We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sand Cay Beach Resort
4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Sand Cay Resort on Longboat Key. We stayed in unit 202 and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. This unit could use a little updating, but was very clean and the owners have a few supplies they leave for renters such as beach umbrellas, tennis balls, high chair, ect. There was plenty of space for 5 adults and an infant with lots of stuff. The view from the condo was amazing! If you stay in a unit that has a gulf view, you will probably want to be on the 2nd level. As I could not imagine how first level condos would be able to see the ocean with the shrubery boarding the beach. The grounds of Sand Cay were very well kept. The location of the resort is great as well. We did not have too many dealings with the staff because we rented from a real estate group, but from what I could tell everyone was nice. We would definitely stay at Sand Cay again and I would recommend this resort to any looking to vacation on Longboat Key!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Sand Cay. Stayed in unit 303, AMAZING ocean views from almost every room. This unit could really stand out more if they did upgrades. It has potential. There is an elevator there with bell carts to help w/ luggage if needed. It's kind of hidden. The pool and grounds are kept very clean, the landscaping is beautiful. Had fun playing shuffle board too. The weather was perfect, thank goodness. Longboat Key is one of my favorites, very quiet and private. It reminds me of old Florida.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've been coming to the Sand Cay at least annually since 2001 ... resort has come a long way in that time and is still the best value on the beach. Appreciate the care and cleanliness of the whole property and the attentive staff. Just came back from a family reunion that was fun and relaxing ... stayed in unit 103 for the second time ... well equipped, lovely furnishings, washer/dryer, great view and just a few steps to the beautiful beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor convenience for young children and those who hate stairs, but upper floors have great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Best deal in Longboat! Great for families. Some condos are more updated than others, but I've never had a bad one. All units are clean, have nice kitchens, wifi. 1st floor best with kids, but if you want a view go with the second or third floor. Bring your float, anchor, cooler, and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been staying at Sand Cay since I was 18 months old, and have been going almost every year since. The customer service, cleanliness, and variety of both relaxing and fun activities is phenomenal all around. I love staying in the lower level units so we can pack light and wash our clothes, towels, etc. with the washer and dryer right in the unit. It's a quiet, beautiful setting that offers fun and sun for people of all ages. Great restaurants nearby, fantastic shopping in St. Armand's Circle, the glistening pool, and the whole time you're right on the Gulf of Mexico. Absolutely LOVE this place and cannot wait for my trip in August!

Room Tip: 1st floor units have a washer and dryer, gulf front condos are AMAZING, poolside is convenient if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first trip to the Longboat Key area and this resort was wonderful! We arrived late, but that was no problem. The front desk was kind enough to leave our keys and check-in information right outside the office. We rented unit #215 and we were more than pleased. The resort is super clean. The pool area is not super large, but it's plenty big enough for the amount of units. You are only a few steps from the beach. Our kitchen had everything we needed. There are washers and dryers there for you to use free of charge by the office. There is also an ice machine. There are free beach chairs for your use as well, just bring an umbrella. :) Loved Sand Cay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sand Cay Beach Resort is everything it was said to be. Condo 120 was very clean, comfortable, well equipped and directly on the beach. With a family of five it was very easy for us to vacation here without being on top of each other. The kitchen had every pot, pan and utensil you need to prepare breakfast, lunch or dinner. I felt like this was my vacation home. I would do it again in a heart beat... The beach was everything and more. No need to walk with towels, beach toys, pillows, sheets and the best thing is there is a full size washer and dryer... See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.