We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Haye Restaurant

Euphemia Haye Restaurant
5540 Gulf Of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1904
941-383-3633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Euphemia Haye Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Cuisines: American, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Baden, Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A restaurant, a chef and his wife - cozy ambiance and excellent food! The chef knows his business and the pepper steak he recommended was amongst the best I ever got. Thank you.

Euphemia Haye Restaurant is the place to celebrate a special day or to have the last dinner before leaving the Anna Maria Area! I do not think there is a better restaurant on the keys of Sarasota and Brandeton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    65
    38
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“date night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

wonderful choice for a date night! The upsairs has a bar and is a good spot for desert, coffee or drinks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, worst service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The cozy ambiance is delightful, and the food a culinary treat. However, our waiter was aggressive, shouted when he spoke, and was condescending. We've travelled the world and have a large personal wine cellar, but are always humble and very kind to servers. This young man spoke so loudly to diners in our little room with only four tables, that all conversation had to stop. We're surprised his very 'large presence' and aggressive manner is tolerated by such a fine restaurant. Based on B----'s service, we resolved to never return. A beautiful evening ruined by an obnoxious, know-it-all server. We decided to visit the jazz bar upstairs, and it was a pleasant surprise. The bartender is professional, friendly and absolutely first class. In the future, we'll dine at bar upstairs, or request to be seated in a different section downstairs. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Euphemia Haye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent duck but way too expensive. Don't really think it should cost $38, but it is excellent. Seems the owner is taking advantage.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We also dined at Euphemia Haye on Christmas and had a wonderful meal. We were seated at a cozy table in the corner by the window. We had decided to line lightly tonight and began with salads. My wife enjoyed fried green tomatoes swimming in a light tomato bath with crumbled feta. I had a wonderful Caesar salad with a light dressing. For our entrees, my wife ordered fettucini with basil pesto, while I had angel hair with shrimp in a light garlic broth. Both dishes were delicious and are available as an appetizer or entree. After dinner we enjoyed relaxing in the upstairs lounge with after dinner drinks, listening to the singer/piano player crooning old standards. A fine way to finish up Christmas Day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euphemia Haye Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Euphemia Haye Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euphemia Haye Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.