We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Wonderful Beach Vacation In the United States” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbors by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arbors by the Sea
Save
You added Arbors by the Sea to your Saves list
5441 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Summertown, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most Wonderful Beach Vacation In the United States”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Arbors by the Sea is simply fantastic, beautiful surroundings, lovely, cozy, quaint cottages. Gorgeous beach & water. You couldn’t ask for more. You won’t be disappointed, In fact you will be stunned by the overall beauty and atmosphere of this little paradise. The sunsets on the beach....well you just have to be there to experience it. Be sure to take a flashlight with you and look for white sand crabs on the beach after dark....lots of fun. Shell hunting on the beach and in the water is also fun. We picked up many beautiful shells to bring home. Any negative review of this resort will likely be dated before Nov 2008. Arbors by the Sea is now under new ownership & management and has undergone a complete renovation. If you read any negative reviews after Nov 2008, you can whole-heartily ignore them, obviously the reviewer(s) can’t be pleased. I and my wife are difficult to please, and we fell in love with Arbors by the Sea. And I assure you it will be a regular vacation destination for us. The only thing that would make it better is if it was mine!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham, alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We spent three nights at Arbors by the Sea in June and absolutely loved it. The beach is beautiful and very, very close to the cottages. Perfect place for vacation with friends or family. The cottages and the grounds were very well kept and charming. Any negative posts below must have been prior to the significant renovations recently completed by new management (including, among other things, new interiors, paint, granite kitchens, bathrooms, plasma TVs, etc.). We highly recommend Arbors by the Sea for anyone looking for the Old Florida feel with all of the conveniences and comforts of a luxury resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

After a ten year absence from Longboat Key we returned to Arbors to find it fresh and beautiful. The new owners went the distance in creating comfort, style and quality with the newly renovated cottages. The location has always been perfect, with a less than a minute walk to the beach and seeing those beautiful sunsets. Having a place to call home for a few weeks that is so well equiped, with every imaginable kitchen gadget that one could use and great personel attention from the management makes this the spot we will return to in Florida.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

I was looking for the perfect place for myself and my husband -who is a very busy and overstressed physician and never gets to relax. Boy,was this the right place. Newly decorated,painted inside and out and new furniture made this a great place to sit and read and the short stroll to the beach to view the incredible sunset was just what we needed. We took hor d'oeuvres and wine down to the gazebo just as the magic glow of the sunset occurred -right at 6:30. This is by far the prettiest beach and water we have experienced -even surpassed Destin! We shopped at St. Armands Circle and had a great lunch at Columbia Restaurant -try the house salad. Also the Crab and Fin is a wonderful lunch place. For dinner we could walk to Euphemia Hay -a fabulous,fine dining place with their own dessert area upstairs where we listened to live music. When we did decide to watch tv, the flat screens in each room were an added bonus. The patio with sun shining on our faces was where we chose to read. We love this place and my husband was finally able to relax -we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

These 5 newly renovated cottages are adorable and loaded with charm! With a vintage appearance and reminicient of old Key West and oozing with charm this was the perfect place for us to unwind. Just a short walk to the most beautiful beach we have ever seen and postcard-perfect sunsets every night. We really enjoyed having our own grill and patio with new furniture. The furnishings are all new,with huge flat screen tvs in each room, new linens in an array of beach colors and fully stocked kitchens. We had the opportunity to meet one of the new owners and the interior decorater who were putting the final touches on-delightful people who were very accomodating. We love this place and will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We first visited Arbors in 1998 for 3 nights, it was lovely and always wanted to go back for a week. In December 2008 we booked Iris cottage without hesitation. If we had checked trip advisor before we booked, we wouldn't have done so, as the reviews sounded not good at all.

However, each cottage has been beautifully renovated and we were the first people to book in. The cottages are prettier than ever in their pastel shades, all looking like picture post cards.

The interior of Iris was very welcoming, with new furniture in the lounge (including lazy boy chairs!), lovely bedroom (new bed of course) and well equipped kitchen. There were a couple of small issues but were swiftly overcome by the Management Team.

Each cottage has a private patio (including bar b que).

A short walk to the beautiful beach - perfect for long walks before the sunshine became too much. Not to mention those sunsets.....

The current Arbors website doesn't do this place justice at all. One of the co-owners told us this is being rectified soon and we look forward to logging on....

However, we have one criticism and that's the seating area just before the beach and on the decking (the lookout for the sunsets). They looked decidely worn and very unattractive (rather have none at all).

One of the reviews mentions the need to have a car. If all you want to do is relax, you can get away without one for most of the time as there are restaurants within walking distance.

There is no need to say anymore, it is really beautiful.

Oldfields, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Liked — Very pretty and comfortable.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed at the Arbors by the Sea for our Christmas vacation and were really looking forward to a relaxing week. Basically the property was nice but it does need some updating. Our cottage was clean at first look but later we saw mold in the shower and a lot of dust on out of the way areas. The nice thing about it was that it does have a full kitchen with everything you need. The beach was very nice, clean, quiet but there was only one Kayak for one person so not a lot to do. Managers were very nice, they live on property. Be careful if booking here as we heard a rumor at the store across the street that they are planning on tearing this place down and building condo's in the near future. At first we felt it was a good value for what you got but later, when looking at other properties, thought they were just competitive. If you want a place to do NOTHING and see hardly no one this may be it.

  • Liked — I was able to bring my dog
  • Disliked — Nothing to do
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbors by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbors by the Sea

Address: 5441 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Arbors By The Sea Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbors by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.