We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 318” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sand Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sand Cay Beach Resort
4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unit 318”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at Sand Cay every year for several years now. It's an "old Florida" type of place that is relaxing and attractive, although it has its problems.

In February 2014 we stayed in unit 318 for the first time for three weeks and were very happy with it with one large exception (more later). The view is lovely. The unit was clean (both owner responsibilities and cleaning staff are iffy when it comes to cleanliness in these units), attractively decorated a la Florida and it was very relaxing being there. We liked the way the rooms were laid out, the appliances all worked, the kitchen was fairly well stocked, and there were no obvious repair needs. The problem we ran into was we had planned on the use of the advertised sofa bed for a few days and imagine our surprise when we opened it up for our guest and found it was broken and unusable. Our guest wound up sleeping on the floor!!! We told the office about the problem, but no one came up to help us. They did, however, guarantee that the sofa would be repaired by our next stay, and we booked another three weeks on that belief. If this problem hadn't occurred I would give the unit a "5."

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best part about this condo is the very reasonable price for the outstanding location. right on the private beach. some of the units are very dated. but most have great ocean views. pool size just right. I would definitely stay here again for a family friendly price-right vacation.

Room Tip: stay on beach front for great ocean view. we stayed in 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank-you for the review! We pride ourselves on being family friendly and love that you had a great vacation here!! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you're looking for a Relaxing, Peaceful Beach Location, Sand Cay is the place. It's located
right on the beach in Longboat Key with lounges for your use. The staff is very helpful and friendly and they do all they can to make your vacation a great one. Our condo was very clean and well stocked with anything we needed including all kitchen ware, beach towels, umbrellas,etc.
All was there to cook meals in the condo or even grill outside. The pool is great and very clean and usually not crowded, just a short walk up from the beach. There is a laundry on site which
is free to guests - so great and convenient.

Would recommend this resort to everyone. So convenient to great restaurants and great shopping. Really neat place on the water! Gotta try it !!

Room Tip: Pictures of each condo are usually true. Some have more updated interiors than others. Read revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review!! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Sand Cay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Like the other post said yes units vary, however you can see them on their website. We absolutely love this place. We have been coming here for more than 30 years and now other family members enjoy it as well. We have stayed in alot of different unis. i believe our last stay was in 205.

Room Tip: Look on webiste has all info needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review!! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Sand Cay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed at Sand Cay 4 times in 2 different units and have another trip planned this month. My family, friends and I absolutely love it here. It has great amenities, the condos are beautifully decorated, the staff is very friendly and the beach is amazing. Can't wait to return in 3 weeks!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend ocean front condos, the views are amazing!! and Ground level is very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank-you for being a valued repeat guest!! We're happy you're returning in a few weeks, summer is beautiful here on Longboat Key and we look forward to seeing you again.
Please stop in the office and say hello to everyone, see yout soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our third year here, with great reviews after the first two stays. But units vary dramatically. We stayed in unit 118 this year and were sorely disappointed. Very tired furnishings, poorly maintained (trim moldings missing, dirty dishes, bathrooms not updated with moldy tile in one, broken, non-functioning lighting, worn bedding) and in general need of further updating. On our 10th day in we had a sudden issue with huge palmetto bugs (roaches) and simply could not enjoy our last three days. Contacting mgmt. brought little results other than they were sorry and exterminator was scheduled the day AFTER we left. View and beach access from this unit was fantastic but this was way too much money for a unit in this condition. Would consider staying again in another unit IF I knew management gave a damn about any issues you may encounter.

Room Tip: Scrutinize the photos of each unit before making a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

First and foremost, let me say that we’re terribly sorry that your vacation here was not comfortable for you. I’m certain that your vacation time was much deserved and we greatly appreciate you spending it with us; again, we’re truly sorry for the issues encountered.

Let me address some of the issues mentioned in your posting. You are correct to say that the units can vary in updating and decor and thank-you for your honesty. We are working with the owners whom need to make improvements and updates to their condo. This direct feedback will help in this process, as it's coming directly from the guests; We appreciate your opinion and encourage the guests to complete the survey given at check-in so we may offer optimum communication from guests to owners. We have addressed some of the maintenance issues mentioned, and will replace any of the dishes and material items that are sub-par. We do have pest control service regularly, but we also do have to adhere to their schedule sometimes. We're terribly sorry they could not make it out in time. Again, thank-you for the feedback and we'll certainly make sure the unit is treated as its now a more prominent time for insects. . I hope you can afford us the opportunity to exceed yours on next trip. If afforded the chance, we want to show you a great vacation here on LBK, and most importantly, here at Sand Cay. I will address this with the owner of 118 and thank-you once again for helping us improve upon a valuable gulf front rental unit here. Please contact us if you’d like to discuss what I can do to get you back here for a relaxing beach vacation…Take care. Contact methods below.

941 383 5044
manager@sandcay.net
owners@sandcay.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We loved our stay at Sand Cay. The facility was super clean and there was so much to do! Our boys, ages 10-12, loved to beach, the pool, basketball and tennis courts. Our condo was very clean and well stocked. We cooked all of our meals either in the condo or on the grills and had everything that was needed. The view from the condo was breathtaking and weather was beautiful. Everyone we met from the office staff, to the grounds crew, to housekeeping were very nice people and they truly wanted our stay to be perfect. I loved having the on-site laundry facilities and a soft bed to sleep in after a day on the beach. The city of Longboat was fun to explore. We walked to the park, the grocery store was up the street and the ice cream shop sure was yummy. We will be returning soon! Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review!! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Sand Cay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.