We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom unit. The unit was very clean and updated. The gulf front balcony was wonderful. The staff was great. The beach was uncrowded and very relaxing. We had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We had an easy time booking on VRBO.com & was very pleased with process. The owner of our unit was very nice and communicated alot with us. She made the process stress free. The staff that greeted upon arrival were sweet & helpful as well.
We stayed in rm 223 and it was beautiful - stainless steel appliances, flat screen tvs, comfortable bed and couch, clean & NO bugs! . Great location right on the gulf w/ private balcony. Breathtaking sunsets. I was also impressed with room service - cleaning & changing/making your bed every morning (must put out "do not disturb"sign if not wanted), new towel brought to your room everyday. Even though you get the size and privacy of a condo you feel like it is a worry free hotel. We had a magical time & all was made possible with great accommodations. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed in this condo March 20, 2009 for a night with hubby without baby. This condo was the perfect place to stay. We stayed in condo unit 107. This unit is the last unit on the first floor. We stayed during springbreak. Amazingly, we did not experience any loud noise. I believe that the condo was totally booked that night. The room was immaculate when we arrived. The view from our room was spectacular. I open the sliding glass door to a tropical garden with our very own palm tree for the night. In front of the garden was the Golf of Mexico. Torquois water. I live in Florida and we go to the beach quite often. But I have not seen water as beautiful as this unless I was in the Carribbean or Hawaii. At $222/night with no room service and no bells or whistles, it was still worth the price. Quiet, secluded, and away from people. Loved it!
Here are some of The Beach FAQ's:
1. Pool could be larger. It was heated which made up for the size.
2. No hot tub.
3.Beach chairs are free. First come first serve.
4. Parking area small. First come first serve. Got in after midnight, ran out of parking space. Found parking on the premises but not a parking spot per se'
5. Free High speed internet.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We booked a studio on the 2nd floor and although room was beautifully remodeld and the view was amazing, it was just a big too tight for us. My husband is thin but tall (6'4") and my daughter and I are also thin but both 5'4". The murphy bed is a queen and the sofa bed is a full so my daughter and I slept on the queen and husband on the full. That way he got more room. Very difficult to move about the room w/ the murphy bed down and sofabed open. TV was on the wall of the murphy bed so impossible to watch TV (because door is in the way) in bed unless you turn around and lay w/ your head at foot of bed. Bathroom was very small, only one person allowed at a time. But I think if you are just a couple (or couple w/ small baby) the studio is fine. We loved the view! You are so close to the beach...it really was amazing. Would definately go back but rent a larger unit!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

I stayed here in June on my Honeymoon. Check in very easy, staff nice and helpful. We stayed on the top floor in a room that had a actual bed instead of one with a pull out. It is much smaller then the pictures make it out to be, but is just fine for a couple. Our room was in decent repair and housekeeping came everyday and did a great job. I did not hear my neighbors at all, but to be honest i am not sure if anyone was next to us on either side.

The good points:
Great location
Ocean view
Modern Furnishings kept in good repair
balconies
dish soap and laundry detergent given to you.
Great little kitchens
queen bed very comfy
pool was kept in clean condition (a little sand)
Beach chairs towels and umbrellas for guest use.

The bad points
House keeping needs to keep balconies swept off
Price is a little high (we paid around $145.00 a night)
Beach not great for shelling, try north longboat
Needs larger trash cans in rooms

We loved it, but would most likely look for cheaper accommodations next time.

  • Liked — The Furnishings
  • Disliked — The Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

The condo (more like hotel room) was okay. Much smaller than what the pictures made it appear online. We stayed in an upstairs room overlooking the ocean. It was a partial ocean view, mostly obstructed by the huge palm in the center of the backyard. The ads for the room said it could easily sleep four and was suited for families with young children. Well, it's just too small for any family with kids. It's difficult to manuver in the room without a pullout bed, never mind having the sleeper extended. The bathroom was small and partially updated (mold in the corners, peeling paint), however the kitchen was perfect. Great for breakfasts and lunches when we didn't want to leave the beach. The walls in the room are thin (as a past reviewer had mentioned) and you can hear everything. The room was kind of clean when we entered, yet we had to call to have housekeeping come clean the floor again when we arrived. The responded within an hour and removed a huge pile of sand, dust and old food. The floor underneath the sleeper sofa was filthy.
The pool was average, contained a ton of sand, but not overcrowded. The beach was at our backdoor which was perfect. No streets to cross. Overall, it was okay. Kind of a let down. We would return to Longboat again, just not The Beach.

  • Liked — location on the beach
  • Disliked — small room, cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

My wife and I have been regular guest at the The Beach, formally known as the Sea Bird for the last 25 years. We always stayed in rooms 223 or 224 as they are upstairs in the middle of the 2 story building. Yes, ResortQuest has remodeled the rooms and the tile floors are nice as are the new appliances in the kitchen in the efficiency room. They replaced the sliding glass doors, which was needed, they replaced the balcony guard rails but not with child safe ones as the bars run sideways so your small child could just climb it and fall over to the ground. Not that I have kids, just thought who ever replaced the old guard rails should of known this. What I didn’t like the most about the remodeled resort is they put in adjoining doors on both sides of the rooms up stairs which allows you to hear everything in the adjoining rooms on both sides of you. If your neighbor farts, you’ll hear it. So if you want to listen to everything going on nextdoor from casual conversations to popping a top on a can of beer, this place is for you. Fortunately, our neighbors were kind of quite during our one night getaway. The LCD widescreen TV’s are small, around 20-22 inch and they are mounted to the wall on a swingout mount. You’ll only be able to see about 2/3 of the screen when the bed that comes out the wall is down. I didn’t know what a Murphy was when I read the review below before revisiting the remodeled resort. In our room this bed that comes out the wall wasn’t all that comfortable at all and the foot end of the bed was higher than the head of the bed. So we had to sleep the other way hopefully like all the rest of the guest that stay there do. It’s the only way you are going to watch TV in bed and liked I said earlier, you can only see two thirds of the screen because the doors you open to let down the bed don’t retract enough to allow full viewing of the screen. I personally liked being able to sleep in actual beds before they remodeled the room. I also liked the old larger full screen TV better as well because it sat on a dresser on the other side of the room that you could watch from bed or the convertible couch that were in the rooms before and put cloths in if you were going to stay for any period of time. And speaking of the convertible sleeper couch in our room, like the murphy bed, the foot was higher than the head of the bed so unless you like a lot of blood rushing to your head you have to sleep with your head at the foot of the bed. I hope nobody has to sleep in it as it will be like sleeping on a cot. To avoid listening to my neighbors TV all night while we went to sleep at 1.00 AM, I just left the sliding glass door open and turn the A/C down colder and the sound of the A/C running and the sound of the Gulf waves put me to sleep. Will we stay at this resort again ?? Only if I read they blocked up the walls between the rooms and replaced the Murphy bed with a real bed and mounted the TV so you won’t have to sleep at the foot of the bed to watch it while in bed. Good points of the place, location, location, location. The view is great, the pool is warm and the beach and people you’ll meet are nice as well.

  • Liked — The Beach, the pool, the improvements.
  • Disliked — The doors between the rooms, lack of privacy, beds, TV is too small.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.