We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed compared to previous year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Save Saved
You added The Beach on Longboat Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach on Longboat Key
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed compared to previous year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in unit 224 in 2012 and were happy with it, except for the Murphy Bed/TV issue. We booked room 223 this year, a one bedroom unit. Loved the view of the gulf, but the room was a disappointment. It had not been deep cleaned in at least several months. We could write our names in the dust on the headboard and nightstands. Additionally, ceiling fans were dirty, the fridge grate at the bottom was caked with dust. Just a couple of examples. We notified the office and they had the cleaning staff address the issues, but it took a couple of times before they got everything. The whole room just never felt clean. Also, we had sugar ants in the kitchen ( had to move our food) and a couple of other bugs in the room. We love Longboat Key but will choose another place on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went here in July with my son, DIL and grandson. We brought our own tent for the beach which we left on the beach all week. The water was beautiful. The beach was clean and not crowded. The rooms were on the second floor. What a beautiful unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico. Each room has a full kitchen with every thing you can think of. We brought food with us and drinks. The Beach is centrally located between Anna Maria Island and Armand Circle. You must eat at the Beach House for dinner...fabulous! Blue Dolphin for breakfast and The Lazy Lobster. We stayed an additional night..that's how wonderful it was. There were boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas available. The pool was clean and very welcoming after a day at the beach, which I might add is a couple of yards away. They have a gas BBQ grill for guests to use. The service was excellent. The rooms were clean. Perfect spot for a relaxing, wonderful vacation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 days ago, we usually stay at Silver sands resort on longboat key FL. But all the rooms were booked, so we stayed here.

There was only one room, a bathroom, and a kitchen/living room. My brothers and I all had to sleep in the kitchen/living room area. I slept on the Murphy bed. One of my brothers slept on the pull-out bed, and my other brother had to sleep on the floor! My parents slept in the on very small bed room.

The location was beautiful! It is right not the beach, with a pool. The pool was discusting!!! There was hair, leaves, pee, and sand in it!! The beach on the other hand was wonderful! The water was warm, and there was a nice sand-bar you could walk out to and find crabs, shells, and stingrays! Also every night there is a beautiful sunset!

I like how this resort was soooooo close to Publix. It was convenit for my mom and I to go shopping. There are many great resteraunts on long boatkey and by longboat key.

The maids were annoying waking u up at 8am every morning. And there were never clean towels! Our toilet flusher fell right of and the toilet flooded everywhere! It was gross!!!

What I am saying is that I prefer Silver sands because of the rooms but the beach has a wonderful location!!! Take my advic ;)!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I went for a 5 day trip to The Beach at Longboat Key for our annual Mother's Day Trip. I bought this on Groupon, so we went kind of sight unseen. The front desk ladies were very helpful with any and all requests I had. For the price I paid for it, it was good. The room said it would accommodate 4 people, but it was super tiny with a very small bathroom. The beach was nice though, with lounge chairs out and umbrellas available. Not many people around so it was very quiet and peaceful. We ventured out with Captain Kim (I would recommend a trip with her) and to St. Armand's Circle for some shopping. We also had dinner at the Dry Dock, Mar Vista and the Lucky Lobster. All were excellent and I would recommend them. This island is full of old people (not a bad thing), but not much activity at all. I would probably not return to this place, but would definitely return to the area. The area was wonderful and overall we had a great vacation in Florida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here. The location is wonderful...right on the beautiful beach, centrally located on the island and close to St. Armand's Circle and Anna Marie Island. The unit was very clean and had every possible amenity. The kitchen was fully stocked, beach chairs and umbrellas were readily available and we even had free bike rentals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, contrary to other reviews, we never heard any noise from the traffic. This is a perfect spot for a relaxing vacation. There are lots of wonderful restaurants within 10 minutes and the island is beautiful. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in Room 107 (a corner room) which, initially disappointed us as we had wanted a 2nd floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in Room 227. Unobstructed views from the bank of windows looking out at the Gulf. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was updated, clean, and modern. The bed, however, left much to be desired. Also, there is some traffic noise--but all of the hotels on this road must have the same thing, especially with the island being so narrow. Nonetheless, we'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

One of the best Florida vacations we have taken will definitely return. The staff is is great will do anything to make your stay pleasant. The beach is awesome with very few people around and great for collecting sea shells. Was our first stay here and it surpassed our expectations. We would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach on Longboat Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;