We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Cay Unit 212 - We love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sand Cay Beach Resort
4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ripon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sand Cay Unit 212 - We love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This condo is the best we've ever rented! In fact, it has spoiled us for other rentals. Everything is clean, clean, clean. We like the uncluttered, calm decor. There is plenty of space to stow the many things we bring for a month away from home. The newly installed kitchen is lovely and fitted out with everything needed to prepare full meals.
I thought it might be difficult to do laundry with the washers/dryers in a shared facility, but it was actually easier. I liked being able to do more than one load at a time - and I never had to wait for a machine. The laundry facilities were always clean and in working order.
Sand Cay is a very nice resort. The staff members are helpful and friendly; they’re on hand if you need them. The owners are delightful and take great interest in their renters' satisfaction.
Longboat Key is a wonderful island community with a number of excellent restaurants and a beautiful new Publix. Nearby Sarasota offers endless opportunities to enjoy art and theater. Great restaurants abound.
We would recommend this property to our friends and family, and we will come back if it's available.

Room Tip: Unit 212 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    22
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at Sand Cay #102 last week. Weather was great, resort was very nice, pool great, plenty of beach chairs. Our condo was very nice and comfortable for 4 adults. Many good restaurants in the area and shopping at St. Armand's Circle was close.
Nice high end, quiet area. Not a lot to do for kids or teens in my opinion other than the beach and beautiful sunsets on the Key. You are not far from Anna Maria Island to the North and Sarasota/ Siesta Key to the south if you want to travel a little for more activities.

Room Tip: Condos on the first floor are nice, but better views from the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We have stayed in unit 205 for a week each year for well over a decade. It has been a great experience every time. Walking is a pleasure both on the beach and along the highway. There are lots of good places to eat in the Sarasota area. Both winter and spring visits have left us smiling with good memories. Unit 205 is just right!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

This review of Sand Cay and unit #307 marks the 2nd time that I rented at this beachfront resort in Longboat Key. This trip combined business and pleasure - we needed to be near Bradenton, FL, wanted direct beach access, and also desired to be near Sarasota. We booked for one week 2/22/15 to 3/1/2015 and stayed in unit #307 which sits in the middle of the property, and offers a 3rd-floor view of the Gulf of Mexico and the pool area. This is a well run complex with friendly staff. While the unit that we rented (approx. $2,000 for the entire week) was a bit tired and in need of some new furniture and updated kitchen supplies, the condo was clean and the beds were comfortable, while the two bath rooms had been recently renovated..

One bedroom is a master with a king and a private shower, while the other has two twin beds (with a converter kit to a 2nd king). There is a 2nd bath room with a shower/tub. Neither bedroom has a view, so we left blinds closed. As unit #307 is on the top floor, we had virtually no foot traffic near this unit. Be warned, however, that there is currently (as of March 1, 2015) a major renovation going on directly adjacent to this side of the complex on the north side. You may need to put up with some noise, although while we stayed in #307 the construction crews were gone be sundown.

The kitchen is acceptable --somewhat dated but well designed with a dining area that seats up to six at a glass table. The living area has one old coach (can accommodate one person to sleep if necessary), and a TV. The free WiFi service is very good and there are a decent amount of cable channels. There is a nice terrace for outdoor meals or relaxing, although you may need to put up with a bit of 'pool' noise during the day. .

On the property you can enjoy a medium size pool they keep at 83F, shuffle board, BBQ pits, as well as several toys for kids. Tennis lovers will be happy to know about the resort's tennis court, and there is even a basketball net for hoopsters. Free laundry is a bonus. This section of the beach on Longboat Key is tranquil and private since there is no public access, so those staying in Sand Cay have a private beach.

Overall, this is a nice resort, although each condo unit offers differing levels of renovation from 80s dated to fully reno'ed so go online to see what you are getting! We had stayed at a more renovated and better located condo in 2013, yet paid a premium for the newer condo with better views. I would return again if I had a reason to be in the area and I am happy to recommend this resort as a good choice.

Room Tip: Make sure to visit the resort website to determine which unit meets your needs. I would suggest gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location over looking the ocean. Building are situated to allow for privacy between the units. Beach is clean, nice beach furniture & grills. Pool is clean & shuffleboard is available. Second floor unit had a nice view of ocean...only problem....putting up another building......no view next year.
Very large spacious unit... Nice kitchen for cooking... Everything you need & good quality. Master bedroom king size bed & on suite bathroom. Other room twin beds plus comfortable queen size bed in living room couch. Decorated in nice soft beach theme. The unit was updated in 2012.



Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

It was really hard to check out of Sand Cay on Sunday. We loved our stay, and will definitely stay again if/when we are in the Longboat Key area. Our unit was very clean, beds were comfortable and decor was completely updated. I saw on some of the other reviews that the shower head/pressure in the master bedroom was terrible, and I have to agree but no biggie and the grand scheme of things. Pool area was nice, balconies were awesome and all units very close to the beach. We were in a 2nd story unit, but with the kids I would rent a 1st story unit in the future for the convenience of in and out to the pool and beach. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: With kids I would rent a 1st story unit for the convenience of in and out to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at Sand Cay in Feb.2014. Standing out in the rain with our groceries one afternoon, we found that our keys to the unit no longer worked. We told the office manager who informed us that they decided to change the locks to our unit. I asked why they didn't leave us a note. The explanation: "We do this periodically for security reasons". There was no apology. We spend 1-2 months on Longboat Key at various resorts during the year and we choose to never return to this mediocre resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, General Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
Pat,

As per our phone conversation, I am glad we spoke about the events that led up to your Trip Advisor posting. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay here at Sand Cay. I hope that in the future you will one day come back.

Thank you,
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.