We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Sarasota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Dock Waterfront Grill

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
412 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228
+1 941-383-0102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast the Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio, the view of Sarasota Bay is obstructed only by shady coconut palm fronds. The Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Staff is so accomodating, the restaurant is spotless, the Grouper Sandwich and Lobster Taco was fantastic and words can't describe the view. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    249
    38
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've visited Dry Dock three times during a visit to Longboat Key. Very casual, relaxing atmosphere. We think the outside seating is preferable if the weather allows. Food, service and view were outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food so so. Owner horrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten at this restaurant often through the years because easy sail from sailing squadron. Last time we went (and last time we will ever go) food was sub par. Has really gone downhill over the years. Nice location but not worth it. Also owner is mean and pretentious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice rest stop with good views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We biked Longboat Key on a very hot May day, and Dry Dock Waterfront Grill was a great oasis in the middle of our 20 mile ride. The entrance is very modest and easy to miss, but the views from inside are lovely. We watched pelicans and dolphins as we ate! I had the chicken sandwich and he had the chicken salad sandwich. I was pleased with my meal, especially the chipotle mayo, but it was basic. He was not as impressed by the chicken salad. All and all a good rest stop - but that had more to do with the convenient location and great views than the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mediocore food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

An out of the way place thinking it would be a great experience, it was not bad just not real good. We ordered blackened grouper which came out very dry and boring no spices at all, very unimpressive. The veggies that came with it were few and boring. We also ordered blackened shrimp which was good. The new england clam chowder was from a can which was a bummer. Would not gp back, too expensive for basic food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Dock Waterfront Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.