We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach on Longboat Key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Save Saved
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Beach on Longboat Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I agree with the rest of the reviewers. The murphy bed is a little awkward, but the room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The views and proximity to the beach is what sold us and will have us coming back for years. We did not need to pack any chairs or umbrella for our stay. Those were provided on site for free. It was a quiet location and close to Publix and CVS. We made sandwiches for lunch and ate right on the patio. The beach is very nice; super soft sand and lots of seashells to pick. The sunsets are gorgeous!

Room Tip: The patio units are safer and more convenient for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an amazing place, a hidden paradise !!!! there are pros and cons for this place. Lets start with the pros:
we traveled during may 2014 and we took a golf view room (2nd floor).
The location of the hotel was perfect and we were having breakfast and lunch in our balcony watching the the beach; and spending part of the night in the balcony hearing the waves sound. We watched the sunrise too and it was very romantic. This place is very quiet. The perfect destination to RELAX !
The bad things about this place are the bed and the AC! The former was really uncomfortable, while the AC was really noisy and strooooong. We were freezing during the night even thou we had it at 78

Room Tip: Golf view room (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is no question that the location of The Beach on Longboat Key is spectacular, situated just steps away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. And, we really appreciated being able to relax on the readily available beach chairs. However, we were disappointed with the size and layout of our room. We stayed in a first-floor studio which had a fairly uncomfortable Murphy bed that pulled out in the kitchen. The small TV was located on the same wall as the headboard so it was impossible to lay in bed and watch TV. It was also a bit disturbing to be in bed and blinded by the refrigerator light if opened. The small dining table was located at the entrance to the room, right across from the bathroom. Since it was Murphy bed, there were no nightstands or tables to keep a glass of water or a phone or an alarm clock. And, there were very few other places to set anything down, except for the kitchen counter. When the bed was open, it was extremely awkward trying to navigate to the bathroom or anywhere. The room was kept very clean but the second day, instead of towels being hung in the bathroom and condiments set in the kitchen, the cleaning crew left all of the towels and other items in a tied-up plastic bag on the dining table. Again, you can't beat the location, but the interior was left to be desired.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked this sight unseen from the internet and were so pleased we wished we could have stayed longer! The kitchen in 107 is a full sized fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher and fully stocked with paper towels, dish towels. And all kitchen items. Beach front is beautiful and heated pool is small but just right for this size property. Bbq grill, great access to surrounding attractions, everything you need! Some
people liked the upper floor rooms but this one had a little yard space in front of it and would be perfect for kids. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were there for the first week of February, it was wonderful. We had a small one bedroom #225 it was clean, and well stocked including beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. The kitchen had pans and utensils for cooking. We could sleep with the slider open and listen to the waves. The beach is very nice right out front, and fairly private as there are no mega condos nearby. We will definitely stay here next time we come down to Florida.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our stay was for a short time, but was very pleasant. Martha, at the office, is a doll, who can't do enough for you to make your stay a great one. She is helpful, courteous, and extremely nice. No room is a bad room, as each one looks out at the Gulf of Mexico (the first floor rooms are partial view since the shrubs block it somewhat at beach level, so the top floor would give you a full view of the grounds and beach). I liked the first floor because we were in an end unit which was fine for two people. We had the Murphy bed and a beautiful kitchenette that was fully stocked with all you would need, of course, besides your food and drink. It had a pull out sofa but to tell you the truth, the room (Studio) is too small for this. If you pulled it out to have two more people sleep, you won't be able to walk through the room. The room was clean, cleaning staff were nice, and you can't beat the location. The beach is so clean and there is soft, white sand, that cradles your feet like fresh powder. The beach is lovely and waiting for you each day. I liked how the pool was so close as well as the patio right out back to sun or simply eat outside and enjoy the gorgeous weather. I liked this place. It is a small hotel and quiet, but that is what I liked about it. It is has a washer/dryer that you share with others. I never had a problem when I wanted to use it. People were all friendly and how can you go wrong being on the Gulf of Mexico? For the price, it is definitely worth it. Great for couples, families, and the like. Close to great restaurants and shopping too. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVAFlorida, Manager at The Beach on Longboat Key, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words; we couldn't agree more that Martha is a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a relaxing weekend here in a first floor, studio room with a Murphy bed. Though we had never stayed here at this particular place on Longboat Key, we were surprised over and over by the positives at The Beach. We were surprised to get a weekend room at the last minute and at a reasonable price for a beach front room. We were surprised by how comfortable the bed was. We were surprised by the almost-full kitchen...utensils, coffee maker, range, full-size kitchen, etc. We were surprised by laid-back atmosphere on the beach with chairs and umbrellas. These are the kind of surprises that we like and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.