We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a building site!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Sunset Bar & Grill
4711 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2103
941-383-2451
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a building site!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Having some wonderful memories of previous visits, albeit some years ago, to the Sunset Bar & Grill, my wife and I were extremely disappointed to find it, I can only describe it as, a building site. Although we left immediately we were surprised to see that quite a number of patrons were happy to dine among the temporary hoardings, construction smells and portacabin toilet facilities. Beware.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and the sunset isn't too bad either.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our group of 12 stopped here on a whim because we were hungry and the sun was about to set. Had a great table outside. The food was great, everyone loved their meals and our servers were fantastic. We actually came back twice, next time packed the suits to enjoy a dip in the pool. Yes, there is a pool. This is a must sun down stop for everyone before they hit the 7 mile bridge. Enjoy, we certainly did. Thanks!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was there last week. Food was really good. Service was great. It was for my last night in the Keys. I cant wait to go again. Oysters were fresh and good. Island drinks were tasty. Try this if you need to have a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were so happy to be at the Sunset Bar and Grill. Boy were we disappointed. Service was not there. I think the waitress was "out to lunch". The beer was warm, and the food was the worst. The atmosphere was beautiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great improptu stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for a light dinner of appetizers and this was a great choice! Between us we had she-crab soup, lobster fritters, chicken wings and fries - all of which were fantastic. The lobster fritters were my favorite and I couldn't believe how many were in the basket. We sat upstairs as the pool area was quite crowded. The service was very good and we would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.