We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, superb food, terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Haye Restaurant

Euphemia Haye Restaurant
5540 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1904
941-383-3633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Euphemia Haye Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, International, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Encinitas, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, superb food, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that this restaurant is a lovely little place. It is quaint and charming. We came here three years ago it was wonderful. From start to finish we had an amazing time and we were looking forward to returning. When we walked in i recognized the Bartender John who had been our server the previous time we dined here. He was very friendly greeted us and made us feel welcome. I almost suggested that we sit in the bar and now i wish i would have. We walked over to the dessert room and the hostess greeted us. she looked ill, she clearly shouldn't have been working near food however she was nice and gave us a weak smile. Now on to the server. Standards for this place have completely slipped, i don't know where they found this guy but he is the reason our visit was spoiled. First off he was hesitant in telling us his name like he knew he could get in trouble for his poor service. Well then Brett (our server) took our drink order, every question we asked him he didn't know he had to either ask or look it up. Finally i just ordered a bottle of wine for the table to put him out of his misery. secondly after John dropped our drinks off to our table it was a full twenty minutes before Brett came back to take our food order, he seemed very agitated and was very rude to us the rest of the night. we actually asked the hostess if we could move to the other servers section but there were no open tables. When the bus boy came to clear our table we asked if he liked working with our server, he gave us a smile and shook his head. We decided to skip dessert and just get out of there. Overall it's a nice place with good food but IF we decide to return we'll avoid that server.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    77
    41
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely be back. The atmosphere is charming and intimate. Our server was very knowledgable about each menu item and very attentive without being in the way. Food was delicious. A definite choice for the next special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were so upset we only found this on our last night in Longboat Key...it was amazing. The food was impeccable - I had the caesar salad (homemade dressing) and the pepper steak pizza - excellent. The best part of this restaurant was definitely the dessert selection...the best I have ever seen. The atmosphere was cozy and inviting and the staff were super friendly! A must go if you are in Longboat Key.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sadly disappointed in our dinner here. Went to the loft for the prefix. Had never been and had guests who had never been . Read prefix online and wanted to try. Got to the restaurant and found online menu was not correct. Current prefix was much more limited in choices. The dishes we wanted to try were replaced by common dishes available anywhere. Appetizers were replaced by a choice of soup or salad only. Dessert choices reduced. It wasn't terrible but for the money there are other places I would rather have gone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“standards are slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having been coming to this restaurant for over 20 years, but not having been to Longboat Key for over 2 years, was looking forward to visiting again and in fact we did so twice over a period of one week as the first time we felt they were just having a poor night, but not a lot improved during the second time we went.

Let me first say that the food is always good, no complaints there apart from the sauce, which they described as fruity to enhance one of my all time favorites the crispy Duck. It was more earthy and enfused with herbs than fruity and spoiled the dish. However the starters and deserts are always first class.

But I am more concerned with the service and attitude of their employees. As previous posters have commented, the servers here are lacking in emotion and go through the motions in a robotic manner. No greetings, no pleasantries, just bland and this happened on both occasions. Wonder if it's because the season is over and they are just burnt out, but it's simply no excuse whatosever and something we have never encountered before. Also one of the employees presumably working behind the bar at the hayloft just left his yellow jacket hung over the back of one of the bar stools and since no other customers were there at the same time, sure the owner is not aware of this and would certainly not stand for this type of tardiness............this is not some cheap bar we are going to...far from it.

Lastly, when asked if they could kindly make it less like the artic in the Hayloft as it really was freezing and again we were their only guests, nothing was done and when we suggested that we move to the area where they serve deserts, was firmly told that we would encounter the same conditions..........If it wasnt for the fact that the food(and atmosphere) is worth(usually) waiting for, would have walked straight out of there. Also, not once and on both visits did anyone come and asked if we enjoyed our meals, nor did they offer to refill our drinks....??? Yes, Standards are slipping and its a great shame.

I hope someone is paying attention here. Will give you one last chance when we visit again this year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuphemiaHaye, Owner at Euphemia Haye Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for patronizing our restaurant for over 20 years - we certainly appreciate our repeat customers and do everything we can to make sure that our restaurant retains its good reputation and continues to be one of your favorites. We are so glad that you enjoy the crispy duck and we appreciate you letting us know that you were not satisfied with the wait staff’s service. We pride ourselves on having a friendly, knowledgeable and efficient wait staff. As a fine dining restaurant, we train our staff to "read" each table and decide how much interaction the customers are looking for. Some diners are in the mood to chat while others prefer very little interaction. It is possible that our server got his or her "read" wrong and we do apologize. We do hope that you come back in and give our servers another chance. They are all very dedicated employees, many of whom have been with us for 10 or 20 years. Upon your next visit, please let our host know who you are so that we may introduce you to our manager. We look forward to you joining us again and we ensure that your next visit will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euphemia Haye Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Euphemia Haye Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euphemia Haye Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.