We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place had it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Unit #103 and Unit #225, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place had it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this sight unseen from the internet and were so pleased we wished we could have stayed longer! The kitchen in 107 is a full sized fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher and fully stocked with paper towels, dish towels. And all kitchen items. Beach front is beautiful and heated pool is small but just right for this size property. Bbq grill, great access to surrounding attractions, everything you need! Some
people liked the upper floor rooms but this one had a little yard space in front of it and would be perfect for kids. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were there for the first week of February, it was wonderful. We had a small one bedroom #225 it was clean, and well stocked including beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. The kitchen had pans and utensils for cooking. We could sleep with the slider open and listen to the waves. The beach is very nice right out front, and fairly private as there are no mega condos nearby. We will definitely stay here next time we come down to Florida.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our stay was for a short time, but was very pleasant. Martha, at the office, is a doll, who can't do enough for you to make your stay a great one. She is helpful, courteous, and extremely nice. No room is a bad room, as each one looks out at the Gulf of Mexico (the first floor rooms are partial view since the shrubs block it somewhat at beach level, so the top floor would give you a full view of the grounds and beach). I liked the first floor because we were in an end unit which was fine for two people. We had the Murphy bed and a beautiful kitchenette that was fully stocked with all you would need, of course, besides your food and drink. It had a pull out sofa but to tell you the truth, the room (Studio) is too small for this. If you pulled it out to have two more people sleep, you won't be able to walk through the room. The room was clean, cleaning staff were nice, and you can't beat the location. The beach is so clean and there is soft, white sand, that cradles your feet like fresh powder. The beach is lovely and waiting for you each day. I liked how the pool was so close as well as the patio right out back to sun or simply eat outside and enjoy the gorgeous weather. I liked this place. It is a small hotel and quiet, but that is what I liked about it. It is has a washer/dryer that you share with others. I never had a problem when I wanted to use it. People were all friendly and how can you go wrong being on the Gulf of Mexico? For the price, it is definitely worth it. Great for couples, families, and the like. Close to great restaurants and shopping too. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVAFlorida, Manager at The Beach on Longboat Key, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words; we couldn't agree more that Martha is a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a relaxing weekend here in a first floor, studio room with a Murphy bed. Though we had never stayed here at this particular place on Longboat Key, we were surprised over and over by the positives at The Beach. We were surprised to get a weekend room at the last minute and at a reasonable price for a beach front room. We were surprised by how comfortable the bed was. We were surprised by the almost-full kitchen...utensils, coffee maker, range, full-size kitchen, etc. We were surprised by laid-back atmosphere on the beach with chairs and umbrellas. These are the kind of surprises that we like and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in unit 224 in 2012 and were happy with it, except for the Murphy Bed/TV issue. We booked room 223 this year, a one bedroom unit. Loved the view of the gulf, but the room was a disappointment. It had not been deep cleaned in at least several months. We could write our names in the dust on the headboard and nightstands. Additionally, ceiling fans were dirty, the fridge grate at the bottom was caked with dust. Just a couple of examples. We notified the office and they had the cleaning staff address the issues, but it took a couple of times before they got everything. The whole room just never felt clean. Also, we had sugar ants in the kitchen ( had to move our food) and a couple of other bugs in the room. We love Longboat Key but will choose another place on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went here in July with my son, DIL and grandson. We brought our own tent for the beach which we left on the beach all week. The water was beautiful. The beach was clean and not crowded. The rooms were on the second floor. What a beautiful unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico. Each room has a full kitchen with every thing you can think of. We brought food with us and drinks. The Beach is centrally located between Anna Maria Island and Armand Circle. You must eat at the Beach House for dinner...fabulous! Blue Dolphin for breakfast and The Lazy Lobster. We stayed an additional night..that's how wonderful it was. There were boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas available. The pool was clean and very welcoming after a day at the beach, which I might add is a couple of yards away. They have a gas BBQ grill for guests to use. The service was excellent. The rooms were clean. Perfect spot for a relaxing, wonderful vacation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 days ago, we usually stay at Silver sands resort on longboat key FL. But all the rooms were booked, so we stayed here.

There was only one room, a bathroom, and a kitchen/living room. My brothers and I all had to sleep in the kitchen/living room area. I slept on the Murphy bed. One of my brothers slept on the pull-out bed, and my other brother had to sleep on the floor! My parents slept in the on very small bed room.

The location was beautiful! It is right not the beach, with a pool. The pool was discusting!!! There was hair, leaves, pee, and sand in it!! The beach on the other hand was wonderful! The water was warm, and there was a nice sand-bar you could walk out to and find crabs, shells, and stingrays! Also every night there is a beautiful sunset!

I like how this resort was soooooo close to Publix. It was convenit for my mom and I to go shopping. There are many great resteraunts on long boatkey and by longboat key.

The maids were annoying waking u up at 8am every morning. And there were never clean towels! Our toilet flusher fell right of and the toilet flooded everywhere! It was gross!!!

What I am saying is that I prefer Silver sands because of the rooms but the beach has a wonderful location!!! Take my advic ;)!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Unit #103 and Unit #225, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.