We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun in the Sun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sand Cay Beach Resort
4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Masachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun in the Sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second stay at Sand Cay with our young children (ages 5 and 8). We enjoyed our first visit so much that we returned a year later and stayed in the same unit. As others have noted, some units have been recently renovated and others have not. Since the units are individually owned, they vary greatly in furnishings and decor so be sure to look carefully at the pictures on the website of each unit. Our unit (306) was beautifully decorated with a coastal/beachy theme, with high-end furniture and decor. The kitchen was newly renovated with granite countertops and stainless appliances. The bathrooms, although tiny, have also been recently updated. Overall, the unit was very clean and well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc, as well as beach toys, beach umbrellas, etc. The location is great - right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and clean with free lounge chairs for guests' use. There is also a large bin with beach toys that you can borrow and a shower to rinse off the sand. The property has a pool but it wasn't ideal for our family because the "shallow" end was still pretty deep for our kids. Although the property is older, the grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our third floor unit had cathedral ceilings, which made it seem larger and more open/airy. Choose a...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I rented unit #114 from June 7-14. My experience at that unit was miserable. The bed linens were awful. They were harsh and the bed cover was thread bare. No ceiling fan in the master bedroom. Luckily we discovered a table fan and used that to get some relief. The master shower was a joke. If you have hair then don`t stay here because there is no pressure to be found with this antiquated shower head. The 2nd room had a set of twins set up so there was no access to the closet. Both beds had to be pushed together to barely access the closet. In that room you could only stand sideways to use the closet. Again no ceiling fan. The place was crawling with Palmetto bugs. I would never rent this unit again. I hope you heed my warning because I know you are spending your hard earned money for an enjoyable experience. You won`t find it there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, General Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We have tried to reach you by email and phone. Please contact me direct so that we may work out a resolution. My contact information is (941) 383-5044 ext. 23 or email me direct at manager@sandcay.net.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been visiting the Sand Cay for over 20 yrs and would not stay anywhere else on LOng Boat Key. It is midway down the key and so evenly available to whatever you decide to do. The beach is great and just a short walk, the pool is great and just a few steps, and we always play shuffleboard. Stayed in several first floor condos and each has been great. I love , love this place. Didn't make it last year because of my health but hope to return this year.

Room Tip: main floor if you like to sit outside, upper if you love a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at Sand Cay every year for several years now. It's an "old Florida" type of place that is relaxing and attractive, although it has its problems.

In February 2014 we stayed in unit 318 for the first time for three weeks and were very happy with it with one large exception (more later). The view is lovely. The unit was clean (both owner responsibilities and cleaning staff are iffy when it comes to cleanliness in these units), attractively decorated a la Florida and it was very relaxing being there. We liked the way the rooms were laid out, the appliances all worked, the kitchen was fairly well stocked, and there were no obvious repair needs. The problem we ran into was we had planned on the use of the advertised sofa bed for a few days and imagine our surprise when we opened it up for our guest and found it was broken and unusable. Our guest wound up sleeping on the floor!!! We told the office about the problem, but no one came up to help us. They did, however, guarantee that the sofa would be repaired by our next stay, and we booked another three weeks on that belief. If this problem hadn't occurred I would give the unit a "5."

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best part about this condo is the very reasonable price for the outstanding location. right on the private beach. some of the units are very dated. but most have great ocean views. pool size just right. I would definitely stay here again for a family friendly price-right vacation.

Room Tip: stay on beach front for great ocean view. we stayed in 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank-you for the review! We pride ourselves on being family friendly and love that you had a great vacation here!! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you're looking for a Relaxing, Peaceful Beach Location, Sand Cay is the place. It's located
right on the beach in Longboat Key with lounges for your use. The staff is very helpful and friendly and they do all they can to make your vacation a great one. Our condo was very clean and well stocked with anything we needed including all kitchen ware, beach towels, umbrellas,etc.
All was there to cook meals in the condo or even grill outside. The pool is great and very clean and usually not crowded, just a short walk up from the beach. There is a laundry on site which
is free to guests - so great and convenient.

Would recommend this resort to everyone. So convenient to great restaurants and great shopping. Really neat place on the water! Gotta try it !!

Room Tip: Pictures of each condo are usually true. Some have more updated interiors than others. Read revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review!! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Sand Cay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Like the other post said yes units vary, however you can see them on their website. We absolutely love this place. We have been coming here for more than 30 years and now other family members enjoy it as well. We have stayed in alot of different unis. i believe our last stay was in 205.

Room Tip: Look on webiste has all info needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review!! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Sand Cay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.