We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 101 was great for family of 4 with 2 teenagers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Save Saved
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Room 101 was great for family of 4 with 2 teenagers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The management and cleaning staff were great; we checked in very early and saw others check in as early as 9 a.m. It is run like a hotel with fresh towels and beds made daily, also daily coffee to brew yourself, dish and laundry soap (this unit has a washer/dryer in it; there is another on site for all to use, I think.) We left a cell phone and they called within an hour of our departure to see how we wanted to have it sent to us. It arrived promptly.

The only drawback to this place is the rooms are not set up like a home; the front door opens right into the bedroom (with a double bed; would love a queen), then comes the den and then the beautiful living room/kitchen which is right on the pool with a nice patio, looking out to the Gulf of Mexico. The middle room, they call it a den, has a sleeper sofa but you have to walk through it to get to the bedroom from the living room. The overhead fans in each room were great to keep the kids asleep when parents were up early. Two bathrooms were nice, but no storage space in them at all.

We will be back as the location, value and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

It's right on the beach in a quiet part of Longboat Key. The sunset views from the balcony were spectacular. The property is well kept. The only drawback is that the room we had was tiny - a tiny efficiency. It would have been fine for 2. It was cramped for 3. I can't imagine 4 sharing that space. We had a queen bed which was comfortable and a sofabed which was not. Seating: one sofa and some dining chairs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I really wanted to love The Beach at Longboat Key, but…. It has so much going for it. It is right on the beach and every room has a direct view of the Gulf. It operates like hotel rather than a condo. It was recently totally renovated so everything is in good condition. However, all but three rooms are what they call studios and there is the problem. They elected to use Murphy style beds when they renovated. These have very thin mattresses. They also did not include the optional lighting or bedside table options that the bed company (1-800-wallbed) offers. This means that it is impossible to read in bed, there is no place to put a clock or glasses, and you have to turn off the light and walk through the dark to the bed. There are other problems with the studios. They mounted the small TV on the wall in a position where you can not watch TV from the bed, you have to sit on the couch on the other side of the room. You are probably 20 feet from a fairly small TV. Finally, each studio has a connecting door to the next unit and you can hear everything in the adjoining unit. If I had been in an actual bedroom unit I think I would have loved this place and would put it on my return list, but there are only three non-studio units. If you do go, ONLY stay if you can reserve an actual bedroom unit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here two times for a week each time. It is located right on the beach. Full kitchen with a Publix just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Wonderful sunsets. Hotel has been updated and is very nice.Bed is a little firm. They say the room we stayed in could accomodate 4 but it would be a wee bit cramped. Your not within walking distance to restaurants or shops. But overall it is a great place to stay and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I am staying in unit 224. The furnishings are of a rather cheap quality, but at least modern. For the price of 200 a night incl. tax, I am sleeping in a murphy bed. Had to move the chairs and table to open it. I don't know how two people of regular size (I am smaller than average) manage to sleep in this "bed", let alone with some comfort. Every time I move, it bangs on the floor and makes noise.
For the price of 200 dollars a night (off season), I also participate in the life inside the units on either side, including becoming a witness to whoever is clearing their throat. Hear every car going by, because the front door is as flimsy as the doors between the units. I would not stay here again if the price was half of what it is. This was not built with paying guests in mind - why so many people pay so much for questionable quality, is a mystery to me.
There is no shade anywhere on the property, it's a pity. Cannot relax here, not at all what I would like from a beach getaway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergman123
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Beach in unit 227 for a week in May and several other times throughout the past two years. We love this place! We checked out the other one bedrooms and there is no comparison! Unit 227 is so spacious compared to the others. The unit itself is beautiful! It is on the second floor and has a private balcony on the side. The unit overlooks the Gulf of Mexico and there are mirrors all around this unit which gives you a view of the gulf while you are even washing dishes! The complex itself is small and quiet. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets are even more amazing. I would highly recommend The Beach to anyone especially unit 227. It is a perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.