We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Dock Waterfront Grill

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
412 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228
+1 941-383-0102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast the Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio, the view of Sarasota Bay is obstructed only by shady coconut palm fronds. The Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food. Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

With a week stay in Sarasota, this is the restaurant to eat at more than once. Location is on the water so you can watch the pelicans and boats as you eat some excellent food. Warm bread and olive oil with pesto are delicious. The steamed mussels were so good that you just had to have more bread to finish off the broth. Shrimp tacos and fried lobster tacos were the best. Just a great place. Our waitress in the bar area was fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    249
    38
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The real thing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

There are many pretenders in Sarasota but this restaurant is the real thing. Modest in size but a good location on the water. Upscale settings and professional service complement the dining experience. Menu is short but all the items are quality. I like their short menu items and on occasion a full entree. All are of the same high quality. Over the years this place can be counted on for a relaxed high quality dining experience in a relaxed unpretentious setting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I can't say enough fabulous things about this restaurant! Lovely waterfront location, sensational meal, friendly service--magnificent! By far the best scallops I have ever had. And that sweet chili sauce--wowza!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I believe my Fiancè would agree with me in saying we LOVED this restaurant. The food is always perfectly cooked & the staff was very attentive. Both times my Fiancè ordered the twin lobster tails. I tried the strip steak on our first visit which was during the dinner hours. On the second, which was during their lunch hours, I tried the philly chicken hoagie. It was ALL amazing! Not to mention, the view is gorgeous! We had a blast pointing out different fish we would spot swimming by the dock & birds around the pier. It's simply the best of both worlds - relaxing & romantic. It comes at no surprise that this little spot came in #1 for LBK dining!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“cool location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The crab cakes and scallops were very good. I have had the crab cakes before a while back and remembered them being good and I remembered correctly. Scallops were great and I don't get them often but will get these again. My mom and wife split some what were supposed to be blackened fish tacos but were jerk where the spice was not right and they did not like them. It seems it was the waiter's fault after a manager came by to check on us, but he took it off the bill and offered them something else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Dock Waterfront Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.