We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little slice of wild Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quick Point Nature Reserve

Quick Point Nature Reserve
100 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great little slice of wild Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A wonderful little native preserve, with a walk which takes you past tidal lagoons, by mangroves and other native plants, to an overlook on Sarasota Bay. A great place to see birds. There are always ospreys--which have several nests in the preserve--and wading birds as well. On cold, windy winter days in particular, depending on the tide, the lagoons fill with birds seeking shelter, including great egrets, great blue herons, ibises, wood storks, snowy egrets, little blue herons, and the occasional reddish egret or roseate spoonbill. Kudos to Longboat Key for preserving this little slice of old Florida in its natural state, and making it available to everyone.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boooooo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Nasty beach with no bathrooms. More like a strip of beach the rich people let others have because they didn't want it. The only highlight was seeing a dolphin twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Since we were staying just up the road we decided to check this park out. There is a parking area on the northwest side of the drawbridge. Walk under the bridge to access the very short trail along the Bay and in through the mangroves. I think we saw 3 birds. There is not much to this but it is an easy, accessable walk with several viewing platforms. People were fishing here too from the bulkheads and there were rod holders built into the railings. It is pretty here but just not much of a walk.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scenic View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Park and walk under the draw bridge to Quick Point Park. It is small, but has a very nice view of Sarasota Bay from Longboat Key. There is a small lagoon and a mangrove area to explore...Several Ospreys make their home there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“GREAT place to visit to enjoy nature and our feathered friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I found this reserve through the Sarasota Audubon "Birding Hot Spots" booklet. Glad I found it. I never would have found it on my own as it isn't really "on the map."

If you're into birding or nature, pick up a copy of the hot spots booklet while you're in the area. Also, there are some markers identifying the Florida birding trail locations.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quick Point Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Quick Point Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quick Point Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.