read in the comfortable chairs next to the Cedars pool. The Tiki bar starts to get noisy after 4pm but until then, the sunny pool area is great for reading.

The townhomes are are divided into three areas. The 500 Number units are located closest to GOM Drive. The 800 # units are located on the gulf--some have lovely views. Both the 500 and 800 # units permit pets. The 600 # units (where we rent) are the most central to the courts and pool. While convenient, these units are also the noisiest due to court maintenance starting at 8:00am which really only affect the units closest to the courts. All the townhomes have lots of stairs and some do not have a powder room on the main floor which means walking up two flights to use a bathroom. The townhouses vary in terms of decor, amenities (internet, size of TV) and comfort so be sure to ask lots of questions if you have particular needs.

It takes under 1.5 hours to drive from the Tampa airport to the Cedars. If you need a car service, I can recommend Mike Malloy of Island Sedan (941-730-8803). He is reliable, prompt, courteous, professional and pleasant. His car was clean and comfortable, he is a safe driver, and his rates are competitive.

Room Tip: Townhouses at the Cedars can be rented thru the resort (Lighthouse Mgmt.?), by owner (VRBO) or thru...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

my husband and I stayed at Cedars for two
weeks and never had problems booking
a court. we also loved the complimentary
bikes, the fitness center and the sparkling
jr Olympic pool.
we liked the location of our unit - near
the pool, pro shop and tennis courts. (unit
651)
we really lucked out with the condo.
the owners had just renovated the master
bedroom and bath and they were lovely.
the living area is beautifully decorated as
well (think pottery barn meets pier 1) and we really enjoyed the large flat screen TV
in the living room. the lanai faces the nature
preserve and we loved having coffee
there every morning. I can not say enough
say enough about the condo and the resort
overall. we will return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Mixed feelings about this place. Cedars is a beautiful and quiet resort. The pool is clean and often we were the only ones using it. The jetty behind the resort is great for fishing and the beach, which is only 5 mins walk away, is in our opinion better than Siesta beach. It is so clean and quiet and covered in millions of shells. It's amazing to sit and watch the pelicans, egret and other birds swooping for fish. There are hermit crabs popping up around you.
The wildlife inside the house however was a real issue for us. We found live cockroaches every day. It was v unsettling not to mention unhygienic. Those things really startle you and boy can they move!! The owner arranged for the placeto be sprayed, but the guy just went round with a can in the bathrooms and laundry. Made no difference - in fact we then started getting them in the kitchen cupboards. Gross!
Personally I wouldn't come back to Cedars, purely down to the roaches. Long boat key, however, I highly recommend if you are looking for somewhere unspoiled and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, GB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Excellent stay in a fantastic townhouse on the Cedars tennis resort. The resort is close to beach access and some great restaurants (recommend the Blue Dolphin for breakfast) and is a short drive to St Armands Circle and Sarasota.

Unit 618 is a comfortable town house with all your holiday needs including a wide screen TV, internet, views of the tennis courts, and loads of room for the family, really enjoyed the stay, will will definietely be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have just returned from our Florida vacation at which we stayed at the Cedars tennis resort on the lovely Longboat Key. We stay at condo 539 which is privately owned and was booked through VacationRentals.com - Rental Inquiry Property #12953, you deal with the owner direct. This was a very well appointed condo and well kept, it had every thing we needed. The resort it self is all centered around tennis of course of which none of my family play, we picked the Cedars because of location, the pool, fishing dock, bike rentals and much more. Just because it's a tennis resort doesn't mean you have to play tennis. The resort itself is well maintain and relaxing and in easy reach of all the shops and restaurants, but the resort does have it's own. All in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stay at the Cedars tennis resort almost every year. We like the apartment with the spacious kitchen, the balcony facing the water and the spacious bedrooms.
The slight disadvantage of staying there, is that the beach is not easily reached by foot, since the owners of the waterfront properties forbid any trespassing.
But no more than 10 minutes of driving and you are at the most wonderful beach, where almost every day a school of dolphin passes by (around noon).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Tennis Resort

Address: 645 Cedars Ct. Suite A, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedars Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedars Tennis Resort, a luxury vacation rental on Longboat Key, offers world-class facilities, magnificent beaches and tropical sunsets that are picture-perfect. Guests enjoy an unforgettable Florida vacation in our spacious townhomes that are perfect for families or couples. There is something to suit every mood at Cedars Tennis Resort – a junior Olympic swimming pool with Tiki bar, a fitness center, fishing pier and bicycle availability are just some of the amenities you’ll enjoy while staying at this resort. For a casual dining experience, the newly renovated clubhouse features a restaurant with full bar, Cedars Café & Tiki Bar – the perfect spot to grab a bite to eat after a long day exploring Longboat Key. The HarTru tennis courts at Cedars Tennis Resort attract players from all over the world. Professionals and novices alike will enjoy USTA tournaments and tennis camps for children, as well as our well-equipped pro-shop. For those who like to venture out without a motor, bicycle and kayak rentals are available on-site. We invite you to explore our gorgeous landscaped grounds and beach pathways or paddle through Sarasota Bay and engage in the wildlife that passes by. Our fishing pier offers anglers the opportunity to drop a line in Sarasota Bay or simply relax on one of the benches and take in the sights and sounds that engulf your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedars Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Tennis Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.