We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sand Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Sand Cay Beach Resort
4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited as a 3 generation family and rented 2 units. There were activities for everyone within the resort as well as much to do and see in the greater community. We had a great time! There was so much to do at the resort, and we also explored the aqarium and museums in Sarasota. The local free bus allowed various family members to do their own thing if they didn't want to join the crowd. A terrific value!

Room Tip: The grandparents stayed in a beachfront unit on the ground floor with an exquisite view. My mother w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Sand Cay during Labor Day weekend. We had two condos rented for our evergrowing family! Condo 120 was perfect for our 90+ year old grandfather as it had all the handicap amenities to meet his needs. Condo 303 had amazing views from every angle and it accomodated our 6 month baby, a 3 year old and a 5 year old and their parents perfectly. It even had a high chair and a pack n play for our convenience. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have the family all together.
Both condos had all the extras that one never thinks of, such as beach umbrellas, chairs, noodles for the pool, coolers.
Each condo is set seperately so we never felt that the resort was to crowded or congested.
Having two condos to compare, we noticed one condo could benefit from some upgrading but since each of these condos are individually owned, we understood why all weren't the same. But both offered the same "extras". I think this might become our new family vacation getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sand Cay resort was an almost perfect getaway. We stayed a week with our two teenage girls in unit 312. The condo had nearly everything we needed, including beach umbrellas (with anchor which was very handy), cooler, cart to take everything to the beach, beach towels, drying rack for wet swimsuits. Nicely furnished and comfy. There were plenty of dishes and cooking supplies. We made use daily of the patio table for breakfast. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Free washer and dryer were handy. The girls enjoyed the free paddleboards, beach toys, movies, and popcorn. The area is beautiful. We enjoyed visiting some of the other beaches close by. Siesta Key is fantastic, but for quiet relaxation, Longboat was the best.
Very few complaints:
1. Nowhere on the island to buy groceries, as Publix was closed for remodeling (not the resorts fault of course). The one in Sarasota is quite nice.
2. It made no sense that the office staff could not check the condo before our arrival to check what items were supplied already. We purchased some things on our way from the airport unnecessarily that we ended up leaving there.
3. Of things that are supplied, I think they should take the length of booking into account. We stayed 7 nights and had to buy dishwasher soap, had to wash the 2 dish towels twice. It would be nice if some very basic items such as coffee filters, salt/pepper, etc. were there.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit to Sand Cay very much, and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: 312 is very nice. In my opinion, it is not worth paying $300 extra for beachfront, as all condos her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Located mid island on LBK with beautiful beaches. If you love to sun, walk, enjoy great food options and shop - LBK / Sarasota is the perfect choice. On the beach and right next to the Hilton Hotel, location can not be better. The service is excellent and the time away is refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've been coming here for nearly 30 years and its in the best shape I've ever seen it in. The resort is beautiful, the staff is amazing and the beach is hard to describe if you haven't been to Longboat Key before. Imagine the best beach in the world (which the surrounding beaches are usually described as such, like Siesta Key, St. Pete Beach & Clearwater Beach) but way more private, clean and pure. Longboat Key is wonderfully pristine,with the nicest Publix you'll ever see and if you head to the South, Its St. Armands Circle, Lido Key and Sarasota. If you head to the north, its Coquina Beach, Holmes Beach, Bradenton beach and Anna Maria Island. Its 45 mins to St. Pete, 1-1:15 to Tampa, and 2:00 to Disney. A favorite non-beach day would be a walk around St. Armands Circle, then over to City Island for lunch at the Salty Dog, then walk across to Mote Marine Aquarium for a very cheap boat ride around Sarasota Bay, then back to Sand Cay to change, then out to Lido Key for a drink at the Lido Key Tiki Bar then dinner at Columbia's in the Circle. Its pretty awesome.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have vaulted ceilings which is far better than 10 foot ceilings in other levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Room 210 was well stocked, up to date and really clean. Went with 4 kids and we had plenty of room. We do wish we had a dvd player in one of the bedrooms to occupy the kids. No one uses vcr's anymore! Overall, I'm extremely pleased with our stay and would recommend to everyone. Between the pool and the beach there was nothing else we needed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our family has been staying on LBK for nearly 35 years. Out of those years at least 22 yrs has been at Sand Cay.

The complex has come a long way from when we first stayed there. The condos and complex have been remodeled and upgraded within the last 5 yrs.

The units have been updated with stylish furniture and furnishings. Internet is also in the rooms.

The beach is spacious and chairs are provided to lay out on. This year is the first year that finally the complex must have turned off the pool heater. As far back as i can remember the pool was always alittle warmer than bathwater. This year it was nice and cool.

Sand Cay is centrally located on LBK. Plenty of restaurants to choose from or you bring your own food to prepare in your condo.

Not much shade is around since two of the large trees were cut back some years ago, but the shade is coming back. The tress are growing back so in a few years some good shade will be available to sit out under.

Our family looks forward to our beach vacation every year. The Sand Cay complex adds to the enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Sand Cay Beach Hotel
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.