We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private cottages right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun 'n Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun 'n Sea
Save
You added Sun 'n Sea to your Saves list
4651 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“private cottages right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Longboat key is one of the nicest places I have ever been to. The sun n sea resort offers private cottages right on the beach. No streets to cross to get to the beach. Individual car ports attached to your own personal cottage. The cottages come equipped with full kitchens, wifi, foldout sofa sleepers and much more. A great place for people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First of all I want to say this place is not for everyone. It is nothing fancy, no pool or a lot of the other amenities people want. It is a comfortable place where you can relax, enjoy life and feel safe. This was our ninth year staying at Sun 'n Sea. We can't wait to go back each year. The cottages have everything you need to make you feel at home. They each have a full kitchen and a grill out back. If you don't want to cook there are plenty of great restaurants nearby. Cindy and Jim manage the Sun 'n Sea and are great. They make you feel at home. The beach is right there for you to enjoy. They have beach chairs and chaises and pool toys for the kids. We see many of the same people from year to year. Many have been coming for a lot more years than we have. We make our reservation from year to year. Our favorite thing to do while we are there is to watch the sunset over the Gulf. We never get tired of seeing it. We love to walk on the beach and sit on the beach and to go in the water. Most days it is so calm and is most enjoyable. We hate it when it is time to leave. Can't wait to back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been staying at Sun'n Sea since 1994 and have never been disappointed. Every unit we have stayed in has been well maintained and very clean. If you are looking for a great location that is peaceful and quiet this is the place to stay. The present management is always friendly and making sure you have everything needed during your stay. Over the past several years they have improved on what has always been a perfect place to vacation. The only problem is we cannot stay longer!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Eighteen members of our family (ages 2-80) rented several cottages at Sun 'n Sea for a family gathering. It was perfect! The cottages are comfortable but not fancy; the kitchens have everything you need, grocery stores are close by and best of all, you're right on the beach. There are restaurants within a 10-15 minutes drive, and Sarasota is about 20 min away, but frankly, I never wanted to leave the grounds of Sun 'n Sea. Members of my family have been going there for 15 years. We love it. Best cottages are 1-5.

Room Tip: Best cottages are 1-5, but they're hard to get as they're often reserved in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a week in a one bedroom cottage at Sun and Sea. You cannot beat the location or the setting. It is located mid island and situated right on the beach. It is peaceful, and the cottages are a good distance apart. The managers are friendly and helpful with tips for dining etc. The cottages are clean and contain all the necessary items you need on vacation. The beach has wonderful white sand and plenty of chairs of all kinds are provided. They even have a huge crate of beach toys and floatables if you need them. This is not a luxury hotel, but far better. We spent every evening on the beach with a glass of wine, watching the sun set. Had many walks on the beach, and we rented bikes and spent much time exploring too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Longboat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was five years old in 1961, and have many kodak slides of a Florida trip with my parents. We did stay in Longboat Key. I have pictures of blue cottages right on the beach. The beach pictures look very private, we seem to be the only people around. Naturally, coming from Indiana in February, it was summer for us. Would love to see a picture of these cottages if anyone could post one. Thank you. ( I had to answer these questions or I couldn't post.)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I am a homesick native Floridian who looks forward to my annual week at Sun 'n' Sea. The friendly managers greet me by name like a long, lost friend; the 'cabins' are spotless, comfortable and equip my every need; and the location...oh my...the sparkling Gulf, white sand and spectacular sunsets toasted each night with your fellow travelers... In a state that is being over-developed with McMansions and waterfront hi-rises, it is nice to know a spot like this still exists. It feels like the REAL Florida...like my home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun 'n Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n Sea

Address: 4651 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sun `n Sea Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun 'n Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.