We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Beautiful Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wicker Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicker Inn
Save
You added Wicker Inn to your Saves list
5581 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location and Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We always stay on Longboat Key for vacation, but usually at a different resort. Our normal resort was booked so we tried the Wicker Inn. It was the same great location and the beach was just as beautiful, but the cottage was a little small for our liking. It was a 2 bedroom and 2 bath unit. The bathrooms are very small as was the kitchen and eating area. We stayed at the Magnolia our friends stayed in the Primrose. With a group of 8, neither unit was big enough for all of us to eat together and the patio had a privacy fencing down the middle so that didn't work either. I understand why they have the privacy fencing, but it would have been great to eat together. The units have been refreshed, but they could use a little bit more. The units were very clean and well-stocked. It was nice to have the pool, but our children wanted to use the pool when we weren't at the beach and the pool had time restraints of 10 am to 8pm. We spent all day at the beach and then went out to dinner and then the children wanted to swim after that. I think they could have put a later timeframe on the pool. It was a good price for what we got! I would return, but maybe try a larger unit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We love coming back to the Wicker Inn every year...Its like it's own little private oasis, with a lovely pool in the center of the old Florida style bungalows. The units are kept very clean with plenty of beach and bath towels and comfortable bedding. The kitchens are outfitted to make cooking simple meals easy. The Wicker Inn has a great location, right across the street from a convenience store, restaurants and a nice bayside park for long walks. The beach is the hi-lite, wide and never more than a handful of people in early May, when we go. Shade umbrellas are provided as are lots of lounge chairs on the beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Wicker Inn after a 4 year hiatus...a much needed freshening up of the Inn made this stay just perfect! Steps to beach and pool...wonderful dining options as close as across the street, Longboat, Sarasota, Anna Maria, Bradenton Beach, etc...
A great setting to do everything, or nothing at all. We met longtime guests, and new families who said they would return again. I have considered this my home away from home over the years.....comfortable, relaxing, a great vacation!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just stayed a week at the Wicker Inn and had a fabulous stay. This charmimg little inn is right on the beach. The accommodations were perfect. These units are "housekeeping" units & very well stocked, comfortable and clean. The grounds are immaculate. There were several young families there with little kids, which was great fun for us middle-agers. We had a chance to get to know other guests.
There are a several good restaurants across the street that are within walking distance, which was great. Dinner and gorgeous gulf sunsets on the beach. Perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms that don't back up to the street are quieter. However, The upstairs 2 bedroom is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just finished our 8th stay at The Wicker Inn and had another fabulous visit! The Wicker Inn is a quaint old Florida type inn right on the beach. It is clean, well kept and accessible to many restaurants (which you can walk to), and activities. We love the ambiance and have made friendships with several returning guests. Tom (who looks after the facilities), takes care of the place like it is his own inn and is very responsive and quick to make sure all guests are comfortable. We are definitely returning again next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Wicker Inn for one week in January and could not be more pleased with our accommodations. The suites are clean, comfortable; making us feel at home. The staff is so wonderful about making certain that our stay was perfect. The pool outside your door is beautiful and you are steps from the Gulf. We'll be back again next month!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is our second stay at the Wicker Inn and we were very pleased to find it as pleasant a stay as two years ago. We were relieved that there is now a good wifi service in the suites. The grounds are lovely and immaculately maintained. The units are spotless and comfortable.

It is like staying at a cottage on the beach with an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. It has a special charm.

We like the location with great dining options within walking as well as other conveniences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wicker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Inn

Address: 5581 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the white sands and gentle waters of the Gulf of Mexico just steps away from your suite or cottage. Choose from ten suites or one cottage scattered around a beautiful heated pool. The one and two bedroom accommodations are fully equipped for your every vacation need. Vacation at The Wicker Inn Beach Resort for a wonderful, relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wicker Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicker Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.