We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Larisa, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great beach location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable, self serve (love this after spending a week in hotels were we tipped for every bag lifted). Ground floor view obstructed by bushes, so if you are looking for ocean view, pick a second floor unit. Clean beds, good service. We knew the sofa bed/murphy bed conditions, so had no high expectations of comfort, beds are not more uncomfortable than any European hotel ones. If you have back issues, they are perfect as they are super firm :-) , clean pool, beautiful landscape, excellent maid service every few days, otherwise you get a load of new towels and soap/coffee. Very comparable to others in the area. Peaceful location, awesome restaurants for dinner just a few minutes away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family stayed at The Beach on Longboat Key this past month. We had a small issue after our first night in the room, but the guest service agent Martha was more than helpful getting our family the best accommodations and stay. She was so helpful in making sure it was comfortable and pleasant. Wonderful place to stay and beautiful beach! We look forward to our next stay with you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having stayed at The Beach in July 2013 and been pleasantly surprised, my wife and I immediately thought of returning this summer. Instead of two nights, we decided to stay four nights this year. We had a studio room on the second floor with a Murphy bed. Having a balcony was a major plus over last year. The dining table was a bit in the way with the bed but it was not a big deal. As usual, the room was kept cleaned daily and the beach amenities like lounge chairs and umbrellas were easily available. Of course, the beach is the prime reason for being here and it was fantastic. A Publix and a CVS are nearby for groceries as well as several great spots to eat like the Lazy Lobster and the Dry Dock Waterfront Grill. We would definitely recommend staying here and probably will do so again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 222 is a studio room with a Murphy bed and a balcony. It is above the pool deck but was not pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at The Beach on Longboat Key for 5 nights. It was a great vacation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was made service everyday. Our unit (227) was beautiful and ultra modern. The unit was spacious and had an amazing view of the gulf. I would recommend this place anyone. Also, we booked directly through the unit's owner (Christine) and she was great!

Eric

Room Tip: Room 227 is on the second level and the view is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I agree with the rest of the reviewers. The murphy bed is a little awkward, but the room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The views and proximity to the beach is what sold us and will have us coming back for years. We did not need to pack any chairs or umbrella for our stay. Those were provided on site for free. It was a quiet location and close to Publix and CVS. We made sandwiches for lunch and ate right on the patio. The beach is very nice; super soft sand and lots of seashells to pick. The sunsets are gorgeous!

Room Tip: The patio units are safer and more convenient for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an amazing place, a hidden paradise !!!! there are pros and cons for this place. Lets start with the pros:
we traveled during may 2014 and we took a golf view room (2nd floor).
The location of the hotel was perfect and we were having breakfast and lunch in our balcony watching the the beach; and spending part of the night in the balcony hearing the waves sound. We watched the sunrise too and it was very romantic. This place is very quiet. The perfect destination to RELAX !
The bad things about this place are the bed and the AC! The former was really uncomfortable, while the AC was really noisy and strooooong. We were freezing during the night even thou we had it at 78

Room Tip: Golf view room (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is no question that the location of The Beach on Longboat Key is spectacular, situated just steps away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. And, we really appreciated being able to relax on the readily available beach chairs. However, we were disappointed with the size and layout of our room. We stayed in a first-floor studio which had a fairly uncomfortable Murphy bed that pulled out in the kitchen. The small TV was located on the same wall as the headboard so it was impossible to lay in bed and watch TV. It was also a bit disturbing to be in bed and blinded by the refrigerator light if opened. The small dining table was located at the entrance to the room, right across from the bathroom. Since it was Murphy bed, there were no nightstands or tables to keep a glass of water or a phone or an alarm clock. And, there were very few other places to set anything down, except for the kitchen counter. When the bed was open, it was extremely awkward trying to navigate to the bathroom or anywhere. The room was kept very clean but the second day, instead of towels being hung in the bathroom and condiments set in the kitchen, the cleaning crew left all of the towels and other items in a tied-up plastic bag on the dining table. Again, you can't beat the location, but the interior was left to be desired.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.