We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated food at sophisticated prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Haye Restaurant

Euphemia Haye Restaurant
5540 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1904
941-383-3633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Euphemia Haye Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Cuisines: American, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sophisticated food at sophisticated prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great place for that special upscale dinner. Wonderful selections, but don't have coffee and dessert in the restaurant. Go upstairs to dessert heaven.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    65
    38
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Haye Loft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upstairs casual dining compared to the fancy first floor. No elevator access.
Had individual pizzas and salad that were excellent. Great desserts and

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Timeless graciousness, incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I've dined at Euphemia Haye more times than I can count, but hadn't been back to Sarasota in many years. I wanted to see if it was as good as it used to be. And was it ever! The place is, if anything, more beautiful and buzzing than ever, all fresh flowers and crisp linens and gleaming silver, beautiful table settings, lighting that makes everyone look more gorgeous than we are. Their caesar salad sets an iconic standard. The legendary pepper steak remains the best steak anywhere, hands down, with enough left over for steak sandwiches for husband and me for the long plane ride home. Husband had the grouper crusted with pistachios, moist and crunchy and so fresh. And then an after dinner drink in the Haye Loft with a luscious piece of tarte tatin to share. Do not come here in search of molecular gastronomy or things that have been cooked in plastic bags in water baths or minimalist plating with tweezers. We like that stuff too, but this is something more-- a joyous return to an place that embodies glamour, impeccable service, and splendid food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POOLESVILLE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not so special special and overall overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The service was excellent, the food quite good, and the ambiance comfortable. But, it is overpriced and not really worth a return visit. All the entries are in the $30 to $50 range - a la carte. I had the veal special which consisted of an over-cooked scaloppini which was somewhat saved by a very nice sauce. My sister had a shrimp and pasta dish she thought was very good. I can't recall what our friends had, but they said they said it was pretty good. After dinner, the waiter invites you up to The Loft (bar, casual dining, and dessert place) for a view of the dessert "buffet." They must have had more than a dozen whole pies and cakes that the young lady described in some detail. I had the triple chocolate cake which was amazing, but so rich I couldn't finish it. The ladies had the chocolate mousse which they both loved. My friend had banana cream pie which he thought amazing but also too rich to finish. But, don't worry, the dessert portions are so big, you can leave some on the plate and still have eaten more than you should. Clearly the dessert was the high point of the evening. This is a place I might return to for a special occasion but with some trepidation for fear the specials wouldn't live up to the word; and, if the specials aren't special, then what is one to think of the rest of the menu?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peppercorn Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a find! Well I guess not to surprising given other excellent reviews. We made last minute reservation when another local fine dining restaurant called to advise our requested table wouldn't be available. It was a special occasion friends celebrating my wife's birthday. Everything was top shelf from greeting at reception, to excellent menu advise and no rush to take our order to the perfectly poured cocktails to start. The ladies went for the lighter but perfectly prepared snapper. The title of this review and not to be missed menu item was the huge and equally delicious peppercorn steak. Despite only having the caesar salad to start I could only put a dent in this tender and moist steak. As we were preparing to order this aroma wafted to our table from the chef preparing another guests order nearby. Let me just say, that preview was nothing compared to when the actual item appeared. This may have been one of the top 5 steaks I've ever been served in my life- don't miss this item or this restaurant as there are many excellent choices for the non carnivores. After the main meal our waiter escorted us to a table n the loft for dessert and coffee... More on that in a future review!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euphemia Haye Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Euphemia Haye Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euphemia Haye Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.